Guides: Government Comics: Single-Issue Comics

Single-Issue Government Comics

These are government comics that were published as single-issue monographs not part of any set or series. They are arranged alphabetically by the name of the department or agency

Executive Office of the President

Office of Economic Opportunity

Job Corps

Li'l Abner and the Creatures from Drop-Outer Space by Al Capp; Executive Office of the President, Office of Economic Opportunity, Job Corps (issuing agency)
Call Number: PREX 10.2:D 83 x
Publication Date: 1965
In 1964, cartoonist Al Capp was hired to produce a comic promoting the Job Corps, with cards included in the books for applicants to mail in. By June 1965, 501,000 copies were ready. Copyright is attributed to N.Y. News Syndicate Co., Inc. but with no date provided. According to a note in the Grand Comics Database (GCD), the artwork is by Bob Lubbers.

According to columnist Don Maclean, "The book was supposed to tell underprivileged youngsters how they might better themselves by joining the Job Corps. Unfortunately, it featured a voluptuous girl and leering boy drop-out. The message seemed to be that the girl wouldn't give him a tumble until he learned a skill in the Job Corps and started making money. Critics thought the whole thing a trifle too sexy and OEO put the books 'in storage,' where they have remained now for several years." (Maclean, "Government and Comic Books," in The Times News [Twin Falls, Idaho newspaper], December 21, 1967, p. 3).

U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission

The 9 Lives of El Gato the Cat: A Fire Safety Comic Book by U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (issuing agency)
Call Number: Y 3.C 76/3:2 F 51/2
Publication Date: 1988
El Gato the cat learns the hard way about many household fire hazards and how to avoid them.
The Perils of Pip: Preventing Poisoning: Introducing Pip, the Magic Safety Elephant! by U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (issuing agency)
Call Number: Y 3.C 76/3:2 P 66
Publication Date: 1978?
Pip the Magic Safety Elephant flies all over the world teaching children and their guardians how to prevent poisoning.
Sprocket Man [1978 edition] by U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (issuing agency)
Call Number: Y 3.C 76/3:2 Sp 8
Publication Date: 1978
Adapted from a 1975 version of Sprocket Man developed by the Urban Bikeway Design Collaborative, a project of Urban Scientific and Educational Research, Inc. Comic book originally drawn by Stanford student Louis Saekow, who ended up dropping out of Stanford's medical school to become a graphic designer.
Sprocket Man [1994 edition] by U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (issuing agency)
Call Number: Y 3.C 76/3:2 SP 8/994
Publication Date: 1994
In the 1990s Sprocket Man was reissued in black and white with helmets drawn on all the characters.

Also available online from Consumer Product Safety Commission:
1994 Sprocket Man with black and white cover
1994 Sprocket Man with color cover (background only)

U.S. Department of Agriculture

Food and Nutrition Service

Jimmy Has More Fun by U.S. Department of Agriculture, Food and Nutrition Service (issuing agency)
Call Number: A 98.9:3
Publication Date: 1969
This story, told through the eyes of a concerned mother trying to improve the health of her malnourished son, demonstrates how families can obtain USDA-donated foods. Originally issued by Consumer and Marketing Division, Information Service, under the number C&MS-67.
Food Stamps for You [1974 edition] by U.S. Department of Agriculture Food and Nutrition Service (issuing agency)
Call Number: A 98.9:119
Publication Date: 1974
Freddie Food Stamp explains food stamp regulations in this comic book. Revision of 1971 edition, which had been designed as a flip book to be used by social workers and did not feature Freddie (see below). Published originally by Mississippi State Department of Public Welfare.
Food Stamps for You [1971 edition] by Food and Nutrition Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture (issuing agency)
Call Number: A 98.9:67
Publication Date: 1971
This flip chart booklet with simple, cartoon-style illustrations outlines the main steps that potential food stamp users must follow in order to take part in the Food Stamp Program. It is intended as a visual aid for outreach workers to use when they visit the homes of low-income persons or discuss the program with groups.

Food Safety and Inspection Service

Let Me Tell You How Dad Got Sick! [2017 edition] = ¡Déjame contarte cómo papá se enfermó! [edición de 2017] by United States Department of Agriculture, Food Safety and Inspection Service (issuing agency)
Call Number: A 110.2:F 73/11/SPAN./ENGL./2017
Publication Date: 2017
Cautionary tale about how eating food that has been left out or not stored at the proper temperature can lead to food poisoning. Includes USDA's refrigerator storage chart. English and Spanish, with Spanish text on inverted pages. Slightly revised June 2017 from August 2009 edition.

Also available as a video:
A Spanish-language film version of ¡Déjame contarte cómo papá se enfermó! [edición de 2017] is available online via USDAFoodSafety channel on YouTube.com.
Let Me Tell You How Dad Got Sick! [2009 edition] = ¡Déjame contarte cómo papá se enfermó! [edición de 2009] by U.S. Department of Agriculture, Food Safety and Inspection Service (issuing agency)
Call Number: A 110.2:F 73/11/SPAN./ENGL.
Publication Date: 2009
Includes USDA's refrigerator storage chart. English and Spanish, with Spanish text on inverted pages.

