Top 5 Databases for Biology
Search for journal articles about biology topics in these databases. Log in with your EUID and password if you are off-campus.
-
Environment completeThis resources offers patrons full-text access to over 1,300 journals and monographs in areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and related areas of study, as well regular access to more than 2,500 domestic and international journals.
-
MEDLINEMEDLINE via EBSCOhost authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, HISTLINE, SPACELINE, PREMEDLINE®, AIDSLINE®, BIOETHICSLINE®, and HealthSTAR®. Dates of Coverage: Varies by publication
-
Scopus
Scopus is a curated abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and features tools to track, analyze and visualize research. This resource delivers a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities. Scopus allows users to search the literature, follow citations, and see who cited an article. Researchers can also use Scopus metrics to help demonstrate the value of their work.
-
Web of scienceWeb of Science provides users access to integrated, multidisciplinary research with sizable search and navigation options. Web of Science can connect users with over 12,000 journals worldwide, including open-access journals.
-
Wildlife & Ecology Studies WorldwideWildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide is the largest index to literature about wild mammals, birds, reptiles and amphibians. It covers many wildlife subjects including individual species, habitat types, wildlife behavior, ecotourism and zoology. Coverage dates back to 1892 and continues up to the present day.
Other Biology Databases
The journal article databases below offer specialized topics or time periods.
-
AGRICOLAAGRICOLA covers all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, such as animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. This resource provides more than 5 million citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports.
-
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.
-
Science & technology collectionScience and Technology Collection Contains full text journals and indexing and abstracts. Topics include: Aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science. Dates of Coverage: Varies by publication. e.
Conference Proceedings
Proceedings are the official record of a conference, usually held by an association or organization. The proceedings may include contributed papers, abstracts of papers or presentations, and other types of documents. Articles or papers from conference proceedings can be more difficult to find than journal articles because they are not widely indexed, and often the official title of the conference is difficult to identify.
-
Scopus
Scopus is a curated abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and features tools to track, analyze and visualize research. This resource delivers a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities. Scopus allows users to search the literature, follow citations, and see who cited an article. Researchers can also use Scopus metrics to help demonstrate the value of their work.
-
Web of scienceWeb of Science provides users access to integrated, multidisciplinary research with sizable search and navigation options. Web of Science can connect users with over 12,000 journals worldwide, including open-access journals.
Featured Biology Journals
-
Aquaculture InternationalThis journal publishes original research papers, short communications, technical notes and review papers on all aspects of aquaculture. The Journal covers topics such as the biology, physiology, pathology and genetics of cultured fish, crustaceans, molluscs and plants, especially new species; water quality of supply systems, fluctuations in water quality within farms and the environmental impacts of aquacultural operations; nutrition, feeding and stocking practices, especially as they affect the health and growth rates of cultured species; sustainable production techniques; bioengineering studies on the design and management of offshore and land-based systems; the improvement of quality and marketing of farmed products; sociological and societal impacts of aquaculture. This is the official journal of the European Aquaculture Society.
-
Biomedical MaterialsThe goal of the journal is to publish original research findings that contribute to our knowledge about the composition, properties, and performance of materials for tissue engineering and regenerative medicine. Typical areas of interest include the following:
-Synthesis/characterization of biomedical materials
-In vitro/in vivo performance of biomedical materials
-Nature-inspired synthesis/biomineralization
-Tissue engineering/regenerative medicine applications
-Interaction of molecules/cells with materials
-Effects of biomaterials on stem cell behavior
-Growth factors/genes incorporated into biomaterials -
Cancer CellThis journal publishes major advances in cancer research and oncology relevant to naturally occurring cancers. Examples of areas covered by this journal include molecular and cellular mechanisms of cancer, mechanisms for the sensitivity and the resistance to cancer therapies, and development of better cancer therapies. This journal also publishes clinical investigations, including those that deal with the diagnosis, treatment, or prevention of cancers, as well as those that provide insights into cancer biology beyond what has been revealed by prSycamore Libraryinical studies.
-
CellCell publishes findings of significance in any area of experimental biology, including cell biology, molecular biology, neuroscience, immunology, virology and microbiology, cancer, human genetics, systems biology, signaling, and disease mechanisms and therapeutics. In addition to primary research articles in four formats, Cell features review and opinion articles on recent research advances and issues of interest to its broad readership.
