Guides: PSCI 4700: Comparative Judicial Politics: How to Find Articles

ProQuest Political Science

ProQuest Political Science Journals includes articles from leading political science journals, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy. Dates of Coverage: 1985 - current

To access ProQuest Political Science, go to the Databases tab (circled in red below) from the blue box on the library homepage. Use the Select a Database drop down, select ProQuest Political Science (highlighted in yellow below) from the drop down menu, then click the Go button to the right (circled in red below).

Use the text box to enter your search terms. In the example, "judicial appointment" and Lebanon (highlighted in yellow below,) "judicial appointment' is placed in quotes so the database knows you want to search those two words back to back. By adding and Lebanon, the database knows you want to search for only articles that have that phrase (judicial appointment) and that word (Lebanon.) Be sure to check the Peer reviewed box (circled in red below) before selecting the blue search button to the right of the text box.

If you have questions about this resource, please ask your Political Science Librarian!

Additional Electronic Resources (Scholarly/Peer Reviewed)

Academic search complete
Academic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.
ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional Includes information on bills, laws, regulations, Congressional publications, current and previous Members of Congress, campaign finance information, financial disclosures, voting records, and committee membership. Also includes the full text of some Congressional reports, documents, and testimonies. Dates of Coverage: 1789 - present
ProQuest History Vault
ProQuest History Vault unlocks the wealth of key archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections. The collections are organized into modules within these popular subject areas. UNT is subscribed select modules and collections, and not the entire platform.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Topic areas include population demographics, vital statistics, education, law enforcement, elections, federal/state/local government finances and employment, national security and veterans affairs, social insurance and human services, labor force, poverty and wealth, business enterprise, science and technology, agriculture and natural resources, energy and utilities, construction and housing, manufactures, wholesale and retail trade, transportation, information and communications, banking and finance, arts and recreation, accommodation and food services, foreign commerce and aid, Puerto Rico and the island areas, and international statistics. Dates of Coverage: 1878 (with some data back to 1789)–2012.

PSCI 4700: Comparative Judicial Politics

ProQuest Political Science

Additional Electronic Resources (Scholarly/Peer Reviewed)

Additional Links