Guides: Women's and Gender Studies: News Articles

Evaluating News Sources

Newspapers are a great place to find information on current events that can be important to your research, just use your critical thinking skills to evaluate the source of the article to determine if it is a partisan source. For some tips on evaluating news sources, check out our Media Literacy library guide by Librarian Brea Henson.

The chart below was featured on the professional blog of journalism professor Dr. Dennis G. Jerz from Seton Hill University.

Source: Jerz, Dennis G. 2016. "Vanessa Otero’s Complex vs. Clickbait, Liberal vs. Conservative Media Chart." Jerz's Literary Blog.

If you need help finding news, please contact your Women's and Gender Studies Subject Librarian, Julie Leuzinger.

Recommended Databases for Finding News Articles

Access world news
Access World News provides full-text information from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international news sources. Includes newspapers, newsmagazines, news wires, and transcripts. Dates of Coverage: Current

NOTE: The license for this product restricts authorized use to access by current faculty and students of the University of North Texas. The person accessing this link is liable for any infringement.
CQ Press
CQ Press includes databases, online reference books, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, a source for basic information on a variety of topics, and CQ Weekly, which provides up-to-date information on the U.S. Congress and its activities. Dates of Coverage: 1929 - present (varies by source)
Ethnic newswatch
Ethnic NewsWatch covers a variety of perspectives on national and international topics that go beyond those represented in the mainstream media.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints In Context covers today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Includes pro/con essays topic overviews primary source documents biographies of social activists and reformers, periodical articles, statistical tables, and more.
Keesing's record of world events
Keesing's Record of World Events Monthly digest of worldwide political, diplomatic, and economic affairs from all regions of the world. Includes articles in Economics, History, Journalism, Multidisciplinary, and Political Science.

Women's and Gender Studies

Recommended Databases for Finding News Articles

Additional Links