Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Credo Reference: Your One Stop for Online Reference
Credo Reference is an online collection of over 670 dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks and guides in all subject areas. Sample titles are:
- Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology
- Encyclopedia of Insects
- Green Food: An A to Z Guide
- The Hutchison Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Credo Reference contains hundreds of encyclopedias and dictionaries in many subject areas, making it a great place to start your research. Do a keyword search for your topic or browse through the subject categories.
Other Online Reference Sources
The UNT Libraries also subscribe to these smaller online reference resources, which include biology information.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A multidisciplinary collection of encyclopedias and dictionaries. Smaller than Credo Reference and strongest in the social sciences.
Internet Reference Sources
These online dictionaries, databases, encyclopedias and other resources provide background information about biology topics.
American Society of Mammalogists: Mammalian Species
This website contains 700+ highly detailed accounts of mammals, including general characters, distribution, behavior, reproduction, ecology and more.
A database containing over 1.6 million records of information about ~10,000 species of birds from around the world. Avibase is hosted by Bird Studies Canada, the Canadian copartner of Birdlife International.
Biological Journals and Abbreviations
List of abbreviated biological journal titles and their corresponding full names.
Encyclopedia of Life
An open access, joint effort to catalog information and pictures about all life forms on Earth. Sponsored by the MacArthur and Sloan Foundations, the Smithsonian Institute, and other partners.
Molecular Biology Glossary
A glossary of terms essential to understanding molecular biology and its methods. Helpful diagrams are included.
National Plants Database
A service of the US Department of Agriculture, it includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, crop information, and automated tools.
Plants for a Future: Edible, Medicinal, and Useful Plants for a Healthier World
Plants for a Future, a registered charitable company in England and Wales, provides a database of over 7000 plants.
Print Reference Sources
Print reference books for biology are available at the Willis Library Services Desk and on the 3rd Floor. Some must be used in the library only. You can do a search in the UNT Library Catalog for [biology and dictionary] or [biology and encyclopedia] to find them. Please contact Erin O'Toole at firstname.lastname@example.org if you need assistance.