-
Cell Host & MicrobeThis journal provides a forum for the exchange of ideas and concepts between scientists studying the microbe with those studying the host immune, cell biological, and molecular response upon colonization or infection by a microbe. In addition to primary research manuscripts, Cell Host & Microbe will publish expert analysis, commentary, and reviews on topics of current interest in the field. Topics covered include molecular and cell biology of microbes; microbial pathogenesis; host cellular and immune response to microbes; immune evasion; therapeutics, evolution, epidemiology, and natural history of microbes; vaccine design, development, and trials; and emerging pathogens.
-
Cell MetabolismThe journal provides the metabolic community a forum for the exchange of ideas and concepts and to promote cross-disciplinary research and collaboration. The scope includes diabetes, obesity, pancreatic beta cell function, adipose tissue biology (white, brown, and beige), lipid metabolism, cardiovascular biology, immunometabolism, bone homeostasis, aging and stress responses, sarcopenia, intermediary metabolism and cancer, cachexia, neuronal control of metabolism and metabolic derangements causing neurodegeneration, circadian biology, stem cell energetics, exercise metabolism, the biology of mitochondria and other metabolic organelles such as peroxisomes and the ER, etc.
-
Cell ReportsThis is an open-access journal from Cell Press that publishes papers across the entire life sciences spectrum.
-
Cell Stem CellThis journal covers the entire spectrum of stem cell biology. Topics covered include embryonic stem cells, pluripotency, germline stem cells, tissue-specific stem cells, stem cell differentiation, epigenetics, stem cell genomics and systems biology, genome reprogramming, cancer stem cells, stem cell niches, stem-cell-based disease models, nuclear transfer technology, bioengineering, drug discovery, in vivo imaging of stem cells, therapeutic applications, regenerative medicine, clinical and translational insights, stem cell research policies, ethical issues, and technical or resource-based innovations. Each issue also contains a wide variety of review and analysis articles covering topics relevant to stem cell research ranging from basic biological advances to ethical, policy, and funding issues.
-
Current BiologyThis journal publishes original research across all areas of biology. A primary aim of the journal is to foster communication across fields of biology, both by publishing findings of general interest from diverse fields and through highly accessible editorial articles that explicitly aim to inform non-specialists.
-
Developmental CellThis journal publishes papers in any area of cell biology and developmental biology. Examples include cell proliferation, intracellular targeting, cell polarity, membrane traffic, cell migration, stem cell biology, chromatin regulation and function, differentiation, morphogenesis and biomechanics, and regeneration and cellular homeostasis, as well as developmental roles of genes, cellular structural dynamics, and signaling pathways.
-
ImmunityThis journal publishes papers covering advances in immunology research. The range of subjects includes immune cell development and senescence, signal transduction, gene regulation, innate and adaptive immunity, autoimmunity, infectious disease, allergy and asthma, transplantation, and tumor immunology.
-
Journal of Nervous and Mental DiseaseThis journal is one of the world's oldest independent scientific monthly publication in the field of human behavior. Articles cover theory, etiology, therapy, social impact of illness, and research methods.
-
Molecular BiologyThis journal publishes molecular studies of Bacteria, Archaea, eukaryotic microorganisms, and their viruses. Topics include gene expression and regulation; pathogenicity and virulence; physiology and metabolism; synthesis of macromolecules (proteins, nucleic acids, lipids, polysaccharides, etc); cell biology and subcellular organization; membrane biogenesis and function; traffic and transport; cell-cell communication and signalling pathways; and evolution and gene transfer.
-
Molecular CellThis journal publishes research in molecular biology. The journal covers core cellular processes, including DNA replication, recombination, and repair; Chromatin biology and genome organization; Transcription; RNA processing and decay; Non-coding RNA function; Translation; Protein folding, modification, and quality control; Signal transduction pathways; Cell cycle and checkpoints; Cell death; Autophagy; and Metabolism.
-
Molecular MicrobiologyThis journal publishes molecular studies of Bacteria, Archaea, eukaryotic microorganisms, and their viruses. Topics covered include gene expression and regulation; pathogenicity and virulence; physiology and metabolism; synthesis of macromolecules (proteins, nucleic acids, lipids, polysaccharides, etc); cell biology and subcellular organization; membrane biogenesis and function; traffic and transport; cell-cell communication and signalling pathways; evolution; and gene transfer.