Also available online:
Let Me Tell You How Dad Got Sick! [2009 edition]
¡Déjame contarte cómo papá se enfermó! [edición de 2009].
Let Me Tell You How Dad Got Sick! [text-only 2009 edition in English]

Forest Service

Smokey Bear's Story of the Forest by Harry Rossoll (illustrator); U.S. Forest Service (issuing agency)
Call Number: A 13.2:SM 7
Publication Date: 1951
Smokey Bear presents a story book of the forest, trees and animals. Presented by The State Foresters in cooperation with U.S. Department of Agriculture, Forest Service.

U.S. Department of Commerce

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Fantastic Tidal Datums by an obscure physical oceanographer entombed in the Ocean (Tides) and Lake Levels Division of the Office of Ocean and Earth Sciences of the National Ocean Service of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration of the U.S. Dept. of Commerce: "Dept. of C̲o̲m̲m̲e̲ṟc̲e̲?": "Yes, Commerce"; U.S. Department of Commerce, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (issuing agency)
Call Number: C 55.2:F 21
Publication Date: 1988
Childlike stick-figure drawings and casually scrawled handwriting are used to present a humorous and surprisingly clear explanation of how tidal datums are calculated and used as references to measure local water levels, making it possible to establish the benchmarks used to determine boundaries between private and state-owned land, as well as other coastal and marine boundaries, such as those between territorial and high seas, or the outer limit of the 12-mile contiguous and exclusive fishing zones and the outer limit of the 200-mile fishery conservation and exclusive economic zones..

U.S. Department of Defense

Department of the Army

Dignity & Respect: A Training Guide on Homosexual Conduct Policy by U.S. Department of the Army, Assistant Secretary of the Army for Manpower and Reserve Affairs (issuing agency)
Call Number: D 101.2:D 56 x
Publication Date: 2001
A training guide in comic book format that explains to soldiers and leaders how to handle the U.S. military's "Don't Ask, Don't Tell" policy on homosexual conduct, which was in effect from 1994 until 2011.
Military Courtesy by Harvey Publications; Al Avison (artist); U.S. Department of Defense, Department of the Army (issuing agency)
Call Number: D 101.20:21-14 x
Publication Date: 1950
A Korean-War era guide to the byzantine rules on saluting in the U.S. Army. Publication date taken from My Comic Shop and Comic Book Plus websites.
Playing It Safe in the Water by U.S. Department of the Army, Office of the Deputy Chief of Staff for Personnel (issuing agency)
Call Number: D 101.22:385-6/2
Publication Date: 1982
Dos and don'ts of water sports (mainly swimming) safety, illustrated by cartoons and presented by a talking fish mascot. Cartoonist is anonymous.
Troubleshooting Equipment in Combat Units by U.S. Department of Defense, Department of the Army, Headquarters (issuing agency)
Call Number: D 101.22:750-22
Publication Date: 1973
This instructional pamphlet for supervisors of equipment used in the motor pool of combat units is presented in a comic book format featuring characters originally created by Will Eisner.
The M16A1 Rifle: Operation and Preventive Maintenance by Headquarters, U.S. Department of the Army [issuing agency]
Call Number: D 101.22:750-30 x
Publication Date: 1968
Handbook in comic book format, drawn by Will Eisner and distributed to U.S. soldiers serving in Vietnam. This government comic has become notorious for its sexy female instructor character and for its often suggestive captions and chapter titles.
The M561/M792 Gama Goat: Operation and Preventive Maintenance by Will Eisner (artist); U.S. Department of Defense, Department of the Army (issuing agency)
Call Number: D 101.22:750-31
Publication Date: [1979?]
Department of the Army handbook in comic book form summarizing the high points of operating and maintaining the Gama Goat, a dual-bodied, articulated, six-wheeled vehicle that can cross ditches, slopes, rocks, and other rugged terrain, and still keep all six wheels on the ground. "This pamphlet supersedes DA pamphlet 750-31, Nov. 23, 1970."
Preventive Maintenance of Lead-Acid Batteries: The 'Lectric Factory by U.S. Department of Defense, Department of the Army (issuing agency); prepared by U.S. Army Tank-Automotive Materiel Readiness Command
Call Number: D 101.22:750-34
Publication Date: 1978
Preventive mainentance handbook in comic book format, using characters created by Will Eisner.
The Fastest Gun in the West, Vulcan by U.S. Department of Defense, Department of the Army (issuing agency)
Call Number: D 101.24:44-5
Publication Date: 1976
A U.S. Army training circular in comic book format with an Old West theme. It explains how to operate a towed or M-113-mounted 20-mm M-61 "Vulcan" Gatling-style rotary cannon on enemy aircraft.

