Conditional fields are the last fields on the form and relate to specific things and places. In most cases, at least one is applicable to a transaction.

Conditional fields that are not applicable are left blank (not indicated by Other).

Department is the department that you work for.

1. Access Services - The person entering the transaction works in the Access Services department.

2. Discovery Park - The person entering the transaction works in the Discovery Park Library.

3. LLS - The person entering the transaction works in the Library Learning Services department.

4. LRSS - The person entering the transaction works in the Library Research Support Services department.

5. Media - The person entering the transaction works in the Media Library.

6. Music - The person entering the transaction works in the Music Library. 

7. Scholarly Communication - The person entering the transaction works in the Scholarly Communication department. 

8. Spark - The person entering the transaction works in the Spark.

9. Special Collections - The person entering the transaction works in the Special Collections department.

10. Sycamore - The person entering the transaction works in Sycamore Library.

11. Other - The person entering the transaction works in a department that does not fall into the listed categories.

Your Role is who you are! If you are unsure what role to select, ask your supervisor for guidance.

1. Student Assistant - The person entering the transaction is a student assistant. Student assistants (graduate and undergraduate), employed on an hourly basis whose wages are paid from funds from the library budget or from an account(s) within the institution, including the Federal Work-Study Program. [NISO 39.7-2013, section 3.7].

2. GSA - The person entering the transaction is a Graduate Student Assistant.

3. Staff - The person entering the transaction is an employee who is a staff member.

4. Librarian - The person entering the transaction is an employee who is a librarian.

5. Other - The person entering the transaction does not fall into any of the categories below.

Time is for how long the transaction took. You can select unresolved if you are waiting for a follow-up.

1. 0-5 minutes - The length of the transaction was between 0 and 5 minutes.

2. 5-15 minutes - The length of the transaction was between 5 and 15 minutes.

3. 15-30 minutes - The length of the transaction was between 15 and 30 minutes.

4. 30 - 60 minutes - The length of the transaction was between 30 and 60 minutes.

5. 60 minutes + - The length of the transaction was longer than an hour.

6. Unresolved - The transaction was unresolved.

Service includes activities that library staff may provide on a regular basis, or by request, according to library policy. Information services are not included as service options and should be recorded by selecting the appropriate question or activity type. 

1. Multiple - Transactions that cover multiple library services.

2. Access/Accounts - Transaction related to a patron's library account or a patron's access to library accounts and services.

3. Booking/Reservation - Transactions related to reserving spaces within the libraries for groups/gatherings.

4. Borrow/Return/Renew -Transactions related to borrowing, returning, or renewing library resources.

   1. Borrow - to obtain an item or resource on a loan period from the UNT Libraries.

   2. Return - to give the item back to the UNT Libraries.

   3. Renew - to extend the checkout period on a material.

5. Donation - A gift worth monetary value that benefits the university or libraries.

6. Fine/Lost/Damaged - Transactions related to fines, lost book procedures, or damaged book procedures.

   1. Fine - charged added to patron account for lost/damaged/late items.

   2. Lost - patron has misplaced the item and cannot find it in order to return it.

   3. Damaged - item is disfigured or the integrity of the book/item is not good enough to keep the item in circulation.

7. Hold/Deliver/Pickup - Transactions related to putting library resources on hold or having them delivered, this includes faculty delivery and distance learning delivery services.

   1. Pickup - held item is retrieved by a patron at a library service desk.

8. Hours/Directions - Questions about library hours or questions about directions to a library space or library.

9. ILL/Doc Del - Transactions related to ILL or Document Delivery.

   1. ILL - Interlibrary Loan; service in which materials that UNT Libraries do not have in the collections can be requested from other participating libraries.

   2. Document Delivery - A service fulfills requests from UNT Libraries collections.

10. Printing - Assistance with printing services, accounts, and printer technology in the library.

11. Purchase - Questions about a resource acquisition in the library.

12. Referral/Report - Transactions that require a patron to be redirected to another source (e.g. another library department, subject librarian, or the UNT bookstore, etc.).

