Your subject librarian is here to help!
If you have any questions about finding or accessing library resources, don't hesitate to reach out to the College of Applied and Collaborative Studies subject librarian Emily Murley or make an appointment for research assistance.
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia articles provide background and historical information on a topic.
-
Oxford reference onlineOxford Reference Online Provides full text access to numerous dictionaries and encyclopedias by Oxford University Press as well as selected titles from the Oxford Companion series. Dates of Coverage 2002 - Current
Oxford Reference Online includes access to Oxford Companion to Beer and Oxford Companion to Wine
Handbooks
Handbooks provide practical information on a topic.
-
The Brewer's Handbook: The Complete Book to Brewing Beer
by
"In the past two decades we have witnessed unprecedented changes in the U.S. beer industry. The emergence of craft brewers and consumers' newfound appreciation for quality beer have resulted in what is often called the "Craft Beer Renaissance." Beer has taken on a new excitement and relevancy to the average person. It is no longer thought of only in the context of large commercial brewers with their mass-marketed beers. The marked increase in the number of brew pubs and microbreweries and the burgeoning growth in the number of home brewers indicate how deeply brewing beer has captured the popular imagination. The Brewer's Handbook is intended to provide an introduction to brewing beer, and to give a balanced, reasonably detailed account of every major aspect of the brewing process. This book not only discusses brewing beer on a large-scale commercial basis, it has made every effort to address brewing practices typically used by craft brewers. Thus, its applicability extends to home brewers and to individuals working in the brewing industry and related fields. The information in this easy-to-use reference guide is distilled from a variety of sources, including scientific literature, extension publications, and brewer experience and has the added value of numerous citations to more in-depth discussion on many topics. The book is thoughtfully organized presenting a seamless flow of topics within chapters making it easy to find specific information that interests the reader. The Brewer's Handbook has removed some of the intuition and guesswork in brewing beer. The result is a more consistent product of higher average quality level. It is written in a language that can be easily understood by anyone not having a background in brewing beer. Clarity is the touchstone that has been employed throughout this book"-- [Publisher's site]
Call Number: TP570 .G73 2024 -
The Grape Grower's Handbook: A Guide to Viticulture for Wine Production
by
"Updated and revised to keep pace with developments, the third edition of Grape Grower's Handbook: a Guide to Viticulture for Wine Production is meant to be a stand-alone publication that describes all aspects of wine grape production. The book is written in a nontechnical format designed to be practical and well-suited for vineyard applications."-- [Back cover]
Call Number: HD9259.G69 G66 2018