Naval Health Research Center

The Docs: A Graphic Novel by Naval Health Research Center (issuing agency); prepared by RTI International; Heidi Kraft, Russ Peeler, Jerry Larson (authors); Shari Lambert (illustrator); Daniel Wiggins, Dao Nguyen, Diane Philyaw (colorists); E. Andrew Jessup (letterer)
Call Number: D 206.22:D 65
Publication Date: 2010
The Docs tells the story of four Navy Corpsmen deployed to Iraq. While some events in the novel are specific to Operation Iraqi Freedom, this graphic novel is not intended to depict any specific time period or conflict. Rather, it represents a more general view of military life within a combat zone. The intent is to highlight challenges faced by Corpsmen in all wars. This graphic novel deals with situations that are best understood by adults and is not meant for readers under 18 years of age. Includes bibliographical references.

U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare

Public Health Service

Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Mental Health Administration

Catching On! A Drug Information Booklet [Evaluation edition] by U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, National Institute on Drug Abuse (issuing agency); prepared by Research for Better Schools, Inc.; Shirley C. Smith, Allen B. Levit, Kerry R. Pinkston (authors); Kerry R. Pinkston, Susan Bockius, Judith K. M. Barbout (artists); Maureen H. Cook, Allie Mooney Mulviihill, Ellen Sterling, Reginald Bryant, Frank Lamont (consultants)
Call Number: HE 20.8202:C 28/EVALUATION
Publication Date: 1978
This booklet has been written to answer questions that young people ask about drugs. Includes the comic book story "The Amazing Asteroid!", a poster of drug information, crossword puzzle, a maze, and other activities.

Health Resources Administration

Choosing a Health Career: Featuring Wee Pals, the Kid Power Gang by Morrie Turner; U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Public Health Service, Health Resources Administration (issuing agency)
Call Number: HE 20.6002:C 18/5
Publication Date: Ⓒ 1979
Have you Considered a Health Career? by Morrie Turner (cartoonist and personal author), U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Public Health Service, Health Resources Administration (issuing agency)
Call Number: HE 20.6002:H 34/2/977
Publication Date: 1977
This educational comic book created by Morrie Turner uses a multiethnic cast of characters to encourage disadvantaged students of various racial and ethnic minorities to consider working toward a career in the health industry. Using a multiethnic cast, it depicts a variety of health careers through humorous stories, single panel cartoons, profiles of pioneering minority health professionals, and general descriptions of the wide variety of health careers that are available. The comic book was originally published in 1976. This is a slightly revised version issued in January 1977.

Have You Considered a Health Career? (1976 edition) available via Google Books.
Have You Considered a Health Career? (1976 edition) available via HathiTrust.

National Institute of Mental Health

Hooked! by U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Public Health Service, National Institute of Mental Health (issuing agency)
Call Number: FS 2.22:H 76
Publication Date: 1967
Public Health Service Publication No. 1610. Cautionary tale about heroin addiction, intended for inner-city audiences. Also published in a Spanish-language edition—entitled ¡Jukiado!—for Puerto Rican audiences.

Social Security Administration

Bill Davis Gets a Social Security Card by U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Social Security Administration (issuing agency)
Call Number: FS 3.35:84 A/2
Publication Date: 1963
This book was designed for use in adult reading classes to help explain old-age and survivors insurance under the Social Security law. The story is told in picture-book format, with short, simple sentences accompanied by cartoon-style illustrations.
The Future Is Now! by U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Social Security Administration (issuing agency)
Call Number: FS 3.52:76
Publication Date: 1969
Contains four independent stories: “Good-By Too Soon!”; “The Smart Aleck!”; “The Needless Sacrifice!”; and “The End of a Dream!” In between the stories are short articles featuring interesting trivia about Social Security: “Card Facts,” “Facts to Tell Your Folks,” and “Names.”
Good News for Household Workers: Your Earnings Now Can Bring Monthly Social Security Checks Later on for You and your Family—and You Can Look Forward to Having Hospital Insurance When you Retire by U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Social Security Administration (issuing agency)
Call Number: FS 3.35:24/11
Publication Date: 1967
Pamphlet distributed to domestic workers and their employers to explain the laws regarding Social Security coverage. Many employers were believed to be not reporting earnings of their household workers because they did not know the provisions of the law. Booklet includes 8 blank pages for keeping a record of earnings. Produced for the SSA by the educational-pamphlet company Channing Bete and presented in their pioneering "Scriptographic®" style, which resembles today's "sketchnotes."
A Harvest of Hope by U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Bureau of Old-Age and Survivors Insurance (issuing agency),
Call Number: FS 3.35:38 C
Publication Date: 1962
After a hardworking farmworker dies, it appears he has not been working long enough for his family to receive death benefits. Social security workers check the records of each place he has worked and learn that he had indeed worked long enough, but not all his wages had been properly reported. Things are straightened out and the family is able to start receiving their monthly social security check. This pamphlet in comic book form teaches the importance of making sure your employer's social security records are accurate and up to date.
In Other Peoples' [sic] Homes by U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Social Security Administration (issuing agency)
Call Number: FS 3.35:24 A/2
Publication Date: 1963
Booklet in comic book form illustrating various Social Security benefits available to household workers. (The title on the publication has a punctuation error—the word should be PEOPLE'S.)

