Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Portals to Biology Information
A portal to science information from over 1850 U.S. government agencies. Search individual agency websites or topic areas, or do a customized federated search.
A portal to open access science resources around the world, including the Australian Antarctic Data Centre, the Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information, NARCIS from the Netherlands and Vascoda from Germany. The site provides federated searching of the national and international databases. The U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information and the British Library developed WorldWideScience.org.
The Complete Works of Charles Darwin Online (Darwin Online)
The website is a comprehensive collection of Darwin's publications and unpublished papers, including 43,000 pages of searchable text and 150,000 electronic images. Darwin's works are also available as free downloadable mp3 audio files. The collection also includes reviews of Darwin's works and recollections of the man. The University of Cambridge sponsors the project.
Darwin Correspondence Project
The University of Cambridge and its partners have preserved 14,500 of Darwin's letters online. The letters to over 2000 correspondents are fully-searchable. Darwin used letters to collect data and discuss concepts, so the content has scientific as well as biographical significance. Each letter has footnotes to identify people and explain obscure references.
The complete writings of the cofounder of evolution, naturalist Alfred Russel Wallace. The website is a joint project of John van Wyhe and Kees Rookmaaker at the National University of Singapore.
Biographical Memoirs of National Academy of Science Members
Deceased members of the Academy are remembered in biographies written by those who knew them or their work. Eventually 900 memoirs will be posted as pdf files at this site. Included in the collection are biographies of Linus Pauling, Barbara McClintock, William McElroy, and many more
Book Announcements and Reviews
John Wiley: Life Sciences
Wiley's online bookstore, featuring book and periodical descriptions and access to tables of contents.
See the titles reviewed in the most current issue of Science Magazine.
Springer: Biomedical Sciences
A list of new books from Springer publishers. May have reviews or just a description. Can search entire catalog from this site.
Cell Mentor from Cell Press
A professional development site for students, faculty, and professionals in cell biology and other fields of biology. Find videos, blog posts, handbooks, and more in these 4 general areas: Get Inspired, Get Technical, Get Published, and Get Hired.
Search a database of over 400,000 funding opportunities.
Grants & Funding
A list of grant information websites sponsored by Science Magazine and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.
National Science Foundation
Search NSF's database of competitive grants and cooperative agreements for scientific research.
NIH Guide for Grants and Contracts
Search the National Institute of Health's database of funding opportunities