Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UNT Music Library Vocal Music Guide: Other Resources

Journals (print volumes shelved in alphabetical order by title on journal shelves)

Cambridge Opera Journal    print, 1989-2005; 1989-2019 in UNT Online Resources
Journal of Research in Singing    print, 1977-1986, from the International Association for Experimental Research in Singing
     alternate title: Journal of Research in Singing and Applied Vocal Pedagogy    print, 1986-1995
Journal of Singing    print, 1995-2012; 2002-2020 in UNT Online Resources from National Association of Teachers of Singing (NATS)
Journal of Voice     print, 1987-2003; 1995-current in UNT Online Resources
Opera News    print, 1945-2012; 1983-current in UNT Online Resources
Opera Quarterly     print, 1983-2002; 1996-current in UNT Online Resources
 
*To find specific articles, please search one of the music-specific article databases.
 
 

Recordings

The Audio Center has many recordings on CD available for circulation.  Please search the music library catalog for the recording(s) you would like and bring the call number to the Music Library Service Desk (or just ask for assistance at the desk).  Also, there are many recordings available online through the audio databases that UNT subscribes to.

Online Resources

Aria Database - A collection of information opera and operatic arias
Art Song Central - An archive of standard vocal repertoire available for printing
The Folk Song Index - A searchable index of mostly English-language folk songs
IPA Source (UNT subscription database) - The largest collection of literal translations and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions on the web
The Lied, Art Song, and Choral Texts Archive - An extensive archive of text to Lieder, art songs, and other vocal works (choral, madrigal, and part-songs)
National Association of Teachers of Singing -  The largest professional association of teachers of singing
Operabase - A searchable database for opera performances, artists,  managers, companies, and performance statistics
OperaGlass - A resource to get detailed information about operas 

 

Additional Links

top