Also available online:
In Other Peoples' Homes (SSA 1.2:P 39), archived at SSA website.
Joe Wheeler Finds a Job and Learns about Social Security. by U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Bureau of Old Age and Survivors Insurance (issuing agency)
Call Number: FS 3.35:85 A
Publication Date: 1964
This illustrated booklet is designed for use in adult basic reading courses. Its purpose is to give students enrolled in these courses a general explanation of the old-age, survivors, and disability insurance provisions of the social security law. Joe moves from a farm to the big city, where he he finds a job, loses it to a machine, goes to school to get job training, then finds a new job maintaining the very machine that took his first job. During his adventure he learns all about social security benefits. The story is interspersed with reviews of vocabulary, grammar, and reading comprehension.
John's First Job by U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Social Security Administration (issuing body)
Call Number: FS 3.35:38
Publication Date: 1956
Contains two stories: "John's First Job" tells the story of a college graduate applying for a Social Security card and his first job while his struggling, widowed mother discovers she is eligible for survivor's benefits. "A Farm and a Family" tells the true story of how Social Security benefits enabled all the members of the Aiken family to realize their various dreams. There is also a chart explaining Social Security benefits for farm families, and a history of Old-Age and Survivors Insurance.
Three Who Came Back! by U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Social Security Administration (issuing agency)
Call Number: FS 3.35:38 B/3
Publication Date: 1965
Anthology of three stories: "Good-By Too Soon!" ; "The Smart Aleck"; and "The End of a Dream!" Interspersed among these narratives are several more expository items: "Card Facts" (trivia about Social Security cards); "Facts to Tell Your Folks" (the four times in your life you need to visit the Social Security Office; and "Names..." (about people listed in the National Employee Index who have unusual names or extreme ages).

Children's Bureau

Pogo Primer for Parents: (TV Division) by Walt Kelly; U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Social Security Administration, Children's Bureau (issuing agency)
Call Number: FS 3.224:2
Publication Date: 1961
A book of cartoon drawings illustrating ways for parents to select television programs for their children. The concepts of mental health and child rearing described in the book are based on the findings of the 1960 White House Conference on Children and Youth. Children's Bureau Headliner Series No. 2 (Headliner Series No. 1 is A Creative Life for Your Children, by Margaret Mead.).

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

National Institutes of Health

El trastorno de pánico: existe, puede ser tratado by U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health, National Institute of Mental Health (issuing agency)
Call Number: HE 20.8102:P 19/4/SPAN.
Publication Date: 1996?
Discusses the condition known as panic disorder. Includes a list of symptoms, the story of a young woman suffering from panic disorder, depictions of treatments from a professional that help her overcome the disorder, and more.
¡Su familia se merece los mejores alimentos! by U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health, National Cancer Institute (issuing agency)
Call Number: HE 20.3152:F 21/3/SPAN.
Publication Date: 1995
This fotonovela, available only in Spanish, is targeted to families and demonstrates how one family reduced the amount of fat in their diet without giving up traditional Hispanic foods. Includes tips for making easy changes and substitutions to reduce fat consumption.
A Time of Change = De niña a mujer by U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, National Cancer Institute (issuing agency)
Call Number: HE 20.3152:T 48/2/988
Publication Date: 1988
This bilingual fotonovela was developed specifically for young women. It discusses various health promotion issues such as nutrition, smoking, exercise, pelvic and breast examinations, and Pap smears. A Time of Change: A Leader’s Guide for Group Discussions on Health Promotion is an accompanying booklet available to help facilitate group discussions.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Preparedness 101: Zombie Pandemic by Maggie Silver; art direction by James Archer; penciled and inked by Bob Hobbs; digital color by Alissa Eckert; lettering and layout by Mark Conner; U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (issuing agency)
Call Number: HE 20.7002:P 91/2
Publication Date: 2011
Presents in graphic novel format a fantastical public health emergency to convey the actions and tools necessary for citizens to protect themselves. Readers follow Todd, Julie, and their dog Max as a strange new disease begins to spread and turn ordinary people into zombies. Includes a preparedness checklist for readers to assemble an All-Hazards Emergency Kit. Download the graphic novel and supplementary poster at CDC Stacks — Preparedness 101: Zombie Pandemic (2011).
The Junior Disease Detectives: Operation Outbreak by Douglas Jordan (project lead); James Archer (art team lead); Douglas Jordan, Victoria Jeisy Scott (writers); Bob Hobbs (penciling and inking); Kristen Immoor (digital color); Mark Conner and Meredith Boyter Newlove (lettering and layout); U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control (issuing agency); U.S. Department of Agriculture, 4-H (partners)
Call Number: HE 20.7002:OU 8
Publication Date: 2018
This graphic novel is intended to educate youth audiences about variant flu and the real disease detective work conducted by public and animal health experts when outbreaks of infectious diseases occur. The story follows a group of teenage 4-H members who participate in a state agricultural fair and later attend CDC’s Disease Detective Camp in Atlanta. When one of the boys becomes sick following the fair, the rest of the group use their newly-acquired disease detective knowledge to help a team of public and animal health experts solve the mystery of how their friend became ill. Educational activities, downloadable electronic copies, and ordering information for print copies of The Junior Disease Detectives are available from the CDC.
Straight Talk about Nail-Gun Safety by U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (issuing agency); Nick Thorkelson (designer/illustrator)
Call Number: HE 20.7102:N 14/2013
Publication Date: 2013
This comic provides important safety information for potential and new pneumatic nail gun operators working in the residential building industry. The comic uses the theme of hands-on safety training by telling a story of a young worker getting on-the-job training in nail gun safety from a more experienced worker. NIOSH researchers Jim Albers, Steve Hudock, and Brian Lowe collaborated with designer/cartoonist Nick Thorkelson to develop a comic that would accurately represent nail gun use on new building sites.

