Your subject librarian is here to help!
If you have any questions about finding or accessing library resources, don't hesitate to reach out to the College of Applied and Collaborative Studies subject librarian Emily Murley or make an appointment for research assistance.
Welcome!
Welcome to the research guide for Enology and Brewing resources available through UNT Libraries.
Use the tabs along the side to find out more about the following resources:
- Reference sources, such as encyclopedias, handbooks and dictionaries, are a good place to start your research because they provide:
- background on a topic
- historical research
- potential keywords for your catalog and database searches
- Books in both print and electronic format provide:
- in-depth coverage of a topic, broad in scope and usually historical
- information that is two to three years old by the publication date
- indexes where you can check if the book contains your topic
- Articles in both print and electronic format provide:
- the most current source of peer-reviewed information
- focused research, narrow in scope
- literature review
-
- information on legislative or regulatory aspects of a topic
- licensing and permit requirements
- Industry research databases provide:
- industry overviews
- company information
- information on industry trends and statistics
Course Textbooks
The following textbooks for Enology & Brewing courses have been made available through the library.
Print Books
These texts are available for 2 hour checkout at the Frisco Landing Library Service Desk:
-
Craft Beverage Business Management
by
The Craft Beer Market Has Grown 16% During 2015- Brewers Association, Boulder, CO Craft Beverage Business Management addresses the unique challenges, primary tools, and advice for craft beverage entrepreneurs. Future entrepreneurs need to find a way to stand out from the crowded and exponentially-growing craft beverage industry. One can stand out by understanding the ropes of the business, becoming an expert, and finally, getting ahead of his/her competitors. There's no better place to start than with Craft Beverage Business Management. Craft Beverage Business Management helps readers gain a better understanding of: estimating the profitability of the business and specific decisions with simplified calculations the high demand for business skills in the craft industry and why they are crucial to your success. the key elements and the chief purpose of a business plan. craft beverage marketing, distribution, financing and accounting. the different trends affecting the industry. the importance of finding uniqueness for your business within a popular market. For Instructors, supporting classroom materials are available such as PowerPoints, quizzes, and suggested assignments.
Call Number: HD9397.A2 P85 2016ISBN: 9781465298164Publication Date: 2016-06-30 -
The Brewer's Handbook: The Complete Book to Brewing Beer
by
"In the past two decades we have witnessed unprecedented changes in the U.S. beer industry. The emergence of craft brewers and consumers' newfound appreciation for quality beer have resulted in what is often called the "Craft Beer Renaissance." Beer has taken on a new excitement and relevancy to the average person. It is no longer thought of only in the context of large commercial brewers with their mass-marketed beers. The marked increase in the number of brew pubs and microbreweries and the burgeoning growth in the number of home brewers indicate how deeply brewing beer has captured the popular imagination. The Brewer's Handbook is intended to provide an introduction to brewing beer, and to give a balanced, reasonably detailed account of every major aspect of the brewing process. This book not only discusses brewing beer on a large-scale commercial basis, it has made every effort to address brewing practices typically used by craft brewers. Thus, its applicability extends to home brewers and to individuals working in the brewing industry and related fields. The information in this easy-to-use reference guide is distilled from a variety of sources, including scientific literature, extension publications, and brewer experience and has the added value of numerous citations to more in-depth discussion on many topics. The book is thoughtfully organized presenting a seamless flow of topics within chapters making it easy to find specific information that interests the reader. The Brewer's Handbook has removed some of the intuition and guesswork in brewing beer. The result is a more consistent product of higher average quality level. It is written in a language that can be easily understood by anyone not having a background in brewing beer. Clarity is the touchstone that has been employed throughout this book"-- [Publisher's site]
Call Number: TP570 .G73 2024ISBN: 9780967521237Publication Date: 2008-09-01 -
The Grape Grower's Handbook: A Guide to Viticulture for Wine Production
by
"Updated and revised to keep pace with developments, the third edition of Grape Grower's Handbook: a Guide to Viticulture for Wine Production is meant to be a stand-alone publication that describes all aspects of wine grape production. The book is written in a nontechnical format designed to be practical and well-suited for vineyard applications."-- [Back cover]
Call Number: HD9259.G69 G66 2018Publication Date: 2018
Ebooks
These texts are available online:
-
A Complete Guide to Quality in Small-Scale Wine Making
by
A Complete Guide to Quality in Small-Scale Wine Making, Second Edition is the first and only book to focus specifically on the challenges relevant to non-industrial scale production of optimal wine with a scientifically rigorous approach. Fully revised and updated with new insights on the importance of all aspects of the production of consistent, quality wine, this book includes sections on organic wine production, coverage of the selection and culturing of yeast, and the production of sparkling, 'methode champenois' and fortified wines. The new edition includes insights into the latest developments in flavor chemistry, production protocols, NIR and FTIR for multipurpose analysis and microplate and PCR procedures, and IR methods for essential analysis among others. Written by an expert team with real-world experience and with a multi-cultural approach, this text will provide a complete guide to all the stages of the winemaking process and evaluation, and clearly explains the chemistry that underpins it all.
Call Number: TP548 .C658 2023ebISBN: 9780323992879Publication Date: 2023-08-18
