Introduction
This page provides links to genealogical reference and how-to books available through the UNT Library.
How-to-Books
Genealogist's Guide to Discovering Your African-American Ancestors by Call Number: E185.96 .S6514 2003ISBN: 1558706054Publication Date: 2002-12-24This book provides sources and methods of researching African-Americans in both the pre- and post-Civil War periods.
Black Roots by Call Number: E185.96 .B94 2001ISBN: 0684847043Publication Date: 2001-02-06This book provides a great starting place for learning about the genealogical process and specific challenges of doing African-American genealogy.
The Family Tree Problem Solver by Call Number: CS14 .R57 2005ISBN: 1558706852Publication Date: 2005-01-02This book provides research methods for solving genealogical "brick walls" and mysteries.
Genealogy 101 by Call Number: CS16 .R46 2003ISBN: 1401600190Publication Date: 2003-04-21This book provides a good introduction to the process of doing genealogy.
Tracing Your Irish Family History by Call Number: CS483 .A36 2009ISBN: 9781554074587Publication Date: 2009-02-20This book provides resources and tips for tracing Irish ancestors.
Tracing Your Scottish Family History by Call Number: CS464 .A36 2009ISBN: 9781554074570Publication Date: 2009-02-01This book provides resources and tips for tracing Scottish ancestors.
Reference Sources
Ancestry's Red Book by Call Number: CS49 .R44 2004ISBN: 1593311664Publication Date: 2004-06-01This reference guide book lists information about the locations of records offices in the U.S. and where to find a variety of record types.
Guide to Genealogical Research in the National Archives by Call Number: Z5313.U5 U54 2000ISBN: 1880875217Publication Date: 2000-12-01Published and written by staff at the National Archives, this book includes descriptions of record group series, research strategies, and extensive tables showing specific NARA holdings.
The Great War by Call Number: Z6207.E8 S29 1998ISBN: 0806315547Publication Date: 2006-01-01A guide to where to locate military records of soldiers in World War 1 for each country that participated.
Genealogical Encyclopedia of the Colonial Americas by Call Number: CS49 .S32 1998ISBN: 0806315768Publication Date: 1998-01-01A guide to where to find the major sources for genealogy in the Americas during the colonial time period.
International Vital Records Handbook by Call Number: CS42.7 .K46 2000ISBN: 0806316551Publication Date: 2000-01-01A guide to ordering vital records internationally with example application forms and letters.
Compendium of Historic Resources by Call Number: CS49 .B74 1997ISBN: 1877677159Publication Date: 1996-01-01A guide to genealogical and historic resources with charts of some more unusual resources.
The Researcher's Guide to American Genealogy by Call Number: CS47 .G79 2000ISBN: 0806316217Publication Date: 2000-02-01This book provides a brief overview of American genealogical resources and the genealogical research process.
The Source by Call Number: CS49 .S65 2006ISBN: 1593312776Publication Date: 2006-06-01Genealogists and other historical researchers have valued the first two editions of this work, often referred to as the genealogist's bible."" The new edition continues that tradition. Intended as a handbook and a guide to selecting, locating, and using appropriate primary and secondary resources.
Genealogist's Companion and Sourcebook by Call Number: CS47 .C75 2003ISBN: 1558706518Publication Date: 2003-08-26A research guide for genealogy and a bibliography of available genealogical sources.
Printed Sources: A Guide to Published Genealogical Records by Call Number: Z5311 .P75 1998ISBN: 0916489701Publication Date: 1998-01-01Guide to locating records and indexes that have been published in print and electronic formats.- Family History Sources byCall Number: AE 1.113:80/2010Publication Date: 2010This is a guide to family history sources found at the Southeast Region National Archives Branch.
- Family History Sources byCall Number: AE 1.113:77Publication Date: 2007This is a guide to family history resources available at the National Archives Northeast Branch.
Guide to Naturalization Records in the United States by Call Number: CS49 .S28 1997ISBN: 0806315326Publication Date: 1997This book provides information on the location of naturalization records for each state in the U.S. subdivided by major cities or regions, and whether they have been microfilmed.
The American Census Handbook by Call Number: CS49 .K4 2001ISBN: 0842029249Publication Date: 2002-01-01This book is a guide to published U.S. census resources.- The Handy Book for Genealogists byCall Number: CS47 .E9 1981Publication Date: 1981This book is a guide to U.S. county creation and boundary changes and where print resources related to each county are held.