Food and Drug Administration

Carlos' Tragic and Mysterious Illness: How Carlos Almost Died by Eating Contaminated Raw Oysters by U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Call Number: HE 20.4002:C 19
Publication Date: 2003
This fotonovela was issued bythe FDA as part of the Vibrio vulnificus Health Education Kit used in a media campaign to warn the Hispanic community about the risks of eating raw oysters.
La trágica y misteriosa enfermedad de Carlos: Cómo Carlos casi muere luego de comer ostiones crudos contaminados by U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Call Number: HE 20.4002:C 19/SPAN.
Publication Date: 2003
This fotonovela was issued bythe FDA as part of the Vibrio vulnificus Health Education Kit used in a media campaign to warn the Hispanic community about the risks of eating raw oysters.
Guess Who's Coming to Dinner? by National Urban League, Youth Development Division; Kevin L. Lovelace (illustrator); U.S. Food and Drug Administration (issuing body)
Call Number: HE 20.4002:D 61
Publication Date: 1977?
In 1976, the FDA joined forces with the National Urban League to provide visually-stimulating educational materials to minority consumers who might otherwise miss important information about preventive healthcare because of linguistic, cultural, or psychological barriers. This pamphlet was part of a project that used cartoons, videotapes, colored brochures, and buttons to warn of the dangers of food poisoning and explain how to avoid it.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration

No Longer Alone (A Story about Alcohol, Drugs, Depression, and Trauma): Isabel, Maria, and Rosa Accept Help and Give Recovery a Chance by CDM Group, Inc., JBS International (Firm), Knowledge Application Program (U.S.), and others; U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (issuing agency)
Call Number: HE 20.402:R 24/5/2013
Publication Date: 2013
This fotonovela was developed as a collateral product to Treatment Improvement Protocol (TIP) 51, Substance Abuse Treatment: Addressing the Specific Needs of Women. It was prepared for the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) by the Knowledge Application Program (KAP), a Joint Venture of The CDM Group, Inc., and JBS International, Inc., and with the subcontractor, TMNcorp, under contract number 270-09-0307.
People Recover by U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (issuing agency),
Call Number: HE 20.418:42/COMIC
Publication Date: 2013
This comic book was developed as a collateral product to Treatment Improvement Protocol 42, Substance abuse treatment for persons with co-occurring disorders. It was prepared for the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration by the Knowledge Application Program (KAP) under contract number 270-99-7072.

Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Mental Health Administration

(This was the earlier name of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration)

Office for Substance Abuse Prevention

McGruff's Surprise Party by Custom Comic Services; U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Mental Health Administration, Office for Substance Abuse Prevention (issuing agency)
Call Number: HE 20.8002:M 17
Publication Date: 1989
Created and produced by the educational comic book company Custom Comic Services under the Office for Substance Abuse Prevention, and with funding from the Bureau of Justice Assistance, Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice. Distributed by the National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information. McGruff is a registered trademark of the National Crime Prevention Council.

U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Ready Kids Activity Book by the Ad Council; U.S. Department of Homeland Security (issuing agency)
Call Number: HS 1.2:K 54
Publication Date: 2006?
This 9-page activity book uses games, puzzles, and comic strips to teach 8-to-12-year-olds how to prepare for a terrorist attack, natural disaster, or other emergency.
Ready Kids [supply kit comic strip] by U.S. Department of Homeland Security (issuing agency)
Call Number: HS 1.2:R 22/3/SUPPLY
Publication Date: 2006?
Single-page comic about survival and emergency equipment, featuring Rex, the Ready Mountain Lion, a mascot developed by the Ad Council. It doesn't really have a title or a cover. The buff Rex, his wife Purrcilla, their daughter Rory, and their hummingbird friend Hector were designed by artist Betsy Baytos, perhaps best known for creating the Coca-Cola polar bears.

