Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Grantseeking Resources: Candid Grant Databases

guide to grant seeking resources available via the UNT Libraries and beyond

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online (Subscription)

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online is available on the desktop computers inside the Sycamore Library in Sycamore Hall. Google Chrome browser must be used to access this database. It provides details on funders that provide scholarships, fellowships, grants, and a wide range of financial support to individuals

Finding IRS 990s (Free)

The 990-PF is the information return that U.S. private foundations file with the Internal Revenue Service. It provides:

  • foundation's financial data
  • trustee and officer names
  • list of grants awarded during the fiscal year

 

Access to this information is also available through the Foundation Directory Online Quick Start and via 990 Finder.

Foundation Directory Online Quick Start (Free)

The free version of the Foundation Directory Online, Quick Start - http://foundationcenter.org/find-funding/fdo-quick-start - is accessible from anywhere and provides free, public access to essential information about over 100,000 foundations and over 250,000 IRS Forms 990-PF.

You can search by grantmaker name, state, or zip code. Funder profiles include:

Address and contact information
Fields of interest
Program areas
Fiscal information

Foundation Directory Online (Subscription)

Foundation Directory Online

Foundation Directory Online contains profiles for grantmakers who fund organizations and includes:

  • Over 140,000 foundations, corporate donors, and grantmaking public charities
  • Over 3.2 million recent grants
  • Over half a million indexed trustee, officer, and donor names
  • Over 1 million IRS 990s—fully keyword-searchable
  • 54 search fields including keyword search
  • Detailed grantmaker profiles including contact information, key financial data, application information, and more

Foundation Directory Online Professional is available to UNT and non-UNT community members in-person on the desktop computers inside the Sycamore Library. For non-UNT users, Sycamore Library has two dedicated community use stations. If you need help finding these community-use computers stations, please ask at our service desk.

To access FDO Professional, from the Sycamore Library computers, you can click through the link above or go to library.unt.edu, click on the "Databases" tab, search for the database name, and click through to FDO. Please contact the subject librarian if you experience any trouble accessing the database.

Foundation Directory Online video tutorials

Free FDO Essential for Nonprofits

If your nonprofit’s annual revenue or expenses total less than $500,000 and you earn a Gold Seal of Transparency or higher, you can receive a free year of access to Foundation Directory Essential through Candid’s Go for the Gold promotion.

Here’s how:

Step 1: Update your nonprofit profile to earn a 2022 Gold Seal

Step 2: Contact GoForGold@candid.org with your organization's name and EIN number to receive a special coupon code for Foundation Directory Online Essential

Step 3: Subscribe to Foundation Directory Online Essential and enter your coupon code at checkout to get access to your complimentary annual subscription

(Please note: you must use a credit card in order to redeem the coupon, do not choose "check option" as the payment method.)

Additional Links

top