Other Important Resources
Handbook of Research on Educational Communications and Technology by Call Number: LB1028.3 .H355 2008 WILLIS LIBRARY-3rd FLOORISBN: 9780805858495Publication Date: 2007-12-22
Handbook of Research on Educational Communications and Technology by ISBN: 1410609510Publication Date: 2013-01-11
Tips When Searching for Articles
Begin by going to the Databases tab on the library homepage and choosing a database by clicking on the drop-down arrow next to Select a Database. See the Recommended Learning Technologies Databases box on this page for suggestions.
If you find that the article you are looking for is not available online, don't be too concerned. Not everything is available electronically. With the title, issue number, year, and page numbers in hand, check out the UNT Library Catalog. Do a journal title search and check to see if our library holds a print copy. If not, you can put in a request from another library using our Interlibrary Loan ILLiad system.
Helpful Links
Recommended Journals
image courtesy of Google Images
- Computers in Human Behavior (e-Journal)
- Educational Technology and Society
- Evaluation and Program Planning
- Instructional Science
- International Journal of Designs for Learning (AECT)
- Journal of Applied Instructional Design
- Journal of Computing in Higher Education
- Learning and Instruction
- Simulation and Gaming
- Technology, Instruction, Cognition and Learning (AERA-AECT journal)
- Turkish Online Journal of Educational Technology
Recommended Learning Technologies Databases
- ABI/INFORMABI Inform provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Dates of Coverage: 1923 – Current
- Academic search completeAcademic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
- Business Source CompleteBusiness Source Complete provides full text and abstracts of articles in more than 1,200 journals, magazines, newspapers, videos, and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Provides company profiles, industry profiles, market research reports and country reports. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Dates of Coverage: 1886 to present.
- Cabell's directories of publishing opportunitiesCabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities The Directories contain addresses, phones, e-mails, web site addresses, and guidelines and submission information for over 4,000 journals in Business, Economics, Education and Psychology. The Directory helps users choose journals by topical coverage. It also provides manuscript and publication guidelines, as well as descriptions of the review processes for the journals included. Dates of Coverage: Current
- ECO - Electronic Collections Online.ECO (Electronic Collections Online) is a database hosted by OCLC, with over 5,000 journals spanning a number of academic disciplines, such as agriculture, business, education, history, philosophy, science, among others.
- EmeraldUNT may not subscribe to all titles through this platform: full access is not guaranteed. Patrons may wish to utilize other resources to fulfill their information needs. Emerald, also known as Emerald Publishing, manages a portfolio of over 295 journals and over 2,500 books, with a significant range of subject coverage.
- ERIC via EBSCOhostERIC via EBSCOhost Resource Type: Research Database Title/Alternate Title:ERIC Subjects Covered:Premier national bibliographic database of education literature. ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education, covering the document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education, covering published journal literature from over 1000 periodicals. Contents: Dates of Coverage:Current, Coverage varies for journal titles indexed. Some citations date back to 1966. Help Links:Click the Helplink at the top right of the screen.
- Professional Development CollectionProfessional Development Collection Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of high quality education journals, including peer-reviewed titles. Also contains more than educational reports. Dates of Coverage: Current, Coverage varies for journal titles indexed
- Project MuseProject Muse serves as a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community, granting patrons access to books and electronic journals through their online portal. Project Muse provides content from a number of university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers participating.
- Research libraryResearch library (Periodical Abstracts Research II) a general reference database of a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines. Note: If search results do not show beyond first page, you should click Tools-Internet Options-Delete Files and then click on Settings to make sure Automatically is checked.Dates of Coverage: 1971 - Current
- Psychology & behavioral sciences collectionPsychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Dates of Coverage: Varies by publication.
- Sage Journals onlineSage Journals Online indexes journals from ten different Full-Text Collections including Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Health Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning. Dates of Coverage: varies by title.
- Vocational and career collectionVocational and Career Collection provides full text access to approximately 340 trade- and industry-related periodicals, covering a vast array of career choices in all sectors of employment. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for over 600 journals. Dates of Coverage: 1985 Current.
- Web of KnowledgeWeb of Knowledge provides access to the world's leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities by aggregating the contents of multiple databases (including Web of Science, BIOSIS Previews, Zoological Record and Journal Citation Reports). WOK covers over 23,000 high-impact scholarly journals, 23 million patents, 9,000 web sites and 148,000 conference proceedings it provides exhaustive citation indexes for tracking topics or authors through time as well as links to additional external resources. Access to full-text of some resources is provided. Dates of Coverage: Varies by resource 1990s– Current, with backfiles to 1900.
Search for Materials
LIS/Outreach Librarian
Greg Hardin
he, him, his
Contact:
University of North Texas Libraries
Willis Library 080
Undergraduate Engagement & Research
1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton, Texas 76203-5017
Greg.Hardin@unt.edu
Willis Library 080
Undergraduate Engagement & Research
1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton, Texas 76203-5017
Greg.Hardin@unt.edu
940.565.2014
Website
Recommended List of Journals
Need more journals? Here's a list of journals recommended by your faculty!
What is Peer Review?
A peer reviewed article is an article that has been subjected to a process of critical evaluation by experts on the subject to determine the quality, relevance and appropriateness of an article before it is published. This ensures that the articles published in a journal represent the best scholarship in that field.
If you are not sure if a journal is peer reviewed, you can turn to Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory.
The Referee Shirt icon indicates the journal is refereed or peer reviewed.
eLearn Magazine
Loading ...