Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MUMH 4760: Chamber Music Literature

Guide to finding library resources for chamber music literature

Search Tips for Finding Resources in Databases

The UNT Libraries subscribe to approximately 50 databases related to music. Databases organize information in a way that researchers can find information on topics using keywords assigned or associated to an entry in the database. Databases organize resources, such as journal articles, images, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and steaming audio and video.

For your class research project, four databases in particular will be helpful:

  • Oxford Music Online
  • RILM
  • Music Index
  • Credo Reference

These resources are available for you to use on-campus and off-campus and are addressed in more detail in the subpages of this guide. If you are off-campus, you will be asked to verify your UNT EUID and password when logging into a database.

You should never have to pay for articles from journals while you are a student at UNT. If you hit a paywall, you likely are not signed into your UNT account. Of course, UNT does not own or subscribe to every source ever written. Sometimes, it might be necessary to request a book or journal article through UNT Libraries' Interlibrary Loan (ILL), a lending service between libraries and available to UNT students, faculty, and staff.

Introduction to Music Databases

Additional Links

top