U.S. Department of the Interior

National Park Service

Andy Goes to the Parks by U.S. National Park Service, (issuing agency); produced by Malcolm W. Ater and his company, Commercial Comics, Inc.
Call Number: I 29.2:AN 2/6 x
Publication Date: © 1975 Daily Mirror Newspapers, Ltd.
Comic book issued by the National Park Service to make visitors aware of safety concerns when visiting the parks. Introductory letter by Gary Everhardt, Park Service director during the Ford administration. (Sadly, Everhardt and his wife both passed away from COVID-19 in December 2020.) Based on Andy Capp comic strip created by Reggie Smythe. Includes safety tips and a questionnaire surveying park visitors' behavior and inviting suggestions for reducing the number of accidents in the parks.

Fish and Wildlife Service

The Adventure of Simon & Mary Nunantuk: The Story of Wildlife Management on the Yukon - Kuskokwim Delta by Rodger Kaye (script); George Smart (drawings); Cynthia Thomas (artwork); Patsy Kallander (lettering); U.S. Department of the Interior, Fish and Wildlife Service (issuing agency)
Call Number: I 49.2:Si 5
Publication Date: 1985
A story about two children who learn the importance of managing the land and wildlife in Alaska. Includes a word puzzle and a crossword puzzle.
Mark Trail Tells the Story of a Fish in Trouble by Herb Reichelt; Jack Elrod (artist); U.S. Department of the Interior, Fish and Wildlife Service (issuing agency)
Call Number: I 49.2:F 52/20
Publication Date: ©1990 North American Syndicate, Inc. (1992 reprint)
This coloring book tells the story of Mark Trail and his son Rusty fishing for striped bass, also known as striper or rockfish. They discover that the striper's population is dwindling because of pollution and other forms of human interference, and Mark describes what the U.S. government is doing and what American citizens can do to help increase the striper population.
Take Pride in America with Mark Trail: A Coloring Book by U.S. Department of the Interior, U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service (issuing agency); art by Jack Elrod, artist and writer of "Mark Trail"
Call Number: I 49.2:P 93
Publication Date: ©1987 North American Syndicate, Inc.
Take Pride in America is a national public awareness campaign to encourage careful stewardship of the Nations outstanding natural and cultural resources. In this promotional coloring book, Mark Trail teaches his son Rusty about the importance of our natural resources and gives advice on how to take care of them so that our friends and families and future generations can enjoy the same exciting adventures for years to come. The book is filled with drawings of various American species.
Wetlands Coloring Book by U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (issuing agency); art by Jack Elrod
Call Number: I 49.2:W 53/10
Publication Date: 1986
As part of the 50th Anniversary commemoration of the Duck Stamp, Jack Elrod, artist and writer of the popular Mark Trail comic strip, was commissioned to create this coloring book to emphasize the great value of wetlands and to encourage the sale of Duck Stamps.
Wetlands Coloring Book [E-book] by U.S. Department of the Interior, Fish and Wildlife Service (issuing agency); artwork by Jack Elrod
Call Number: I 49.2:2004014941
Publication Date: 1999
A coloring book about wetlands and the animals inhabiting wetlands. Art by Jack Elrod, artist and writer of the adventure comic Mark Trail.

U.S. Department of Justice

Federal Bureau of Investigation

Captain America Goes to War against Drugs by Peter David (writer); Sal Velluto (pencils); Keith Williams (inking); Rick Parker (lettering); Bob Sharen (color); Marc McLaurin (editor); Marvel Comics (publisher); U.S. Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Investigation (issuing agency)
Call Number: J 1.14/2:C 17 x [V.1/NO.1]
Publication Date: ©1990 Marvel Entertainment Group, Inc.
The development and first printing of this special comic book have been accomplished through the support and efforts of the Marvel Entertainment Group, Inc., the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the Office for Substance Abuse Prevention, the American Council for Drug Education and the National Institute on Drug Abuse. The story is referred to on the splash page as "High Heat." The comic is designated "Volume 1, No. 1," but was not followed by any other issues.

U.S. Department of the Treasury

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms

Rex Morgan, M.D. Talks About Your Unborn Child by U.S. Department of the Treasury, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms (issuing agency); G.R. Dickerson (introductory letter)
Call Number: T 70.2:C 43
Publication Date: © 1980 Field Newspaper Syndicate
Cautionary tale about how drinking while pregnant can harm the fetus. Distributed by National Clearinghouse for Alcohol Information (NCAI). Includes introductory letter by G.R. Dickerson (director of the BATF) and contact information for NCAI and for regional BATF offices. No author is credited, but the Rex Morgan, M.D. comic strip was created and written (but not drawn) by psychiatrist Nicholas Dallis. Also available in Spanish.
"Piense primero en su hijo que está por nacer," dice el Dr. Rex Morgan by U.S. Department of the Treasury, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms (issuing agency)
Call Number: T 70.2:C 43/SPANISH
Publication Date: ©1980 Field Newspaper Syndicates
Spanish-language version of Rex Morgan, M.D. Talks About Your Unborn Child. Story and dialogue are slightly different, and pictures are completely redrawn.

