Guides: Grantseeking Resources: Funding for Artists

Grants, Fellowships, and Residencies

Pivot
Pivot is available to all UNT community members and can be accessed via pivot.cos.com from anywhere. Create an account (with your UNT e-mail address as your username) to use all the functionality of the database. Pivot contains profiles for funding opportunities for organizations and individuals. Funders present in Pivot include: professional organizations, foundations, corporations, U.S. federal and state/local government funding agencies, and academic institutions.
Res Artis
An association of over 650 centers, organisations, and individuals in over 70 countries. Provides a free, searchable directory of residency opportunities.
Alliance of Artists Communities
The Alliance provides advocacy, networking and professional development opportunities for artists, funding partnerships, and a free directory of residencies.

Training/Tips

Proposal Writing -- Candid Learning
On Candid's Learning site, review free recorded webinars, sample documents, upcoming training events, and proposal writing Q & A.
FiscalSponsorship.com
An authoritative site by Gregory L. Colvin, nonprofit attorney and author of Fiscal Sponsorship: 6 Ways to Do It Right. This site includes highlights from the book, sample agreements, and additional resources.

Requests for Proposals/Calls for Artists

CaFÉ -- CallForEntry.org
Calls for shows, exhibitions, and residencies, grants, and awards. Search and apply for free once you have set up a free account.
TheArtGuide.com
Provides a list of calls (and some grants) for artists. Artist can apply directly through the organization offering the call. Free to search and apply to calls.
PublicArtist.org
PublicArtist.org administers public art applications on behalf of organizations. It's free to search the directory and apply for opportunities once you've set up a free account.
ArtDeadline.com
A source for artists seeking income and exhibition opportunities, ArtDeadline.com receives and publishes more opportunities and event listings per day than any other online or print publication.
There is a subscription fee ($14 per year for students) to view opportunities.
Art Opportunities Monthly
Art Opportunities Monthly (AOM) is a carefully screened art opportunities list for traditional and contemporary artists working in visual medium. It is for those working in any style or geographic location and is available as a PDF by email. A comprehensive monthly list is offered at $30 a year.
AOM also offers a free monthly opportunity list, AOMFree: http://www.artopportunitiesmonthly.com/freeversion.html.
Sign up with your email and they send you opportunities every month.

Fiscal Sponsorships

Fiscal sponsorship is a formal arrangement in which a 501(c)(3) public charity sponsors a project that may lack exempt status. This alternative to starting your own nonprofit allows you to seek grants and solicit tax-deductible donations under your sponsor's exempt status. When applying for fiscal sponsorship, you will often need to provide a proposal that explains:

Your project: Why it’s needed, and its goals, objectives, method, evaluation, staffing, and budget. This is similar to a grant proposal.
How it advances the nonprofit’s mission.
Other ways the nonprofit can benefit from being associated with your project.

Some examples of fiscal sponsorship programs and a resource for searching for fiscal sponsorships are below.

Fractured Atlas fiscal sponsorship
Fractured Atlas empowers artists, arts organizations, and other cultural sector stakeholders by eliminating practical barriers to artistic expression, so as to foster a more agile and resilient cultural ecosystem.
National Performance Network/Visual Artists Network
Fiscal Sponsorship provides nonprofit status and financial and administrative services to artists and artist collectives. By managing sponsorships, NPN/VAN offers accessibility so that artists gain experience with, and support through, formal granting systems and private giving that provide financial stability to artists while they practice their art. Offers fiscal sponsorship to local and national artists and collectives
Fiscal Sponsorship Directory
The Directory is a free resource for fiscal sponsors, projects looking for fiscal sponsors and the general public. It's maintained by San Francisco Study Center Inc.

Professional Organizations

College Art Association of America
CAA’s Professional Development Fellowships program supports promising artists, designers, craftspersons, historians, curators, and critics who are enrolled in MFA, PhD, and other terminal degree programs nationwide. Fellows are honored with $10,000 grants to help them with various aspects of their work, whether for job-search expenses or purchasing materials for the studio.
National Association of Independent Artists
A resource for the art show community, The NAIA provides a forum for artists to communicate with one another and other people in the arts community. They support existing community-based shows to make/keep them a viable market for selling art and crafts.

Local arts organizations

Greater Denton Arts Council
The Arts Council provides foundational support for Denton’s artists and community arts organizations and collaborates frequently with area universities, the Denton Independent School District, and the City of Denton. The Arts Council presents a full schedule of programs and exhibitions in its flagship facility in historic downtown Denton, the Patterson-Appleton Center Arts Center.
Denton Music & Arts Collective
Features health care assistance and a mentorship program for local artists.
Artists Enclave of Denton County
A networking nonprofit organization for artists and supporters to meet, exchange ideas, collaborate and participate in the growing creative world of Denton County.

Grantseeking Resources: Funding for Artists