Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Information Connection: Politics and Elected Officials: Voting and Elections

Information about politicians and their activities; elections, campaigns, and voting; and political activism.

AGENCIES

We've moved!  Several of the links listed below will not work yet.  We'll try to get that corrected ASAP.

AUDIENCES

Voting and Elections

Resources for researching voting behavior and election results, and tips on voting effectively and encouraging other citizens to vote.

UNT Resources

Denton County Voters Guide (UNT)
This guide, provided by the UNT Libraries Government Documents Department, provides a list of major agencies and organizations of interest to voters, answers to frequently-asked questions about voting, and a political ID card that lists all your precinct and district numbers in one convenient location.
America Votes, 1945 -
Published by Congressional Quarterly, this biennial details Congressional and Presidential elections from the primaries through the November elections with a national and state-by-state analysis. (call number JK1967.A8, General Reference, Willis Library)

To locate other resources in the UNT Libraries related to voting and elections, search the UNT Libraries Online Catalog, using the subject headings Voting - United States and Elections - United States. You may also search for state and local voting and election information by substituting a state for "United States," e.g., Voting - Texas or Elections - Texas.

 

General Voting and Election Web Sites

Elections and Voting (GODORT - Federal Documents Task Force)

Comprehensive site containing information on campaign finance and other election reforms, election statistics, polls, and more.

Voting and Elections

(FirstGov.gov)Provided by the federal government, this site includes information on voter registration, election history, candidates for office, and the electoral college. Information is also available en español.

Voter Registration and Participation

Denton County Commissioner Voter Precinct Maps (Denton County)

A list of current Denton County Commissioners with detailed maps of their voting precincts.

Denton County Election Administration/Voter Registration (Denton County Election Administration)

Comprehensive site with the following information and services: Election Results / History, Request a Voter Registration Card, Voter Registration Database Search, Ballots by Mail, Elections Dates, and Precinct Maps.

Denton County Voter Registration Figures (Denton County Election Administration)

Shows numbers of registered voters in Denton county for even numbered years from 1988 to 2004. Also shows how many of them actually voted.

Project Vote Smart

A comprehensive, independent, voter education site staffed primarily by volunteers offering candidate information based upon research data, candidate interviews, and questionnaire.

VoteTexas.gov
Frequently asked questions about voting in the state of Texas. This site includes registration forms, lists of Texas county registrars, information on upcoming elections and more.

Election Agencies and Election Results

Dallas County Elections (Dallas County Elections Department)
Information on past and pending elections in Dallas County.
 
Denton County Election Results/History (Denton County Elections Administration)
Information on past and pending elections in Denton County.
 
Electoral College Web Site (National Archives and Records Administration)
The Office of the Federal Register coordinates the functions of the Electoral College on behalf of the Archivist of the United States, the States, the Congress, and the American People. Assembled are a variety of information and statistics on presidential elections, past and present. Includes a list of Electors Bound by State Law and Pledges as well as an Electoral College FAQ .
 
Federal Election Commission (FEC)
Official Homepage of the independent regulatory agency that discloses campaign finance information; enforces the limits, prohibitions and other provisions of the election law; and administers the public funding of Presidential elections.
 
League of Women Voters
The League of Women Voters, a nonpartisan political organization, encourages the informed and active participation of citizens in elections and government. Vote 411 explains voter registration and includes educational materials.
 
Elections & Voting (National Association of Secretaries of State)
This site provides links to election offices and information about voting and elections in all 50 states.
 
Texas Secretary of State: Elections Division (Texas Secretary of State)
Homepage of the agency that oversees state elections in Texas. Includes election laws and procedures, current and historical election results, information on upcoming elections, election forms, and links to related resources.

Additional Links

top