Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Information Connection: History Portal

Resources in the Government Documents Department for History students. Includes resources in all formats.

UNT Libraries' LibGuides - Texas History Related

texashistory.unt.edu

Portal to Texas History - UNT Digital Projects

About the Portal: http://www.library.unt.edu/news/digital-projects-unit/portal-texas-history

Constantly growing, the Portal to Texas History, created by Digital Projects, contains more than 2.8 million digital files and receives some 290,000 uses per month. It features digital reproductions of photographs, maps, letters, documents, newspapers, books, artifacts, and more.

To learn more about the Portal's contents, please click on explore by collections.

Texas Information - ask at the Sycamore Library Service Desk

The Texas almanac, 1857-1873, a compendium of Texas history: here is the UNT Libraries’ catalog link: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b1371013~S12 Ask about availability at the Sycamore Library Service Desk.

Texas almanac and state industrial guide (scattered holdings from 1904 through 1953. Some are located in Sycamore Library Reference. Some are in the circulating collection. Some are in Remote Storage). Here is the UNT Libraries’ catalog link: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b1837772~S12 Ask at the Sycamore Library Service Desk.

Government Documents also has the Texas Register Archive, Texas Laws and Resolutions Archive, the U.S. Congressional Serials Set.  (these are all hyperlinked).

A short list of basic resources on Texas History

Angelo State University: Excellence in West Texas History Fellowship http://www.angelo.edu/services/library/wtcoll/regarchives.php

Angelo State University Library: Texas Maps and Resources http://www.angelo.edu/services/library/govdocs/mapstexas.php

Austin Public Library: Austin History Center http://library.austintexas.gov/ahc

Dallas Public Library: Dallas Morning News Archive http://catalog.dallaslibrary.org/Polaris/search/misc/esources.aspx?Category=47

Dallas Public Library: Genealogy Section http://dallaslibrary2.org/genealogy/databases.php

Dallas Public Library: Texas/Dallas History & Archives Division http://dallaslibrary2.org/texas/index.htm

El Paso Public Library: Research http://www.elpasolibrary.org/research

Fort Worth Library: Archival Collection http://fortworthtexas.gov/library/local-history/archival-collection.html

Handbook of Texas Online https://tshaonline.org/handbook

Houston Public Library: Clayton Library Center for Genealogical Research http://houstonlibrary.org/location/clayton-library-center-genealogical-research

Houston Public Library: Texas Room http://www2.houstonlibrary.org/hmrc/txr.html

Humanities Texas http://www.humanitiestexas.org/

National Archives at Fort Worth https://www.archives.gov/fort-worth/

San Antonio Public Library: Texana / Genealogy http://www.mysapl.org/texana.aspx

Southern Methodist University: Archives of Women of the Southwest https://sites.smu.edu/cul/degolyer/collections/aws/

Southwestern University: Special Collections http://www.southwestern.edu/infoservices/departments/specialcollections/collections.php

Texas A&M University Libraries Digital Collections & Exhibits, Maps & GIS, Digital http://library.tamu.edu/services/map_gis/digital.html

Texas Historical Commission http://www.thc.state.tx.us/

Texas Historical Commission: Texas Historic Sites Atlas http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us/

Texas Newspaper Oral History http://texasnewspaperoralhistory.com/

Texas State Historical Association https://www.tshaonline.org/home/

Texas State Historical Association: Barker Texas History Center https://tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/lcb01

Texas State Library and Archives Commission https://www.tsl.texas.gov/

Texas State University: Center for the Study of the Southwest http://www.txstate.edu/cssw/research-and-programming/resources/collections.html

Texas Tech University Archives http://texastecharchives.tumblr.com/

Texas Tech University: Southwest Collection / Special Collections Library http://swco.ttu.edu/

Texas Woman's University: Digital Archives http://twudigital.contentdm.oclc.org/

Texas Woman's University: University Archives http://www.twu.edu/library/university-archives.asp

Texas Woman's University: The Woman's Collection http://www.twu.edu/library/womans-collection.asp

University of Houston Libraries: Claude Elliott Texana Collection, 1798-1963 http://archon.lib.uh.edu/?p=collections/controlcard&id=92

UNT Libraries: Archives & Rare Books https://library.unt.edu/special-collections

UNT Libraries’ Digital Collection: http://digital.library.unt.edu/explore/

UNT Libraries: Government Information Connection: Texas Maps / Thematic & Historical Maps http://guides.library.unt.edu/c.php?g=69763&p=452656

