Guides: Public Administration: Videos

Find streaming films in the library collection

Faculty, please alert your subject librarian to any streaming films not found in the library collection, that you would like to use in your teaching. Streaming film rights can be purchased for your classes, if enough advanced notice is provided. Be aware that sometimes the licensing process for streaming films can take months.

To search the library's collection of streaming films by topic or to search for a specific title, the most comprehensive way is to search the "books and more" tab on www.library.unt.edu by keyword or by title. Then use the facets on the left side of the page to narrow by Resource Type to "video/film". Then limit the Format or Media Type to "digital files" for streaming film content only.

You may also choose to search or browse within some of the streaming film databases below. All of the streaming titles contained in these databases are indexed in the library catalog (the "books and more" tab on library.unt.edu)

Kanopy
Titles not yet licensed can be requested by searching the Kanopy platform and filling out the form requesting access to the title that you need. Media Library staff will receive and process these requests as quickly as possible. The form requires your name, email address, and a brief explanation for your request. If you are selecting a film for a specific course please include when you will be teaching the course and whether or not the movie you need will continue to be assigned in future semesters. Most licenses on Kanopy expire after one year so future access will be contingent upon extending or renewing licenses.
Docuseek2
Docuseek 2 provides access to more than 400 streaming documentary films on a wide range of social science and humanities topics, with a strong focus on social issues, environmental studies and political science.
Swank Digital Campus
Swank Digital Campus provides legal access to course-related films. Includes feature films, documentaries, and films on many topics.
Academic video online
Academic Video Online is a multidisciplinary video collection that provides access to more than 67,000 videos covering subject areas including anthropology, business, cousenling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Select streaming films

Bibliographies of Selected Videos

The lists below are selected bibliographies of DVDs and streaming films from the UNT Libraries. The documents contains links that take you directly to the UNT Library Catalog where you can read more about a video's content.

Select DVDs at the UNT Libraries

Faculty: The library collection still contains many physical format films, for which streaming may not be available. You can book DVDs for your course through the library catalog, by clicking on the "Faculty book this item for a class" link inside each film's detailed catalog record.

Students: You can check out these DVDs at the Chilton Media Library, according to its borrowing policy.