Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

THEA 3070: History of Costume & Decor: Costume & Decor Images & Identification

Resources for research and identification of period costume and decor. Dr. Barbara Cox

Selected Books & DVD's

Theatre Costume and Decor Images and Identification

To find images of theatre costume and decor for research by historical period and identification, search these databases: 

*If accessing off campus, you will be asked for a username (EUID), and password (EUID password).

Historic Costume e-Books

Use these highly illustrated ebooks to find images of the costumes and clothing people were wearing in different historic periods. To open the book, just click on the book cover or title and then the link "Connect to Online Resource" or the "Find It" button. *If you are accessing off campus, you will be asked for an EUID and EUID password before the book will open. 
 

Books for Images and the Identification of Costume and Decor

The reference books listed below are full of images of costume and décor images by time period. 
 

Survey of Historic Costume 
GT580 .T67 1998

20,000 Years of Fashion (Boucher)
GT510 .B6713 1967a

The Guide to Historic Costume
GT507 .B33 1955

Encyclopedia of World Costume (Yarwood)
GT507 .Y37

The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Costume and Fashion: from 1066 to the Present
GT730 .C37 1994

Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
GT507 .E53 2005

The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Costume and Fashion 1550-1920
GT585 .C37 1986 

Encyclopaedia of Fashion
GT507 .O53 1986

Esquire's Encyclopedia of 20th Century Men's Fashions
TT617 .S36

Evolution of Fashion
GT510 .H5 1987

The Face of the Century: 100 Years of Makeup and Style
GT2340 .D43 1995

Fashion: From Ancient Egypt to the Present Day
391 C767f

Fashion in Costume, 1200-2000
GT511 .N85 2000

Fashions in Hair (Corson)
GT2290 .C6 1970

Fashions in Makeup (Corson)
GT2340 .C67

Men's Fashion: The Complete Source Book
GT1710 .P43 1996

20th Century Fashion
GT596 .P433 1993

Contemporary Fashion
TT505.A1 C66 2002

Visual History of Costume
GT733 .V57 1989

More Costumes for the Stage
GT1741. J323 1993

American Costume, 1915-1970: A Source Book for the Stage Costume
PN2067.03 1982

Costume on the Stage, 1640-1940
GT1741.D4 1982

Architecture and Ornament: A Visual Guide
NA31 .W44 1990

Elements of style: Encyclopedia of Interior Architectural Details, 1485 to Present
NA2850 .E44 1991

History of interior design & furniture: from ancient Egypt to 19th century Europe
NK1710 .B57 1997

World furniture; an illustrated history
NK2270 .H3

Furniture: world styles from classical to contemporary
NK2235 .M54 2005

17th-century men's dress patterns, 1600-1630
TT617 .B73 2016

How to read a suit: a guide to changing men's fashion from the 17th to the 20th century
TT504 .E385 2020eb

Waistcoats: from the Hopkins collection c.1720-1950
TT615 .H67 2017

Footwear: shoes and boots from the Hopkins Collection
GT2130 .H67 2015

Fashion in detail: from the 17th and 18th centuries
GT585 .H37 1998

Historical pattern archive: womens's clothing 1837-1969
TT520 .B54 2020

The American duchess guide to 18th century dressmaking: how to hand sew Georgian gowns and wear them with style
TT520 .S887 2017

The American duchess guide to 18th century beauty: 40 projects for period-accurate hairstyles, makeup and accessories
RA778 .S8295 2019

18th-century fashion in detail
GT736 .N67 2018

Fashioning fashion: European dress in detail, 1700-1915
GT720 .T35 2010

Costume and Decor Indenification and Images: Online

Additional Links

top