13. Reserves - Transactions related to the course reserves service (e.g. placing or removing materials on reserve for a faculty member)

14. Resources (create/edit) - Requests for library-created resources (e.g. LibGuides, webpages, catalog records) to be created or modified.

15. Rights Mgmt./Copyright - Questions about citing sources, "Fair Use" of resources, or requests to purchase rights for intended use - Service that assists faculty, students, staff, and community members in understanding copyright law (including fair use), plagiarism, and publisher agreements and other contracts for transfer or licensing of material protected by copyright.

16. Scan/Digize/Transcribe - Transactions related to the scanning or digitizing of materials - ( e.g. creating digital resources from physical resources and making them text-readable.)

17. Scholarly Co./Data Mgmt. - Transactions related to scholarly communication (e.g. publishing, peer-review process).

    1. Scholarly Communication - A service that helps with publishing scholarly works and academic communication.

    2. Data Management - A service that helps with planning and developing a data management plan, collecting and storing data, processing, uploading, and retrieving data, analyzing data and publishing research results, storing data for long-term access or archiving"

18. SC Aeon/Oral History - Transactions related to Special Collections services. 

    1. Aeon - An integrated library system (ILS) that keeps records of archival materials in Special Collections and their use of them.

    2. Oral History - Program run by the Department of History, CLASS, and UNT Libraries that records, transcribes, and archives oral history interviews covering a wide variety of subject matter in order to preserve local, state, and U.S. history. The program is separate from Special Collections, but the items are housed in Special Collections and can be requested through Aeon.

19. Troubleshoot - Transactions related to access issues or troubleshooting electronic resources or equipment.

20. Other - Miscellaneous transactions related to library services.

Items (not technology) and resources that are offered or assisted with.

1. Multiple - The transaction covered multiple resource types.

2. Article - Questions about journal articles that can be found electronically through the UNT library catalog.

3. Audio/Film (Physical) - Questions about physical audio or films, that can be reviewed or checked out through the UNT Libraries, such as movies, sound bytes, or documentaries.

4. Audio/Film (streaming) - Questions about audio or film that can be found through the UNT library catalog but can only be viewed or streamed online.

5. Audiobooks - Questions about books available through audio recordings. 

6. Book - Questions about physical books. 

7. Course Reserve/Textbook - Questions about textbooks (technical writing material used to teach a course) or course reserves (resources put on reserve by professors for student use, such as textbooks, journal articles, and scanned materials).

8. Database - Questions about databases. NISO describes databases as the collection of electronically stored data or unit records (facts, bibliographic data, and texts) with a common user interface and software for the retrieval and manipulation of the data.

9. Data Set/Data - Questions about data or data sets.

10. E-Book - Questions about electronic books.

11. E-Journal - Questions about electronic journals.

12. Game(table) - Questions about tabletop and board games.

13. Game(video) - Questions about video games.

14. Gov.Info. - Questions about government information and documents. 

15. Journal/Magazine - Questions about print journals or magazines.

16. Map/Image - Questions about maps. NISO describes maps as materials representing in whole or in part the Earth or any celestial body.

17. Microfilm - Questions about microfilm. NISO describes microfilm as photographic reproductions of textual, tabular, or graphic material reduced in size for magnification use.

18. Music - Questions about music-related resources such as music scores or music recordings.

19. Newspaper - Questions about print newspapers, or newspaper articles.

20. Reference Materials - Questions about reference material.

21. SC Archive (object & document) - Questions about archival material that are objects or documents.

22. SC Media (film &image) - Questions about archival material that are films or images.

23. SC Oral History - Questions about oral history resources.

24. SC Rare Book - Questions about rare books such as books that are not available for checkout and can only be viewed with the library.

25. Thesis/Dissertation - Questions about thesis or dissertations.

26. UNT Digital Library - Questions about resources available in the UNT Digital Library.

27. Other - Questions about other resource types. Enter more details into the Internal Note field.

Includes equipment and software that are offered. Some options include all items offered by a department, such as Spark equipment and Media Library equipment.

1. Multiple - Transactions related to multiple technology services within UNT Libraries.

2. Laptop - Transactions related to personal laptop computers (e.g. laptops available for check out on a first-come, first-serve basis.)

