Guides: Government Information Connection @ Sycamore Library : Digital Collections

Government Information Connection Digital Collections

The Government Information Connection / UNT Government Documents Department serves as an official content partner for the UNT Digital Library and Portal to Texas History. To date, across the two platforms, we host nearly 600,000 items that tell the story of the U.S. and the state of Texas, their residents, and their science and industries through government documents and related publications.

Below are links to browse all of our digital collections, plus a few highlights.

Browse the Government Documents Collections in the UNT Digital Library
Browse over 400,000 items or narrow the search utilizing available filters and limiters.

9/11 Commission Records
Final report of the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States, along with video and transcripts of the Commission's public hearings, and related reports on terrorism.
Congressional Research Service Reports
CRS is the public policy research arm of Congress. This legislative branch agency works exclusively for Members of Congress, their committees and their staffs. For more information, visit the CRS website at http://www.loc.gov/crsinfo/. Access CRS content hosted by the Library of Congress by visiting https://crsreports.congress.gov/.
CyberCemetery
The CyberCemetery is an archive of government web sites that have ceased operation (usually web sites of defunct government agencies and commissions that have issued a final report). This collection features a variety of topics indicative of the broad nature of government information. In particular, this collection features web sites that cover topics supporting the university's curriculum and particular program strengths.
Federal Communications Commission Record
The FCC Record is a comprehensive compilation of decisions, reports, public notices, and other documents of the Federal Communications Commission from 1986 to the present.

The FCC Record was preceded by the Federal Communications Commission Reports, first and second series, which covered the years 1934-1986.
Federal Communications Commission Reports
Issued biweekly by the Federal Communications Commission, these reports include regularly released decisions, notices, and documents on various communications issues. The Federal Communications Commission Reports ceased publication in the mid-1980s and were replaced by the FCC Record.
Technical Reports Archive and Image Library (TRAIL)
This selection of materials from the Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL) includes hard-to-find reports published by various government agencies. The technical publications contain reports, images, and technical descriptions of research performed for U.S. government agencies. Topics range from mining, desalination, and radiation to broader physics, biology, and chemistry studies. Some reports include maps, foldouts, blueprints, and other oversize materials.
more...less...
Related Collection
Some of these reports are also available in the TRAIL Microcard Collection and the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA) collection.
USDA Farmers Bulletins
The United States Department of Agriculture Farmers' Bulletins were produced to disseminate information about agricultural topics. This collection includes bulletins published between the 1880's and the 1980's.
World War II Newsmaps
The U.S. War Department published Newsmaps throughout the second World War. The names and configurations of the responsible sub-agencies changed several times during the war. Notes on many of the Newsmaps indicate that they were distributed by both the Army and the Navy.
World War Poster Collection
From World War I French victory figures to grim views of the Nazi regime, these posters demonstrate the power of words and images. It's particularly strong in World War I French and American and World War II American "home front" posters, covering topics like war bonds, rationing, enlistment, security, and morale, and popular artists like Norman Rockwell, Theodore Geisel (better known as Dr. Seuss), and Boris Artzybasheff

Browse the government documents collections in the Portal to Texas History
Browse over 400,000 items or narrow the search utilizing available filters and limiters.

Texas Laws and Resolutions Archive
The Texas Laws and Resolutions Archive consists of legislative bills that were filed with the Office of the Texas Secretary of State beginning with the 78th Legislative Session. All bills, joint resolutions, and concurrent resolutions passed by the Texas Legislature, including those vetoed by the Governor, are included.
more...less...
The University of North Texas Libraries and the Office of the Texas Secretary of State, in a partnership arrangement, established this site to ensure permanent storage and public access to the non-current electronic files of the Texas Laws and Resolutions, beginning with the 78th Legislative Session.
Texas Patents
The Texas Patents collection consists of United States patents filed by Texas inventors before 1900. A majority of the patents are for agricultural and industrial applications, such as seeding machines, harvesters, plows, wind and water propellers, and steam engines. Other inventions include timekeepers, remedies, and firearms.
Texas Register
Published weekly, the Texas Register records state agency rule making and review actions, governor's appointments, attorney general opinions, requests for proposals, and other miscellaneous documents. This archive, established through a partnership with the Office of the Texas Secretary of State, Texas Register Section, provides free access to all issues of the Texas Register from Volume 1, No. 1 (January 6, 1976). to the present.
more...less...
The University of North Texas Libraries (UNTL) and the Office of the Texas Secretary of State - Texas Register, in a partnership arrangement, established this collection to insure permanent storage and public access to the non-current electronic files of the Texas state government publication, the Texas Register. The most current issue of the Texas Register is first posted on the Texas Register Web site, where they maintain access to the most current six (6) months' issues of the Texas Register. The University of North Texas Libraries provides free access to all issues of the Texas Register beginning with Volume 1, No. 1 (January 6, 1976) up to within a week of the most currently released issue.
Texas Reports
Decisions of the Supreme Court of the State of Texas since 1846. They provide a fascinating legal standpoint and vibrant cultural and political views of Texas through its history as part of the U.S. and the Confederacy. Of special interest are the Reconstruction-era volumes which illuminate changes in the Court under the unpopular Constitution of 1869.
Texas Soil Surveys
The Texas Soil Surveys demonstrate early scientific thought regarding soil classification and use. Each survey consists of a soil map and separate book. The maps show many cultural features in the landscape such as businesses, churches, schools, mills, gins, and ferries. The collection embraces all Texas county and reconnaissance soil surveys completed prior to 1950.
Texas State Publications
This growing collection of materials produced by the State of Texas and municipal governments includes agency annual reports, legislative publications, statistical reports, and various government reports and periodicals.
War of the Rebellion
The Official Records of the War of the Rebellion is the most thorough collection of primary source official documents from the American Civil War.

University Libraries

Government Information Connection @ Sycamore Library

Selections from the Digital Collections

Americans all, let's fight for victory : Americanos todos, luchamos por la victoria.

Remember! the flag of liberty, support it! : buy U.S. government bonds, 3rd. Liberty Loan

Newsmap. For the Armed Forces. V-E Day + 5 weeks, 182nd week of U.S. participation in the war

Columbia Accident Investigation Board

Child's self-help overall

Algae in Water Supplies: An Illustrated Manual on the Identification, Significance, and Control of Algae in Water Supplies

Denton West Quadrangle

Soil Survey of Wise County, Texas

Model Display Stand

Mississippi River From Memphis to Vicksburg

Texas Register: 2015 Annual Index, Index of Rules, Pages 127-176, and Index of Non-Rulemaking Notices, Pages 177-208, January 15, 2016

The ECHO, Volume 87, Number 9, November 2015

Government Information Connection Digital Collections

Select Digital Collections

Government Information Connection @ Sycamore Library

Government Information Connection Digital Collections

Select Digital Collections

Additional Links