Librarian
Getting Started
Consider the following to understand the difference between news, trade and scholarly articles:
- Scholarly/Peer-reviewed articles are written, read and sometimes evaluated by experts in the field to inform and report on research in a specific discipline.
- Trade publications provide information for individuals in a specific industry or field.
- Substantive news informs or educates the general public on a particular issue or topic.
- Popular news reflects on popular culture of the time and often brings entertatinment value.
- Sensational new incites emotions, interest or reactions and is typically inaccurate.
Content adapted from OLIN Library at Cornell University and California State University, Chico
Where can I get news, magazine & scholarly articles?
ABI/INFORM
Provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Dates of Coverage: 1923 – Current
Using the "Advanced Search," select "Newspapers" under the "Source type."
Access the ABI/Inform database and ABI/Inform video tutorial.
Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals
For news articles, click on "Newspaper" under "Publication Type" in the Advanced Search. Then type keywords associated with your topic in the search box and click the "Search" button.
Access the Academic Search Complete database.
Business Sources Complete
Provides full text and abstracts of articles in more than 1,200 journals, magazines, newspapers, videos, and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry.
Click on "Newspaper" under "Publication Type" in the Advanced Search for newspaper articles. Then type keywords associated with your topic in the search box and click the "Search" button.
Access the Business Source Complete database and Business Source Complete video tutorial.
JSTOR
Provides access to archived backfiles of journals in business, including those dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials.
Access the JSTOR database.
Nexis Uni
Provides access to news, legal, and business sources including journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, newspapers, and legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes.
For news, type keywords into the search box and choose "News" under "All Content Types," then click the "Search" button (magnifying glass icon).
Access the Nexis Uni database and Nexis Uni video tutorials.
What databases specifically focus on news articles?
Access World News
Provides full-text information from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international news sources. Includes newspapers, newsmagazines, news wires, and transcripts. Dates of Coverage: Current
Access the NewsBank database.
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Access the Newspaper Source Plus database.
PressReader
News community where people can read, share, and talk about news. PressReader partners with top magazine and newspaper publishers in over 100 countries to help them distribute their content globally. All of the publications offered can be read online, in print or downloaded via the PressReader app.
Access the PressReader database.
Regional Business News
Includes abstracts for regional U.S. and Canadian business publications , including newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, and trade publications. Dates of Coverage: Varies by title.
Access the Regional Business News database.