Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MUMH 4760: Chamber Music Literature

Guide to finding library resources for chamber music literature

Music Index

Music Index

Overview

This database is an index of journal articles and reviews of books and performances.

Type of Database

Index of bibliographies with links to full-text hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.

Resources Included

A searchable list of Publications and the articles within them, an index searching feature.

Purpose

Great tool for going directly to a specific journal title and searching within its contents by year to find specific volumes and issues. Otherwise, good resource for doing basic and advance searching.

Tips for Searching in Music Index

  • Like RILM, Music Index is hosted on the EBSCOHost platform, so the searching features are similar.
  • Using the Publications menu, search in specific journals to locate specific volumes:Music Index searching menu
  • If you identify a specific researcher as a specialist on a topic, use the Cited References menu to search by the authors name last name, then first name. For instance, Jeremy Yudkin has published several books on Beethoven. I am curious to identify Jeremy's other publications. This will lead me to more resources for my research:

Jeremy Index as a cited author search in Music Index

  • Likewise, use the Indexes menu to browse various indexes. Indexes link specific criteria to a citation. For instance, you could choose the Index feature to find all of the reviews of books and performances in this database:

Music Index Indexes Search by Document Type

  • After browsing by a specific document type, use the Advanced search feature to build an advanced search with more terms.
  • Be creative with how you combine these tools to make advanced searches. 

Database Features

Music Index has the same search features as RILM. One great feature about EBSCOHost is that users can search multiple databases simultaneously. From the main homepage of any EBSCOHost database page, select Choose Databases:

EBSCOHost choose databases option from homepage

  • The Choose Databases page will contain a long list of databases subscribed to by the UNT Libraries. RILM and Music Index can be searched at the same time this way. 
  • To stay up on the most recent articles, choose Create Alert to be notified about articles tagged with a specific subject.

 

Additional Links

top