Internal Revenue Service

Don't Be a "Sugar Daddy" to Moonshiners!: A True Story of Moonshine by U.S. Treasury Department, Internal Revenue Service, Alcohol and Tobacco Tax Division (issuing agency)
Call Number: T 22.2:M 77
Publication Date: 1957
Short pamphlet warning against selling sugar to those likely to be moonshiners and offering tips on how to spot them. Illustrated throughout with cartoon-style drawings and diagrams.
Also available online: Don't Be a 'Sugar Daddy' to Moonshiners!: A True Story of Moonshine at Internet Archive.
For a fuller treatment of the subject, see What You Should Know about the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax Division, issued by the U.S. Treasury Department, Internal Revenue Service.

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

The Adventures of the Garbage Gremlin: Recycle and Combat a Life of Grime by U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (issuing agency)
Call Number: EP 1.17:530-SW-90-024
Publication Date: 1991
Issued as part of "Recycle Today," the EPA's educational program on recycling. It can be used in combination with Let's Reduce and Recycle: Curriculum for Solid Waste Awareness and School Recycling Programs: A Handbook for Educators to introduce students to the benefits of recycling. A poster entitled Ride the Wave of the Future: Recycle Today! is also available to promote recycling and encourage students to get involved in recycling efforts at their schools.

Also available online:
The Adventures of the Garbage Gremlin at EPA's National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP) database
Let's Dump the Dump: The ABC's of Solid Waste Management by Channing L. Bete Co., Inc.; U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Call Number: EP 1.2:D 89
Publication Date: © 1971 Channing L. Bete Co., Inc.
Pamphlet on recycling produced for the EPA by the educational-pamphlet company Channing Bete. Presented in their pioneering "Scriptographic ®" style, which somewhat resembles what today we call "sketchnotes."

Also available online:
Let's Dump the Dump at Google Books
On the Trail of the Missing Ozone by Phil Frank; U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (issuing agency)
Call Number: EP 1.2:OZ 7/20
Publication Date: © 1993 Phil Frank
This booklet for children provides an introduction into why we need the ozone layer, explains the causes of ozone depletion, and describes some of the actions the world is taking to correct the problem.

Alternative formats:
On the Trail of the Missing Ozone (illustrated panels)
On the Trail of the Missing Ozone (text version)

U.S. Federal Energy Administration

Office of Communications and Public Affairs

My Energy Book by Energy Ant; U.S. Federal Energy Administration, Office of Communications and Public Affairs (issuing agency)
Call Number: FE 1.2:An 8
Publication Date: 1976
Energy Ant is a mascot created by the Federal Energy Administration to tell young people about energy and how to use it wisely. This might be considered more of a picture book than a comic book.

Federal Reserve Bank of Boston

Wishes & Rainbows (1981 edition) by Federal Reserve Bank of Boston (issuing agency); adapted by Stephen Devaux from a story by Debra Carpenter-Beck; Illustrations by Adam Redjinski
Call Number: FRB 2/4:W 75 x
Publication Date: 1981
In this allegorical comic book from the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston, a girl named Roota brings a colorful flower from the surface world of Colorland to her underground city of Pebbletown, where no one has ever seen color. As the town ponders what to do with this new treasure, the reader learns about the economic and moral complexities involved in deciding on the most equitable way to distribute and provide access to scarce resources. Adapted from a story by Debra Carpenter-Beck published in the September 1980 issue of the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston's educational newsletter The Ledger. A teacher's guide, The Road to Roota, was issued with the comic but the 1981 edition is not available at UNT. A new edition of this comic was issued in 2007 with a slightly revised text and completely redrawn illustrations by Carrie Hartman.
Wishes and Rainbows (2007 edition) by by Debra Carpenter-Beck; adapted by Stephen Devaux; illustrated by Carrie Hartman; Federal Reserve Bank of Boston (issuing agency)
Publication Date: 2007
Comic book children's story about the introduction of colored flowers into a town that has never seen color. Designed to stimulate students' imagination as they explore the economic problem of scarce resources, various methods of allocation, and how societies react to alleviate such problems. Adapted from a story of the same title by Debra Carpenter-Beck published in the September 1980 issue of the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston's educational newsletter The Ledger. A teacher's guide, The Road to Roota, is also available. This 2007 edition is a revision of the original 1981 comic book, with a slightly different text and completely redrawn illustrations.

