Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To find recent trends and issues in your topic area, it's a good idea to start out reading some review articles. These are secondary sources that discuss a number of other articles. Review articles do not report on research recently conducted by the author.
To search for review articles, include the word "review" in your search terms, e.g., [review arsenic pollution water].
Recommended Databases for Stream Ecology
See the Boolean Searching Video in the box below for instructions on how to search in these databases.
An EBSCOhost database of journal articles focusing on the environmental sciences. Combine this database with AGRICOLA and Science and Technology Collection for a broader search.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide is the largest index to literature about wild mammals, birds, reptiles and amphibians. It covers many wildlife subjects including individual species, habitat types, wildlife behavior, ecotourism and zoology. Coverage dates back to 1892 and continues up to the present day.
Boolean Searching Video
How to do Boolean searching in databases using the operators AND, OR, and NOT.
Online Articles Search
Not sure which database to use? Try the Online Articles search from the Libraries homepage. Online Articles searches through 92% of our databases at once, produces a list of full text articles, and will recommend the databases you should use. Follow these steps to try a search:
- Locate the blue search box on the Libraries homepage
- Select the Online Articles tab
- Enter 3 or 4 search terms and click on the Search button
On the Results screen, you'll be able to refine the results by date, subject terms, type of publication and more.