-
MycorrhizaThis journal publishes research related to mycorrhizas - the widest symbioses in nature, involving plants and a range of soil fungi world-wide. Topics covered include molecular biology of the plants and fungi; fungal systematics; development and structure of mycorrhizas; and effects on plant physiology, productivity, reproduction and disease resistance. Coverage extends to interactions between mycorrhizal fungi and other soil organisms, and effects of mycorrhizas on plant biodiversity and ecosystem structure.
-
NatureThis is a weekly international journal publishing peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology. The journal also provides news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists, and the wider public.
-
Nature BiotechnologyThis journal covers molecular engineering of nucleic acids and proteins; molecular therapy (therapeutics genes, antisense, siRNAs, aptamers, DNAzymes, ribozymes, peptides, proteins); large-scale biology (genomics, functional genomics, proteomics, structural genomics, metabolomics, etc.); computational biology (algorithms and modeling), regenerative medicine (stem cells, tissue engineering, biomaterials); imaging technology; analytical biotechnology (sensors/detectors for analytes/macromolecules), applied immunology (antibody engineering, xenotransplantation, T-cell therapies); food and agricultural biotechnology; and environmental biotechnology. Areas of interest include genetic engineering; large-scale approaches; proteomics; metabolomics; computational biology; molecular engineering; metabolic engineering; novel expression systems; delivery of genes, drugs, or cells; imaging; nucleic acid therapeutics; nanobiotechnology; vaccines and applied immunology; regenerative medicine; biosensors; assay systems; biomaterials; agbiotech and transgenic plants; pharming; and environmental biology.
-
Nature Cell BiologyThis journal publishes articles from all areas of cell biology including autophagy, cancer cell biology, cell adhesion and migration, cell cycle and cell growth, cell death, cellular and molecular mechanisms of human disease, cytoskeletal dynamics, developmental biology, DNA replication and repair, mechanobiology, membrane traffic and dynamics, metabolism, nuclear organization and dynamics, organelle biology, proteolysis and quality control, signal transduction, and stem cell biology.
-
Nature GeneticsThis journal publishes articles concerning integrative genetic topics, including genes in the pathology of human disease; molecular analysis of simple and complex genetic traits; cancer genetics; agricultural genomics; developmental genetics; regulatory variation in gene expression; strategies and technologies for extracting function from genomic data; pharmacological genomics; and genome evolution.
-
Nature MedicineThis journal publishes articles ranging from basic findings that have clear implications for disease pathogenesis and therapy to articles concerned with the earliest phases of human investigation. Topics include cancer biology, vascular biology, neuroscience, inflammatory disease, infectious disease, and metabolic disorders. The journal also reports on the latest developments in drug research and development.
-
Nature NeuroscienceThis journal publishes papers in all areas of neuroscience. This includes molecular, cellular, systems, and cognitive neuroscience, as well as psychophysics, computational modeling, and diseases of the nervous system. The journal also publishes news and views, reviews, editorials, commentaries, perspectives, book reviews and correspondence.
-
NeuronThis journal focuses on interdisciplinary strategies that integrate biophysical, cellular, developmental, and molecular approaches with a systems approach to sensory, motor, and higher-order cognitive functions.
-
Physiological MeasurementThis journal publishes papers about the quantitative assessment and visualization of physiological function in clinical research and practice, with an emphasis on the development of new methods of measurement and their validation. Individual topics include applied physiology in illness and health; electrical bioimpedance, optical, and acoustic measurement techniques; advanced methods of time series and other data analysis; biomedical and clinical engineering; in-patient and ambulatory monitoring; point-of-care technologies; novel clinical measurements of cardiovascular, neurological, and musculoskeletal systems; novel clinical measurement of flows and pressures in lung, heart and blood vessels; measurements in molecular and cellular and organ physiology and electrophysiology; physiological modeling and simulation; novel biomedical sensors, instruments, devices and systems; and measurement standards and guidelines.
-
Plant, Cell, & EnvironmentThis journal publishes research, either theoretical or experimental, that provides insights into the ways that plants respond to their environment. Topics covered include plant biochemistry, molecular biology, biophysics, cell physiology, whole plant physiology, crop physiology and physiological ecology, and structural, genetic, pathological and meteorological aspects as related to plant function.
-
StructureThis journal is of interest to structural biologists and biologists and biochemists that are interested in macromolecular structure and function.
Ask Us!
Need help? Then use the library's Ask Us service. Get help from real people face-to-face, by phone, by email, or by live chat.
