Chicano Database is produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley, and is hosted on the familiar EBSCOhost platform. This bibliographic index covers a wide range of materials focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants since 1992. Its content is designed to further research, teaching, and scholarship for Chicano studies programs and extended ethnic studies curricula, giving researchers targeted access to materials that explore the broad dimensions of class, race, and gender within the Chicano and Latino U.S. experience.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 Created in cooperation with the University of Houston, this digital resource represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English. Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, a national research effort directed by Professor Nicols Kanellos, Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 is the first in a new American Ethnic Newspapers series, available within America's Historical Newspapers. Dates of Coverage:1808 - 1980
NOTE: The license for this product restricts authorized use to access by current faculty and students of the University of North Texas. The person accessing this link is liable for any infringement.
Other Notes: With the digital publication of Hispanic American Newspapers, these important primary documents can now be easily browsed, searched and read. Users can easily compare and contrast Hispanic views on nearly every major theme in American life with those appearing in other America's Historical Newspapers series, including Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922.
The collection draws its content from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project , the largest national project ever to locate, preserve, and disseminate Latino-Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form, from colonial times to 1960. The database contains: 100s of rare books by Latino-Hispanic Americans over 3,000 issues of rare historical newspapers and periodicals, including over 75,000 pages of content over 250,000 pages of personal and organizational manuscript content content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%) and content indexed and searchable in Spanish and English.
The collection draws its content from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project , the largest national project ever to locate, preserve, and disseminate Latino-Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form, from colonial times to 1960. The database contains: approximately 60,000 historical articles 100s of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature and culture content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%) and content indexed and searchable in Spanish and English.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latin American Studies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Latin American studies including the history, sociology, economics, anthropology, and political science of this vast geographic region.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latino Studies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on an emerging field of study that explores the Hispanic minority in the United States.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Latin American History contains articles about various topics that are written by scholars and researchers in the field. Topics include imperialism, culture, history, economics, race, slavery, religion, and much more.
