Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MUMH 4760: Chamber Music Literature

Guide to finding library resources for chamber music literature

Credo Reference

Overview

This database contains a wide-range of reference materials on many topics, including subjects outside of music.

Type of Database

A portal to encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference books.

Resources Included

Music books in Credo Reference

Purpose

Useful for finding background information in dictionaries and encyclopedias, understanding terminology, and finding more sources in bibliographies.

Tips for Searching in Credo Reference

Credo login page with search box

Search Strategies

  • You will find the most results by searching with a composer's full, proper name by searching last name, then the first name. In the case of Ludwig van Beethoven, you will get less results if you do not search with the prefix "van" of his surname.
  • Doing phrase searches by surrounding phrases in quotations to keep the words in the phrase together does not always work in this database.
  • It is good to start with a broad concept in this database, then refine with filters. For instance, start with broad search words, such as chamber music or quartets and explore from there. The image below displays results from a search on chamber music.

search results page for chamber music with mind map on right-hand side of page

  • The mind map on the right-hand side of the page shows links between terms and people. If you click on a subject, the search results will refresh. 
  • You can filter by Key concepts that appear as tags with a blue background
  • Try Advanced search in the upper right-hand corner of the webpage to find more specific results
  • Credo will also recommend additional resources on the right-hand side of the page. Essentially, the database divides the results page into three parts: sources from reference materials, a mind map, and recommended resources in other databases.

Extra Features

 

Database Features

save, citation, print, share, read aloud, and translate features

  • As shown in the image above, Credo Reference provides options to save search results, create citations, print or save information as a PDF, share information by email, read aloud, and translate.
  • Saving your search results is only valid for the current search session. Once you exit Credo Reference, your saved searches disappear. During a searching session, access your saved items in the upper right-hand corner of the screen, as shown in the image below:

Credo saved items section

 

 

Additional Links

top