It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Broad Institute, a collaboration of MIT, Harvard and the Whitehead Institute of Biomedical Research, has released the sequenced genome of a female boxer, Tasha. The project is described in the December 8, 2005 issue of Nature.
A database of Drosophila genes and genomes with various analytical tools including BLAST and GBrowse. Developed by the Biology Department at Indiana University with funding from the National Human Genome Research Institute.
A public archive of DNA and RNA sequences that is searchable by keywords, including organism, gene name, and genome project. Do search through Entrez Nucleotide and look for accession numbers starting with letters other than N. Compare to RefSeq, listed below.
A portal to guides and tutorials that explain how to use the many tools developed to analyze the huge volume of data about the human genome. The tools explained include: Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM), National Center for Biotechnology Information's (NCBI) GenBank, and many more.
A collection of curated DNA, RNA and protein sequences that is searchable by keywords, including organism, gene name and genome project. The best sequence for each gene from an organism is chosen from GenBank, confirmed, and references from further work are added. Do search through Entrez Nucleotide and look for accession numbers containing an underscore.
"This collection of related protein sequences (clusters) consists of Reference Sequence proteins encoded by complete genomes . . . . The Protein Clusters database provides easy access to annotation information, publications, domains, structures, and external links and analysis tools including multiple alignments, phylogenetic trees, and genomic neighborhoods."
"The Universal Protein Resource (UniProt) is a comprehensive resource for protein sequence and annotation data. The UniProt databases are the UniProt Knowledgebase, the UniProt Reference Clusters, and the UniProt Archive. The UniProt Metagenomic and Environmental Sequences (UniMES) database is a repository specifically developed for metagenomic and environmental data."
A 3:11 minute video from Medical Institution.
A 2:50 minute YouTube animation from North Dakota State University Virtual Cell.
A 3:31 animation from North Dakota State University Virtual Cell.