UNT Libraries: Oral History Collection http://digital.library.unt.edu/explore/collections/UNTOH/

UNT Libraries: Portal to Texas History http://texashistory.unt.edu/

UNT Libraries Portal to Texas History: General Land Office Historic County Maps http://texashistory.unt.edu/explore/collections/GLOHCM/

UNT Libraries: Portal to Texas History -- Texas Digital Newspaper Program http://texashistory.unt.edu/explore/collections/TDNP/

UNT Libraries: Texana Collections http://www.library.unt.edu/collections/special-collections/texana

UNT Libraries: Texas Laws and Resolutions Archive http://www.library.unt.edu/collections/government-documents/texas-laws-and-resolutions

UNT Libraries: Texas Register http://texinfo.library.unt.edu/texasregister/

UNT Libraries: Using the Texas Register Collection http://texashistory.unt.edu/help/guide/texas-register/

UNT Department of History http://history.unt.edu/

UNT Department of Political Science http://politicalscience.unt.edu/

University of Texas at Arlington: Maps & Atlases Collection http://library.uta.edu/collections/maps-atlases-collection

University of Texas at Austin: Dolph Briscoe Center for American History https://www.cah.utexas.edu/index.php

University of Texas at Austin: Harry Ransom Center Collections / Texana http://www.hrc.utexas.edu/collections/guide/texana/

University of Texas at Austin: Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection: Historical Maps https://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/historical/

University of Texas at Austin: Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection: Historical Maps of Texas http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/historical/history_texas.html

University of Texas at Austin: Texas Archival Resources Online TARO http://www.lib.utexas.edu/taro/

University of Texas at San Antonio: Institute of Texas Cultures http://www.texancultures.com/

University of Texas at San Antonio: Rare Books / Texana http://libguides.utsa.edu/texana

University of Texas at San Antonio Research Guides: Historical Maps http://libguides.utsa.edu/content.php?pid=131456&sid=1155987

University of Texas at Tyler Libraries Reconstruction, 1865-1877: Maps and Atlases http://libguides.uttyler.edu/c.php?g=357712&p=2414829

``````````
Google.com search results: "research guides on Texas History"

Google.com search results: Texana & Texas collections in colleges and universities

Gammel's The Laws of Texas

URL: http://www.library.unt.edu/collections/government-documents/laws-texas

About the Collection:

  • H.P.N. Gammel's The Laws of Texas, 1822-1897 has long been one of the most important primary resources for the study of Texas' complex history during the Nineteenth Century. His monumental compilation charts Texas from the time of colonization through to statehood and reveals Texas' legal history during crucial times in its development.
  • The Laws consist of documents not only covering each congressional and legislative session but comprise other documents of significance, including the constitutions, select journals from the constitutional conventions, and early colonization laws.
  • Currently, access to The Laws of Texas is difficult, especially given the rarity and condition of The Laws and in view of the fact that early Texas documents are likely to be held in restricted circulation areas.
     
  • These materials have been converted into digital form, loaded onto the UNT Libraries' Web servers, and made available to researchers throughout the world.
     
  • To do a search: Type your keywords into the Laws of Texas search engine.

Texas Government Contact Information

Use the below links to find contact information for Texas state offices and agencies.

The Depression in Texas

Suggested strategies:

  1. Here is an online catalog sample key word search using the key words Texas and depression and economic conditions. Click here for search results.

    The link above includes dissertations, historical monographs, and oral history interviews in the UNT Archives.
    .
  2. JSTOR is a UNT Library-subscribed database that provides full text access to archived backfiles of journal articles.
    .
  3. America: History and Life is a UNT Library-subscribed database of abstracts of journal articles and book titles. Some citations are in full text.

The links to JSTOR and America: History and Life are listed below:

Civil Rights in Texas

  • This is a sample search in the online catalog, combining the following key words: City of Dallas and civil rights. Click this link for results, including oral histories.

  • Make sure to use the databases America History & Life and JSTOR, mentioned above.

The Governor's Race in Texas 1974

Confederate Veterans in Texas

  • This is a sample search in the online catalog, combining the following key words: Confederate and Veterans and Texas. Click this link for results.
  • Make sure to use the databases America History & Life and JSTOR, mentioned above.

Gay Rights in Texas

These are sample search results in the online catalog using the keywords Gay and rights and Texas.

Make sure to use the databases America History & Life and JSTOR, mentioned above.

Additional Links

top