Bibliography of British and Irish History Online Over 490,000 records covering bibliographic data and historical writings on the British Isles with the British Empire and Commonwealth from 55 B.C. to the present. Contains books, articles in books, and journal articles. 682 journals and series are searched systematically for material. Successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002-2009. Dates of Coverage: 55 B.C.-present

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries is an online collection that spans more than 400 years of personal writings, bringing together the voices of women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. The collection shows the various shapes and formats of the diary as it evolved, including the travel diary, offering detailed accounts of journeys and descriptions of places the daily personal diary, in which women reflected more broadly on aspects of their lives letter diaries, wherein a daily dated letter to a recipient served simultaneously as a diary entry and other forms. Topics covered include hospital work, festivals and fairs, families, criminals, educators, missionaries, political life, railroads, social reformers, scientists, and many more.

British History Online is a not-for-profit digital library based at the Institute of Historical Research. It brings together material for British history from the collections of libraries, archives, museums and academics. These primary and secondary sources, which range from medieval to twentieth century, are easily searchable and browsable online.

British Library Newspapers consists of collections from the British Library which span three hundred years of newspaper publishing in the U.K.

British Literary Manuscripts Online contains two collections: British Literary Manuscripts Online, c.1660-1900 and British Literary Manuscripts Online: Medieval and renaissance. British Literary Manuscripts Online, c.1660-1900 provides fascimile images of literary manuscripts including letters, diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, essays, journals and more. The collection traces the development of literary movements from the classicism of the Pope and Johnson to the Romanticism of Wordsworth and the gothic novels of the Brontes. British Literary Manuscripts Online, Medieval and Renaissance provides fascimile images of letters, poems stories, plays, chronicles, religious writings and other materials from around 1120 to 1660. Works consist primarly of those in the Middle and Early Modern English.

British Periodicals Collection contains more than 450 periodicals from the 1680s to the 1930s. These periodicals cover topics such as literature, philosophy, history, science, social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology, architecture, news and politics. All materials are available in page image format with fully serachable text. Access is provided to Collections I, II, and III.

Dictionary of Irish Biography includes the lives of Irish men and women who made a significant contribution in Ireland and abroad, as well as those born overseas who had noteworthy careers in Ireland. Signed biographical articles which describe and assess the careers of subjects in all fields of endeavor, including politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, the stage, science, medicine, engineering, entertainment and sport. Dates of Coverage: Current

As the definitive resource in its category, Early European Books allows unlimited access to thousands of pre-1701 books and rare incunabula printed in Europe. It embraces the two-and-a-half centuries following Gutenberg’s invention of movable type in the mid-15th century, which witnessed an unprecedented proliferation and dissemination of literature throughout Europe. In keeping with the tenor of the time, religious works dominate, but there is no shortage of secular material concerning every field of human thought and activity.

This bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750, the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery. The original bibliography was co-developed by John Alden and Dennis Landis, Curator of European Books at The John Carter Brown Library. The John Carter Brown Library, founded in 1846 is a foremost repository of rare books and materials and is a center for advanced research in history and the humanities.

Historical Abstracts Provides searchable access to abstracts of journal articles and citations to book titles and dissertations gleaned from over 1700 journal titles dealing with the history of the world (excluding North America) from 1450 to the present. Writings in over 50 languages are included. All abstracts, however, are written in English. Links to full-text journal articles in JSTOR and Project Muse are available from some abstracts. Indexes publications from 1954 to the present. Dates of Coverage: 1998 - Current