Guides: THEA 3070: History of Costume & Decor: Audiovisual & Streaming

Audiovisual Resources: Overview

The UNT Media Library contains nearly 35,000 physical audiovisual items and the Libraries also provide online access to approximately 7,000 audiovisual resources through electronic database subscriptions.

About the Media Library: http://www.library.unt.edu/media

The collection includes a number helpful resources for students studying costume and decor, including original documents and primarily resources (documentary films, newsreel footage, ethnographic footage) as well as creative works and performances (period dramas, recorded theatrical performances).

Starting top right, clockwise: As You Like It (1936) ; Craft In America (2007); "Various shots of fashion & beauty" from Video Encyclopedia of the 20th Century (1929); She Stoops to Conquer (2003)

Streaming Video Databases

The following databases contain a large number of streaming videos of plays, documentaries, interviews and dance performances.
If accessing off campus, you will be asked for your EUID and EUID password before you can enter the databases.

Digital Theatre Plus
Digital Theatre Plus provides access to a digital streaming video collection of films of current, leading British theatre productions. It includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources. Learning resources include an introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analyses, scene study, performance background, and historical context for each play.
Alexander Street Press
Theatre offerings from Alexander Street include performances American, European, Asian, and other worldwide dramatists from the past several centuries, documentaries and interviews with actors and dramatists that discuss acting methods, and the theatre history.
National Theatre Collection
National Theatre Collection brings the stage to life through access to high definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, this collection offers a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive. As a supplement to the filmed productions, digitized archival materials such as photographs, scripts, costume designs, and more are available to provide behind-the-scenes background and contextual information.
Theatre in video
Theatre In Video contains more than 500 hours of online streaming video covering performances of the world's leading plays as well as documentaries on productions, experimental performances and interviews by hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Dates of Coverage: 1930s– Current.
Kanopy
Titles not yet licensed can be requested by searching the Kanopy platform and filling out the form requesting access to the title that you need. Media Library staff will receive and process these requests as quickly as possible. The form requires your name, email address, and a brief explanation for your request. If you are selecting a film for a specific course please include when you will be teaching the course and whether or not the movie you need will continue to be assigned in future semesters. Most licenses on Kanopy expire after one year so future access will be contingent upon extending or renewing licenses.
Opera in video
Opera in Video Contains some of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a works importance to the operatic canon. Presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas. Multiple performances and stagings worldwide allow for analysis of stage design, vocal techniques, roles, and musical interpretation across time periods, opera houses, and conductors. Performances cover the full range of operatic composition, from Baroque to 20th century. Streaming video. Dates of Coverage: 1980s - present
Dance in video
Dance in Video contains dance videos that are documentary, editorial, and instructional. Also includes performance, interview and general reference videos. Features dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance, including awide range of genres including Avante-garde, American Indian and Scottish Highland. Dates of Coverage: Current.
Ambrose video 2.0
Ambrose Video 2.0 provides access to video productions of 37 Shakespeare plays produced by the BBC between the years of 1978 - 1984. Each play is broken down into acts and is closed captioned.

BroadwayHD
Many BroadwayHD productions are in Academic Video Online (AVON) database. Just type BroadwayHD in the search box to see all BroadwayHD productions.

Streaming and Other Audiovisual Materials from the UNT Media Library

Streaming Video from the Media Library
Search here to limit to only streaming video from the UNT Media Library. Once you click on a film or other media, you will be asked for your EUID and EUID password (if accessing off campus), before the video will begin to stream from your computer, tablet or phone.
Just type a word in the box for your topic of interest. Example: Shakespeare, "Taming of the Shrew"

UNT Media Library Collection
To search ALL audiovisual materials, DVDs, CDs, streaming, etc..

Keyword Search

A basic way to search on a topic.
Hint: Use "AND" or "OR" between keywords to create a more complex search. Example: "costume design" AND "China"
Keyword search examples: Costume; Costume Design AND Theater; Costume History; Architecture; Decoration AND Ornament, Decorative Arts

Title Search
A basic way to search for a specific film title.

Author Search
Author searches can be used to search by name of writers, creators or performers.
Search Example: Be sure to search the "Last Name, First Name" of the author: Example: Albee, Edward

University Libraries

THEA 3070: History of Costume & Decor: Audiovisual & Streaming

Audiovisual Resources: Overview

Streaming Video Databases

Streaming Video Databases

Streaming and Other Audiovisual Materials from the UNT Media Library

Streaming and Other Audiovisual Materials from the UNT Media Library

Other Video Resources

THEA 3070: History of Costume & Decor: Audiovisual & Streaming

Audiovisual Resources: Overview

Streaming Video Databases

Streaming Video Databases

Streaming and Other Audiovisual Materials from the UNT Media Library

Streaming and Other Audiovisual Materials from the UNT Media Library

Other Video Resources

Additional Links