Guides: Rehabilitation and Health Services: Articles

Journals/Periodicals in Rehab & Addictions

Disability and Rehabilitation
This journal seeks to encourage a better understanding of all aspects of disability and to promote rehabilitation science, practice and policy aspects of the rehabilitation process. The journal takes a multidisciplinary approach to the subject, and it publishes both quantitative and qualitative research.

RHABjournals_Holloway5700

Your options for searching for specific journals available online or print

If you know the journal you want, do a journal title search in the UNT Catalog

Try searching the E-journals only site for online journals (updated more frequently than the catalog)

Subject Headings for browsing journals/periodicals:

Peer Reviewed/Referred Journals: How do you know? Try this:
- Click on the journal name in EBSCO database (Peer Reviewed? Yes)
- Go to the official vendor website for journal (about/author guidelines)
- Check Ulrich's Database and look for icon

What is Peer Review?

A fast way of determining if the article you are viewing is Peer Reviewed or Scholarly, is to search for the title of the journal which published the article in: Ulrichsweb

The Referee Shirt icon indicates the journal is refereed or peer reviewed.

Featured Journals

Substance Use and Misuse
This journal contains peer-reviewed articles, notes, and book reviews, as well as special issues devoted to single topics. The journal also publishes proceedings and symposia that describe and analyze the latest research, along with information on clinical prevention, training, law enforcement, and policy efforts. Topics covered include clinical trials and clinical research (treatment and prevention of substance misuse and related infectious diseases); epidemiology of substance misuse and related infectious diseases; social pharmacology; meta-analyses and systematic reviews of interventions; adolescent and student-focused research; gender- and ethnic- focused research; classical-historical articles, reviews, and documents; state of the art quantitative and qualitative research; negative results and intervention failures that are instructive; validity of instruments, scales, and tests; and critiques and essays on unresolved issues.

Scholarly Literature Databases

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic search complete
Academic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
Sage Journals online
Sage Journals Online indexes journals from ten different Full-Text Collections including Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Health Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning. Dates of Coverage: varies by title.

Social Science Premium Collection
The Social Science Premium Collection provides a range of full-text and index resources across social science disciplines. Abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, dissertations, government publications, and more are included. Coverage includes applied social sciences, criminal justice, education, linguistics, language behavior, political science, sociology, and more. Research from across regions, countries, markets, and disciplines with titles from around the world are brought together in this database.

Topical Databases for Rehab, Health & Medicine, Psychology and Behavioral Science Literature

Ageline
Ageline via Ebscohost produced by AARP and is the primary research database for social gerontology. Sources indexed include journals, books, book chapters, reports, and consumer guides and citations include abstracts provided by AARP. Over 600 scholarly and consumer-oriented serials are reviewed on a regular basis. Dates of Coverage: 1978 - Current, with selective coverage from 1966 to 1977.
PsycInfo
PsycInfo via Ebscohost peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others.Contains citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Dates of Coverage: Journal coverage is 1872 to current. Chapter and book coverage is 1987 to current
SocINDEX with full text
SocINDEX with Full Text via EBSCO is a sociology research database featuring more than 2.1 million records. The database contains full text for 860+ journals, 830+ books, and 16,800+ conference papers abstracts for 1,300+ core journals, 450+ priority journals, and 2,900+ selective coverage journals extensive indexing for books, conference papers and non-periodical content and 25,000+ author profiles. Topics covered include: abortion, criminal justice, demography, ethnic and gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, social development and psychology, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history and research, sociological theory, substance abuse and addictions, violence, and many others. Dates of Coverage: Varies by resource some citations date back to 1895.
MEDLINE
MEDLINE via EBSCOhost authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, HISTLINE, SPACELINE, PREMEDLINE®, AIDSLINE®, BIOETHICSLINE®, and HealthSTAR®. Dates of Coverage: Varies by publication
PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES via Ebscohost indexes journals from the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrege Publishing Group. Full Text coverage is from 1987 to present. Nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. Dates of Coverage: 1984 – current.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect connects researchers, teachers, and students to a broad array of high quality journal articles, book chapters, and supplementary data users can access over 2,000 academic journals and more than 33,000 books. ScienceDirect offers content from four major subject areas: physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. ScienceDirect also hosts a number of open-access journals.

Databases for finding publication venues or detailed information about specific journals

Cabell's directories of publishing opportunities
Do you need help finding a journal in which to publish? Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities contain addresses, phones, e-mails, web site addresses, and guidelines and submission information for over 4,000 journals in Business, Economics, Education and Psychology. The Directory helps users choose journals by topical coverage. It also provides manuscript and publication guidelines, as well as descriptions of the review processes for the journals included. Dates of Coverage: Current
Ulrich's periodicals directory
Ulrichsweb is a source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals and serials of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. The database covers more than 900 subject areas. Records provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians. Dates of Coverage: Current updated weekly.

EBSCO visual in one click! (RHAB)

Example of searching several EBSCOhost databases and limiting results.

Rehabilitation and Health Services: Articles