Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Reference Works
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Dictionary of Education Terms
Provides the key to deciphering what your lecturers, tutors, and textbooks are actually saying. Covers a range of terms from infancy through to early childhood and primary education--birth to 12 years.
Call number: Willis, LB15 .G75 2010
Dictionary of Information Technology
Defines terms far beyond the standard personal computing terms, with coverage given to such specialized subject areas as database design and programming, networks, desktop publishing, multimedia, video, graphic design, and telecommunications.
Call number: Discovery Park Library, QA76.15 .C58 2002
Dictionary of Library and Educational Technology
This third edition incorporates new technology terms pertaining to CD-ROM, CD-1, laser disc technology, computer peripheral devices, telecommunications and video equipment, as well as audiovisual equipment, reprography, and micrographics.
Call number: Discovery Park Library, TS2301.A7 R66 1989
Education and Technology: an Encyclopedia
Scholars in the field describe, in jargon-free terms, how educational practices have shaped our uses of technology--and vice versa.
Call number: Willis, LB1028.3 .E17 2004 v.1 and v.2
Encyclopedia of Distance Learning
Offers the most comprehensive coverage of the issues, concepts, trends, and technologies of distance learning. More than 450 international contributors from over 50 countries.
Call number: Willis, LC5211 .E516 2005 v.1 through v. 4
Encyclopedia of Educational Research
Sponsored by the American Educational Research Association and published every decade since 1941, remains the standard general reference in its field for critical synthesis and interpretation of reported educational research from pre-school through post-secondary education.
Call number: Located in Remote Storage, LB15 .E48 1992 V. 1 through V. 4
Encyclopedia of Educational Technology
A collection of online, short multimedia articles on a variety of topics related to the fields of instructional design and education and training. The primary audiences are students and novice to intermediate practitioners in these fields, who need a brief overview as a starting point to further research on specific topics.
The Greenwood Dictionary of Education
Provides authoritative definitions for more than 2,600 terms that apply to educational research, practice, and theory. Overall focus is on the most critical terms in education as used by current practitioners, yet references to significant historical events in education are also included.
Call number: Willis, LB15 .G68 2003
Learning Theories, A to Z
A substantive, e-book dictionary of over 500 terms relating to learning theories and environments. An annotated bibliography provides further resources to the most important writings about learning theories.
MIT Glossary of Educational Technology Terms
Online glossary sponsored by Educational Technology Services at MIT.
Tech Terms Computer Dictionary
Browse an alphabetical list of technology terms on TechTerms.com.
An online dictionary of over 14,000 technology and computer related terms. Consists of definitions of IT and computer terms including but not limited to programming languages, software, hardware, operating systems, networking, mathematics, telecomunications, electronics, and more.
"Everything you need to know is right here". Term of the Day, Recent Terms, Quick Reference, Resources, Webolog and more.
Reseach Handouts & Database Guides
ARBAonline American reference books annual.
ARBAonline provides reviews of reference books written by librarians for librarians. Dates of Coverage: 1997 - present
Bowker's Books in print
Bowker's Books in Print with Reviews Provides ordering information for English-language books published throughout the world. Reviews are included for selected books. Dates of Coverage: Current
This resource provides critical reviews of web products for informational professionals.
Educational media reviews online
Educational Media Reviews Online database Contains more than 2000 reviews of educational videos, DVDs and CD-ROMs, written by librarians and teaching faculty from the United States and Canada. The University at Buffalo-SUNY sponsors the database, which focuses on adult media, but also contains reviews for grades K-12 media.