Skip to Main Content

notice Some items are only available on campus or will require authentication via EUID and Password at the point of use.

MKTG 3710: Marketing Research & Analytics

Library guide for MKTG 3710: Marketing Research and Analytics

What are company overviews and how do I access them?

Company overviews offer detailed profiles from information firms such as Mergent, EBSCOhost, GALE and LexisNexis.  These overview can be accessed through subscription databases paid for by UNT Libraries.

Where can I get company profiles or overviews?

GALE Business Insights

Image of Gale Business Insights database basic search page

Covers 500,000+ companies. Includes profiles, rankings, market size, products, brands, and financial ratios.

Access the database at libproxy.library.unt.edu/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/txshracd2679?db=BIG.

Find video tutorials for this database at support.gale.com/doc/business-insights.

Business Source Complete

Image of Business Source Complete basic search page

Provides profiles and SWOT reports. Select "Advanced Search," enter your company in the search box, and select "Company Entity-CO" from the search field options.

Access the database at libproxy.library.unt.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=bth.

Find a video tutorial for this database at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y2mADUuozW8.

IBIS World

Image of IBIS World database home page

Profiles for both U.S. public and private companies. Includes financials, market share, competitors, key benchmarks, and more.

Access the database at libproxy.library.unt.edu/login?url=http://my.ibisworld.com.

Find video tutorials for this database at https://clients1.ibisworld.com/about/us/videos/.

Mergent Intellect

Image of Mergent Intellect database home page

Wide range of business data on U.S. and international public and private companies. Includes key details, financials, competitors, and more.

Access the database at https://libproxy.library.unt.edu/login?url=https://www.mergentintellect.com.

Find video tutorials for this database at https://www.mergentintellect.com/index.php/learningcenter/howtovideos.

Nexis Uni

Image of Nexis Uni database basic search page

In depth company information on Dossier. Includes key facts, financials, news, mergers and acquisitions, intellectual property, and more.

Access the database at https://libproxy.library.unt.edu/login?url=http://www.nexisuni.com.

Find video tutorials for this database at https://www.lexisnexis.com/en-us/support/nexis-uni/default.page?srsltid=AfmBOorzQiqA-qDDbaqI0ODQ3POO_pUBtHhvwT453e0nrE6ORcPZToCv.

How can I use Google to find company information?

You can use the search engine Google to obtain company information by using the following tips:

  • Search for the Company Name or Ticker symbol via Google Finance to access company information
    • Lowe's or LOW limits results related to "Lowe's Companies, Inc."
  • Include and exclude keywords by putting a + or - sign in front of the word
    • "Lowe's -deals" will exclude any material about special promotions or deals on products
  • Search within a particular website
    • ​"history site:lowes.com" will search for the term "history" within Lowe's website
  • Combine limiters with keywords to return specific results - below are a few examples:
    • "Site:.pdf" will limit results to PDF files
    • "Site:.org" will limit results to non-profit organizational websites
    • "Site:.gov" will limit results to government websites