Skip to main content

Government Information Connection: History Portal

Resources in the Government Documents Department for History students. Includes resources in all formats.

Welcome to the Government Information Connection: History Portal

The UNT Libraries' Government Documents Collection in the Eagle Commons Library includes over 1 million items, in a variety of formats: electronic, print, microform, audiovisual, musical scores, maps, posters, DVDs, LPs, CD-ROMs, and digital-born documents.  Though we have only been an official Federal Depository Library since 1947, we have acquired documents going back to the founding of the U.S. and the State of Texas.

  • In 1994, our Depository was designated an electronic Gateway for the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO).
     
  • Through the Internet, we can now provide the whole world with directed access to full-text federal, state, local, foreign, and international government information.
     
  • Our primary mission as a Federal Depository Library remains the same today as it was fifty years ago: Provide free public access to information produced by the government.

Databases - History - General

 

Databases - History - Government Information Focus

The UNT Digital Library

The UNT Digital Library, created by Digital Projects, http://digital.library.unt.edu/ contains a vast quantity of historical documents.

To browse, use this URL: http://digital.library.unt.edu/explore/partners/UNTGD/browse/ Once in, search by Collection.

You may also need to go to the Portal to Texas History. See the detailed description on the Texas tab of this guide.

Older Documents

Most of our older documents are not easily found in the online catalog. WorldCat might be a good place to search if you don’t find something in the UNT catalog. Please keep in mind that we actually have a lot of the older documents that are cataloged in WorldCat, but they won’t show as available in our library. WorldCat is a UNT Libraries’ subscription.

If this is confusing, we'll be happy to help you. Just ask at the Service Desk.

Additional Links

top