3. Printer - Transactions related to UNT library printers or the UNT printing website.

4. 3-D Printer - Transactions related to 3-D printers (e.g. printers that build 3-D items, located that are at The Spark.)

5. Calculator - Transactions related to checking out calculators from the service desk.

6. Charger/Cable - Transactions related to checking out chargers or cables.

7. Computer - Transactions related to computer use and availability in the libraries.

8. Equip.ADA - Transactions related to the equipment available in the libraries that accommodate persons living with disabilities and make library use accessible.

9. Equip.Gaming - Transactions related to gaming consoles and accessories that can be checked out from the Media Library or Discovery Park.

10. Equip. Media/Music - Transactions related to multimedia (movies, music, etc.) materials that can be checked out from the libraries.

11. Equip. Recording/Photo - Transactions related to photography equipment that can be checked out from The Spark.

12. Equip. Spark - Transactions related to The Spark. (e.g. a division within UNT libraries that provides technology circulation and education for UNT students and faculty.)

13. Headphones - Transactions related to headphones rentals. (e.g. In-ear devices that can be used to listen to audio on phones, computers, etc.)

14. Hot Spot - Transactions related to WiFi hotspots.  (e.g. wireless devices used to connect phones, tablets, or computers to the internet)

15. Program/Software - Transactions related to software and systems such as Lockdown, Microsoft Office, and Adobe- Sets of instructions, data or programs used to operate computers and execute specific tasks

16. Proxy/VPN/Nework - Transactions related to using or troubleshooting proxy or VPN.

    1. Proxy server - A gateway that connects external users to internal resources.

    2. VPN - Virtual Private Network, allows for secure browsing on an undetectable network.

    3. Network - Interconnected computers that can exchange data.

17. Reservation System - Transactions related to the reservation platform in which patrons can reserve spaces within the libraries.

18. Ref.Manager (Refworks) - Transactions related to RefWorks, (e.g. a Web-based reference manager that allows users to create personal databases of references and documents for both academic and personal use.)

19. Scanner/Microfilm Scanner - Transactions related to scanning materials with document scanners.

    1. Microfilm Scanner - scanner that allows viewing of microfilm rolls on a computer and can scan pages on the microfilm.

20. Self-Checkout Machine - Transactions related to the self-checkout machine - a kiosk where patrons can check out their own materials and pay fines.

21. Website/Catalog/Guide - Transactions related to the use of the library's website, catalogs, or guides.

22. Wi-Fi/Internet - Transactions related to internet access within the libraries.

23. UNT System - Transactions related to UNT System - Network of all UNT-affiliated services.

24. Other - Miscellaneous transactions related to library technology.

Space includes uniquely identified areas within the library and places outside the library where events may occur. These options should be considered when a question or activity is about the space, there is no need to record the space where the transaction took place. 

1. Multiple - Used when transaction covers more than one space.

2. Bathroom - Used when a transaction is related to restroom facilities.

3. Book/Media Dropbox - Used when a transaction is related to the drop boxes available around UNT for remote library resource drop-off.

4. Classroom - Used when a transaction is related to rooms available for classes, lectures, or workshops.

5. Floor - Used when a transaction is related to a specific floor within a library branch.

6. Library - Used when a transaction is related to UNT libraries or a specific branch of a UNT library.

7. Mailroom - Used when a transaction is related to a library branch mailroom.

8. Media/Gaming Station - Used when a transaction is related to a library branch's media/gaming stations.

9. Printing Station - Used when a transaction is related to printing station services.

10. Room/Pod - Used when a transaction is related to a reservable room or study pod that is not a classroom or general library space.

11. Service Desk - Used when a transaction is related to a library branch's service desk.

12. SC Reading Room - Used when a transaction is related to the Special Collections reading room.

13. Spark - Used when a transaction is related to a Spark department space such as the Spark desk or the Makerspace.

14. Stacks/Display - Used when a transaction is related to the stacks or displays.

15. Stairs/Elevators - Used when a transaction is related to stairs or elevators.

16. UNT Building/Office - Used when a transaction is related to a UNT building or office that is not a part of the UNT libraries.

17. Other - Questions about a space that does not fall into the listed categories.