Also available online: Wishes and Rainbows Economic Education page at Federal Reserve Bank of Boston.

U.S. Federal Security Agency

Public Health Service

The Fight to Save America’s Waters: A Mark Trail Adventure in Public Health and Conservation by Ed Dodd (artist); Federal Security Agency, Public Health Service (issuing agency)
Call Number: FS 2.2:W 29/9 [4]
Publication Date: [1953?]
This Mark Trail comic book is contained, along with other materials, in the portfolio Let’s Have Clean Water: A Kit of Materials to Aid Community Leaders in Their Efforts to Solve Local Water Pollution Problems (FS 2.2:W 29/9).

U.S. Government Printing Office

Squeaks Discovers Type!: How Print has Expanded Our Universe! by James T. Cameron and Nick Crawford (story); Nick Crawford (artwork); U.S. Government Printing Office (issuing agency)
Call Number: GP 3.2:SQ 3
ISBN: 9780160861772
Publication Date: 2010
The first comic produced entirely in-house by the Government Printing Office. Squeaks, a video game space mouse, helps elementary school student Jake learn about the history of the invention of printing so Jake can write a report.

Storytime: "Squeaks Discovers Type! How Print Has Expanded Our Universe!" is read-aloud presentation on The Printing Museum's YouTube channel.

U.S. Veterans Administration

The Winning Letter: Common Sense about Writing to People by U.S. Veterans Administration (issuing agency)
Call Number: VA 1.19:5-20
Publication Date: 1957
Advice to Veterans Administration employees on how to write letters to the public that are clearly, concisely, and sensitively expressed. This manual is illustrated throughout with whimsical cartoons. The illustrator is not credited.
Common Sense about Taking Disciplinary Action by U.S. Veterans Administration (issuing agency)
Call Number: VA 1.19:5-21
Publication Date: 1957
The purpose of this pamphlet is to discuss certain general principles, attitudes, and practices applicable to all disciplinary actions. Details are to be found in the appropriate chapters of the VA Personnel Policies Manual. The pamphlet is illustrated with numerous single-panel cartoons.
Position Classification Exposed! by U.S. Veterans Administration, Office of Personnel (issuing agency)
Call Number: VA 1.19:5-25
Publication Date: 1958
The purpose of this pamphlet is to remove the aura of mystery which, all too often, seems to prevail concerning position classification processes, and to minimize the worries of anyone who may have to write or review a position description. The explanations are accompanied by humorous, cartoon-style illustrations.
Common Sense about Managing Your Management Job by U.S. Veterans Administration, Office of Personnel (issuing agency)
Call Number: VA 1.19:5-28
Publication Date: 1959
Mr. Common Sense provides some practical tips on how those in management positions can increase their own personal efficiency as well as that of the people they supervise. Illustrated throughout with single-panel cartoons and other cartoon-style illustrations.
Common Sense about Evaluating and Recognizing Performance by U.S. Veterans Administration (issuing agency)
Call Number: VA 1.19:05-29
Publication Date: 1966
This pamphlet discusses general principles, attitudes. and practices applicable to the evaluation and recognition of performance. Readers are referred to the VA Manual, MP-5 for details. Concepts are illustrated throughout with single-panel cartoons and cartoon-style illustrations.
Common Sense about Supervising Young Workers: Pointers on Getting Them Off to a Good Start by U.S. Veterans Administration, Office of Assistant Administrator for Personnel (issuing agency)
Call Number: VA 1.19:05-41
Publication Date: 1966
This pamphlet discusses certain general principles, attitudes, and practices that may help you develop in youthful workers you supervise the work habits and attitudes that may determine the whole future course of their productive life and help them to achieve the adult status they are looking for. This pamphlet is adapted from Bulletin 174, The Youth you Supervise, from the U.S. Department of Labor. Illustrated throughout with anonymous single-panel comics and cartoon-style illustrations.

Government Comics

Single-Issue Government Comics

Executive Office of the President

Office of Economic Opportunity

Job Corps

U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission

U.S. Department of Agriculture

Food and Nutrition Service

Food Safety and Inspection Service

Forest Service

U.S. Department of Commerce

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

U.S. Department of Defense

Department of the Army

Naval Health Research Center

U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare

Public Health Service

Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Mental Health Administration

Health Resources Administration

National Institute of Mental Health

Social Security Administration

Children's Bureau

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

National Institutes of Health

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Food and Drug Administration

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration

Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Mental Health Administration

Office for Substance Abuse Prevention

U.S. Department of Homeland Security

U.S. Department of the Interior

National Park Service

Fish and Wildlife Service

U.S. Department of Justice

Federal Bureau of Investigation

U.S. Department of the Treasury

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms

Internal Revenue Service

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

U.S. Federal Energy Administration

Office of Communications and Public Affairs

Federal Reserve Bank of Boston

U.S. Federal Security Agency

Public Health Service

U.S. Government Printing Office

U.S. Veterans Administration

Additional Links