Your subject librarian is here to help! If you have any questions about finding or accessing library resources, don't hesitate to reach out to the College of Applied and Collaborative Studies subject librarian Emily Murley.
A successful research proposal demonstrates to the committee, institution, or agency that will be supporting your research that there is a need for this research, and that you have a plan for conducting it. The finer details of your proposal will vary depending on your purpose (getting approval to complete a thesis, winning grant funding, etc.) but the general structure will be the same.
This brief article provides an overview of information commonly included in a research proposal with a STEM focus.
This informational page from George Mason University provides a similar overview from a social sciences perspective.
This detailed library guide provides information and resources specific to writing a research proposal for a dissertation or thesis.
This library guide written for students in a public administration course provides resources specific to writing a research proposal for grant funding.
Research Proposal by
When it comes to research proposals, there′s the good, the bad, and the messy; there are essential elements and students often forget them, miss them, or struggle to find a workable plan. Zina O′Leary′s Research Proposal Little Quick Fix gives you a clever, beautiful workbook packed with real-life examples to keep you on track. Use it to: work through guided exercises; understand the elements of the proposal; and, put them together thoughtfully to create your very own research proposal--fast. Little Quick Fix titles provide quick but authoritative answers to the problems, hurdles, and assessment points students face in the research course, project proposal, or design--whatever their methods learning is. Lively, ultra-modern design; full-colour, each page a tailored design. An hour′s read. Easy to dip in and out of with clear navigation enables the reader to find what she needs--quick. Direct written style gets to the point with clear language. Nothing needs to be read twice. No fluff. Learning is reinforced through a 2-minute overview summary; 3-second summaries with super-quick Q&A DIY tasks create a work plan to accomplish a task, do a self-check quiz, solve a problem, get students to what they need to show their supervisor. Checkpoints in each section make sure students are nailing it as they go and support self-directed learning. How do I know I'm done? Each Little Quick Fix wraps up with a finale checklist that allows the reader to self-assess they've got what they need to progress, submit, or ace the test or task.
Designing and Managing Your Research Project by
Written for advanced undergraduate students, postgraduate students planning theses and dissertations and other early career researchers, Designing and Managing Your Research Project helps you successfully plan and complete your research project by showing the key skills that you will need. The book covers: " choosing research methods " developing research objectives " writing proposals " literature reviews " getting ethics approval " seeking funding " managing a project " software skills " working with colleagues and supervisors " communicating research findings " writing reports, theses and journal articles " careers in research. Designing and Managing Your Research Project includes lots of examples, case studies and practical exercises to help you learn the research skills you will need and also to help you complete crucial project tasks. A key feature is its user-friendly guidance on planning projects and accessing information from the Internet.
Developing Research Proposals by
Writing a research proposal is one of the most important tasks facing academics, researchers and postgraduate students. Yet there is a good deal of misinformation and a great lack of guidance about what constitutes a good research proposal and what can be done to maximise one′s chances of writing a successful research proposal. Denicolo and Becker recognise the importance of developing an effective research proposal for gaining either a place on a research degree programme or funding to support research projects and set out to explore the main factors that that proposal writers need to attend to in developing successful proposals of their own. Developing Research Proposals will help readers to understand the context within which their proposal will be read, what the reviewers are looking for and will be influenced by, while also supporting the development of relevant skills through advice and practical activities. This book: Explores the nature and purpose of different kinds of proposals Focuses on the actual research proposed Discusses how best to carry out and structure the literature review Examines the posing and phrasing of research questions and hypotheses Looks at how methods and methodology should be handled in a proposal Discusses the crucial issues of planning, strategy and timing in developing targeted proposals Denicolo and Becker draw together the key elements in the process of preparing and submitting a proposal and concludes with advice on responding to the results, successful or not, and their relevance to future proposals. The Success in Research series, from Cindy Becker and Pam Denicolo, provides short, authoritative and accessible guides on key areas of professional and research development. Avoiding jargon and cutting to the chase of what you really need to know, these practical and supportive books cover a range of areas from presenting research to achieving impact, and from publishing journal articles to developing proposals. They are essential reading for any student or researcher interested in developing their skills and broadening their professional and methodological knowledge in an academic context.
How to Get Published and Win Research Funding by
Most journal articles and research proposals are rejected. That represents a waste of everyone's time, energy, and spirit, especially now when, more than ever, academic careers are precarious. In this practical book, Professor Abby Day addresses these two inter-related and most challenging areas for academics and researchers in their professional careers: how to secure research funding and how to get research published. Reviewers, unpaid and often unappreciated, are over-stretched with their regular academic jobs, and increasingly reluctant to spend time reading poorly constructed papers or proposals. As fewer reviewers are available, the waiting time for a decision increases. Everyone loses. It doesn't have to be like that. Professor Day's ground-breaking strategy covers both publishing and funding challenges in similar, yet distinct ways. Lack of time? Conflicting priorities? No idea where to start or what matters most? This book explains how to overcome these and other common obstacles to successful publication and funding. For the first time, one book covers both activities, with practical guidance for setting your strategy and purpose, identifying the right publisher or funder, and understanding your audience and the key criteria for success, as well as helpful advice for writing and managing the challenges of an academic career. This book draws on the first and second editions of two international bestsellers, How to Get Research Published in Journals and Winning Research Funding. Based on original research with editors, funders, and successful academics, plus two decades of running international workshops on publishing and funding, Professor Day has now updated and merged these two critically acclaimed texts. This book is essential reading for graduate students and early career faculty members, who will gain new and effective insights and strategies to secure funding and publication opportunities to help develop their academic careers.
Planning an Applied Research Project in Hospitality, Tourism, and Sports by
Planning an Applied Research Project in Hospitality, Tourism and Sports provides a comprehensive and carefully structured treatment of all the aspects involved in planning a research project. Instead of being a statistically oriented book, this text provides a conceptual and process-oriented approach to planning and conducting research. Written for both students and professionals, it is easy to read, short, and to the point, i.e., practical.
Research Methods and Analysis for Business Studies by
Two things are new in this monograph on research methods. Firstly, the author used chapter-wise but holistic approach of presentation. He covered Introduction to Research, The Research Design, The Research Proposal, Data Collection and Sampling, Survey Research Method and Analysis, Case Study Research Method and Analysis, and Scientific Research Report Writing & Presentation. Every chapter of the monograph allows readers to deal with the research process as a whole but from different perspectives. For example, chapter 2 looks into the research process from design perspective, chapter 3 looks into the research process from perspective of convincing others. Secondly, the author introduced data analysis using econometrics in a way non-economists could understand it. The author presented the two most commonly used reserach methods, survey and case study researches, along with their methods of data analysis. I hope this monograph on reserach methods will help students and junior researchers in the area of business studies. Enjoy Reading this book! - Tigisti Tesfay Woldu
Conducting Research: Social and Behavioral Science Methods by
* Prepares students to conduct their first empirical research study, with quantitative and qualitative methods covered in detail. Common features as well as differences between the two research approaches are explored. * While theoretical material is included, the emphasis is on providing practical, easy-to-follow advice on how to conduct a first research project. * Unlike most texts with hypothetical examples, this text--with real examples written by a variety of published researchers--makes research methods come alive. Students see how research methods are used to explore important, contemporary problems. * Factual Questions at the end of each chapter help students review key concepts covered in the chapters. * Questions for Discussion encourage students to consider specific techniques and strategies that they might use while conducting their research.
