Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
African American Music Reference offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression and it is the only electronic access to this information. Resources include biographies, anthologies, encyclopedias, images, lyrics (digitized and fully searchable), songsheets, chronologies, critical textbooks, a complete discography of the top African American artists, and links to editorially selected Web resources. Rare and previously unpublished items are included. Dates of Coverage: 1900s - present
African American Police League Records, 1961-1988 documents how African American policeman attempted to fight discrimination and police brutality, and improve relations between African Americans and police.
American Politics in the Early Cold War—Truman and Eisenhower Administrations, 1945-1961 presents major White House files from the Truman and Eisenhower administrations, including international relations and domestic concerns during the Cold War.
This collection consists of records of and related to the activities of the UUA's Black Unitarian Universalist Caucus, (BUUC)/Black Affairs Council (BAC), Full Recognition and Funding of BAC (FULLBAC), and the Black and White Alternative (BAWA) with emphasis on Black Empowerment. Materials date from 1961-1983 and include correspondence, printed announcements, newsletters, organizational administrative and financial documentation, by-laws, periodicals and published material, some sermons and audio cassettes
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, is a collection of primary source documents from a wide range of archival repositories. Covering 1901 to 1991, the focus is on the political side of the freedom movement, the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation, and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th Century. This database contains collections of primary source documents from the records of federal government agencies, the personal papers of African Americans and records of civil rights organizations.
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, consists of primary source documents from the personal papers of African Americans and records of civil rights organizations. Covering 1895 to 1992, the focus is on the experiences of individual African Americans, as told through diaries, personal correspondence and more. In addition, important records from a number of organizations including the American Committee on Africa, Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, League of Revolutionary Black Workers, National Association of Colored Women’s Clubs, Revolutionary Action Movement, and Southern Christian Leadership Conference.
The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2 module is highlighted by the records of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), the Africa-related papers of Claude Barnett, and the Robert F. Williams Papers. Rounding out this module are the papers of Chicago Congressman Arthur W. Mitchell, the Chicago chapter of the Congress of Racial Equality, and records pertaining to the Mississippi Freedom Summer.
These original photographs document the involvement of Queens College students and other Northerners in the Civil Rights Movement of the early to mid 1960s, including Mississippi Freedom Summer, the Virginia Student Help Project, the Summer Community Organization and Political Education (SCOPE) Project, and the Medical Committee for Human Rights (MCHR). Collections housed at Special Collections and Archives, Queens College Library.
The Documenting the History of the Civil Rights Movement in Dallas County, Texas Oral History Collection archives the influential individuals who were integral to the local civil rights movement. Each interview focuses on the interviewee's family and educational history, organizational involvement, and career or personal milestones which affected the local Civil Rights movement.
Fannie Lou Hamer was the daughter of sharecroppers and spent eighteen years of her adult life as a sharecropper and timekeeper on the Dee Marlow plantation in Sunflower County, Mississippi. She was fired in 1962 because of her attempt to register to vote. The following year she became a registered voter and also became the field secretary for the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee. She was instrumental in starting the Delta Ministry, and she was one of the founders of the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party. She led a delegation to the Democratic National Convention in 1964. She became chairman of the board of the Fannie Lou Hamer Day Care Center founded in Ruleville, Mississippi, in 1970, by the National Council of Negro Women. She also served as a member of the board of the Sunflower County Day Care Center and Family Service Center and on the policy council of the National Women's Political Party of Mississippi. This collection comprises correspondence plus financial records, programs, photographs, newspaper articles, invitations, and other printed items.
Under the leadership of J. Edgar Hoover, the FBI vigorously investigated and tracked the activities of Communist groups, Communist-front groups, and other radical organizations in the United States. This module consists of records of the FBI and the Subversive Activities Control Board from 1945-1972. Highlights of this module include J. Edgar Hoover's office files; documentation on the FBI's so-called "black bag jobs," as they were called before being renamed "surreptitious entries"; and the "Do Not File" File. The "Do Not File" file consists of records that were originally supposed to be destroyed on FBI Director J. Edgar Hoover's order, however, through both intended and inadvertent exceptions to this order, large portions of these files survived. Another key collection in this module consists of the records of the Subversive Activities Control Board (SACB). The SACB files constitute one of the most valuable resources for the study of left-wing radicalism during the 1950s and 1960s.
The Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s collection provides access to Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) documents of the internal organization, personnel, and activties of some of the most prominent AMerican radical groups and their movements to change American government and society. Organizations, persons, and events covered in this collection include The Counterintelligence Program of the FBI (COINTELPRO), Abbie Hoffman, the Black Panther Party, Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers, the fire bombing and shooting at Kent State University, Malcolm X, Mississippi Burning, Muslim Mosque, Inc., Organization of Afro-American Unity (OAAU) , Students for a Democratic Society (SDS) and the Weatherman Underground Organization, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), and the Communist infiltration of the Souther Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC).
Since its inception in 1957, the United States Commission on Civil Rights has been at the forefront of efforts by the Federal Government and state governments to examine and resolve issues related to race, ethnicity, religion and, more recently, sexual orientation. Although the fortunes of the Commission have ebbed and flowed with changes in presidential administrations, the Commission has continued to be a vital part of the effort to build an America that is truly equal. By providing access to the historical record of this important federal agency, the Thurgood Marshall Law Library will offer scholars an opportunity to examine the efforts of the Commission more closely.
Records of the NAACP, with an emphasis on the work of Kelly Alexander, Sr. and his sons Kelly Alexander, Jr. and Alfred Alexander in Charlotte, North Carolina. The collection contains minutes, correspondence, reports, speeches, press releases, membership records, and a few photographs. Topics covered include school segregation, housing and employment discrimination, police misconduct, and the Charlotte Area Fund.
The NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files provides a comprehensive view of the NAACP's evolution, policies, and achievents from 1909-1970. Included are minutes of directors' meetings, monthly reports from officers to the board of directors, proceedings of the annual business meetings, significant records of the association's annual conferences, plus special reports on a wide range of issues. Topics covered include discrimination in public employment, the Ku Klux Klan, the depiction of Blacks in motion pictures, economic equality, the church and civil rights and the changing attitudes of Black youth.
NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files and Youth Department files chronicles the local heroes of the civil rights revolution from 1913 to 1972 including attorneys, community organizers, benefactors, students, mothers, teachers, and more.
NAACP Papers: Major Campaigns - Legal Department Files contains papers of the NAACP Legal Department from 1956 - 1972. This includes working case files. Topics covered in these cases include school desegregation, abuses of police procedure, freedom of speech, desegregation of public facilities, voting rights, housing discrimination, and employment discrimination. Files include background correspondence as well as court documents including transcripts of court proceedings.
The focus of NAACP Papers: Major Campaigns - Scottsboro, Anti-lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses is on efforts to combat lynching, mob violence, discrimination in the criminal justice system, and white resistance to civil rights.
NAACP Papers: Special Subjects covers topics that did not rise to the level of major campaigns but shows the scope of NAACP activism and interest. Topics include communism, anticommunism during the red scare, the congressional prossectuion of Hollywood personalitites, prison conditions throughout the United States, African colonial liberation movements, the emergency of the Black Power movement, and much more.
The NAACP's Major Campaigns - Education, Voting, Housing, Emlpoyment, Armed Forces provides documentation on the systematic assault on segregated education that culminated in Brown v. Board of Education in 1954. This collection contains files from 1955 to 1965 that focus on the NAACP's efforts to implement the Brown decision as well as to combat de facto segregation outside of the South.
Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict. Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson and Thurgood Marshall.
This selection of images, freely available with creative commons licenses, represents a broadly based interpretation of African American culture, presenting diverse histories including the enslavement of the people, protest and civil rights movements, and the lives of celebrated citizens and everyday people. It provides most of the museum’s online offerings including art, artifacts, fashion, musical instruments, letters, portrait photographs and cartes de visite, books, broadsheets, political buttons and all types of ephemera, collectively documenting the lives of African Americans from around 1700 to the 2010s.
This collection contains documents from the Students for a Democratic Society (SDS) and the Vietnam Veterans Against the War (VVAW) along with other anti-Vietnam War organizations. These documents offer opportunities for research on the 1960s through the lens of influential anti-war organizations.
Secondary Sources - African American and Black Studies
America: History and Life provides access to abstracts of journal articles and citations to book/media reviews and dissertations gleaned from over 1700 journal titles dealing with the history of the United States and Canada. Writings in over 40 languages are included. All abstracts, are written in English. Dates of Coverage: 1954 - Current
Historical Abstracts Provides searchable access to abstracts of journal articles and citations to book titles and dissertations gleaned from over 1700 journal titles dealing with the history of the world (excluding North America) from 1450 to the present. Writings in over 50 languages are included. All abstracts, however, are written in English. Links to full-text journal articles in JSTOR and Project Muse are available from some abstracts. Indexes publications from 1954 to the present. Dates of Coverage: 1998 - Current
This database provides full text of 330+ journals and abstracts and bibliographic indexing of 690+ noted scholarly sources and specialized magazines in the humanities. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, and poetry. Subjects covered include art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, and religion. Periodical coverage dates back to 1910.
JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.
The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 20,000 articles by top scholars in the field.
Discover over 60 "Focus On" articles which feature essays, photographic essays, and a selected list of articles that will further guide the reader.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: African American Studies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on key areas of African American Studies including culture, politics, law, history, society, religion, and economics.
Project Muse serves as a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community, granting patrons access to books and electronic journals through their online portal. Project Muse provides content from a number of university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers participating.
ProQuest One Literature is a comprehensive literature resource that provides full-text journals, literary criticism, videos, dissertations, ebooks, primary texts, and curated author and movement pages. Included in the content are rare texts from black and world writers.
Alternative Press Index indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political and social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Dates of Coverage: 1991 to present
The Civil Rights Act of 1964 was an important milestone in the effort to achieve equality and autonomy for African Americans. In the decades that followed, Black Power, the Black Arts Movement, Black Nationalism, Separatism, and Black Feminism emerged as movements and grew in influence. Independent Voices provides scholars unprecedented access to writings and thoughts of those who led and participated in these diverse movements.
Chronicling America is a website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.
Ebony is one of the key Afro-American magazines of the 20th century, covering 20th and 21st-Century current events, art, design, politics and culture, literature, advertising, and more. Their editorial philosophy is to “showcase the best and brightest as well as highlighting the disparities in Black life in the United States and worldwide”. The Ebony Magazine Archive contains indexing, abstracting and full text for the complete archive (including Covers and Advertisements) beginning in November 1945 to June 2014.
JET Magazine Archive covers the civil rights movement, politics, education, and other social topics with an African American focus. It includes over 500 issues providing a view of news, culture, and entertainment during the 1980s. Full Release: JET Magazine Archive covers the civil rights movement, politics, education, and other social topics with an African American focus. It includes over 3,000 issues providing a broad view of news, culture, and entertainment from its first issue in 1951 through 2014.
The Historical New York Times with Index provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times. Coverage: 1851 - 2019