Data Services Librarian
Deborah Yun Caldwell
she/her/hers
Contact:
Willis Library, Room 080
1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton, TX 76203-5017
1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton, TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-3980
Website
Subjects: Data
Outreach & Instruction Librarian | Political Science Librarian
Ask Us!
Need help? Then use the library's Ask Us service. Get help from real people face-to-face, by phone, or by email.
Overview
Reference materials/resources are a good place to start as they provide overviews of subjects to help you find a topic to focus on; offer background information and key facts on your topic; or provide definitions of important words or concepts. Included here is a selection of print and electronic materials.
Electronic Reference Collections
The following resources offer a wealth of resources on a broad range of subjects and topics.
- Credo referenceCredo Reference offers full-text, aggregated content which covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference. Patrons gain access to over 3,400,000 entries, from over 675 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, etc. Dates of Coverage: Current
- Oxford reference onlineOxford Reference Online Provides full text access to numerous dictionaries and encyclopedias by Oxford University Press as well as selected titles from the Oxford Companion series. Dates of Coverage 2002 - Current
- Sage KnowledgeSage Knowledge contains SAGE eBook and eReference content in the social sciences, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more. Also contains suggestions for relevant content in other books and SAGE Journals.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryGale Virtual Reference Library Selected reference ebooks on Business, environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and social science. Includes Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English, Encyclopedia of Science & Religion, Encyclopedia of Science Technology & Ethics, Encyclopedia of Sociology, Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders, and World of Forensic Science and others. Dates of Coverage: Varies with publication
Dictionaries, Almanacs, and Encyclopedias
Dictionaries are helpful resources for gaining a basic understanding of a term or topic. Dictionaries define terms and concepts. Subject or topical dictionaries, like the ones included here, define words as they relate to a field or discipline.
Below is a selection of geography related dictionaries from the UNT Libraries. Discover more here
The Dictionary of Physical Geography by Call Number: GB10 .D53 2016ebISBN: 111878233XPublication Date: 2016-02-23This fully-revised comprehensive fourth edition covers the whole field of physical geography including climate and atmosphere, geomorphology, biogeography, hydrology, oceans, Quaternary, environmental change, soils, remote sensing and GIS. This new edition reflects developments in the discipline during the last decade, with the expert advisory group providing an international perspective on the discipline of physical geography. Over 2000 entries that are self-contained or cross-referenced include 200 that are new to this edition, over 400 that are rewritten and updated, and new supporting references and additional recommended reading in many others. Entries removed from the last edition are available in the online resource. This volume is the essential reference point for students of physical geography and related environmental disciplines, lecturers and interested individuals alike.
A Dictionary of Geography by Call Number: G63 .M394ISBN: 9780199231805Publication Date: 2010-04-19With more than 6,400 entries on all aspects of human and physical geography, the latest edition of the classic Dictionary of Geography provides up-to-date coverage of a field as wide as the world itself. It ranges across cartography, surveying, meteorology, climatology, ecology, population, industry, and development, and comprehensively treats fast-changing topics such as plate tectonics, remote sensing, geographic information systems, and aerial differentiation. Readers will find entries on economic geography, recent developments in geopolitics, and the geography of finance as well as entries related to globalization and the anti-globalization movement, landscape restoration, the digital divide, and issues of governance. Feature panels offer in-depth information on such key areas as the history of geography, demographic transition, and central place theory. The Factfinder appendix, which provides key economic and population statistics for nearly forty countries, has been brought fully up to date. This edition also recommends web links, accessible on the Dictionary of Geography companion website.
Houghton Mifflin Dictionary of Geography by Call Number: G63 .H68 1997ebISBN: 0395864488Publication Date: 1997-11-30Provides capsule histories, descriptions of physical geography, population figures, and entries for peoples and languages.
Cultural Geography by Call Number: GF41 .C852 2005ISBN: 1860647030Publication Date: 2005-06-24As geography has been influenced by such themes as postcolonial studies, feminism and psychoanalysis, so students have had to engage with ideas and concepts from outside the traditional boundaries of their subject. This text provides students with an aid to understanding the complexities and subtleties of these new ideas. It presents short essays exploring the key concepts in cultural geography and are written by leading practitioners. The essays range from questions that have recently emerged to more established ideas that warrant critical examination. The book should be useful to students of cultural geography and related disciplines.
A Feminist Glossary of Human Geography by Call Number: G63 .G5 1999ISBN: 0340706597Publication Date: 1999-02-11This book provides full and accurate descriptions of terms commonly used in geographical debates about gender relations. Aimed at geographers, this book includes key concepts and theoretical terms, as well as a comprehensive bibliography encouraging readers to seek out seminal texts and reach their own conclusions.
Almanacs are typically published annually and offer important dates, data, and other information.
- Texas Almanac
The Texas Almanac has been continuously published since 1857. Within it, find facts about Texas and its 254 counties.
Astronomical phenomena for the year... by Call Number: D 213.8/3:Publication Date: 1950-This annual publication provides a summary of selected astronomical events, including the phases of the Moon, eclipses of the Sun and Moon, principal occultations, planetary phenomena, elongations and magnitudes of the planets, times of sunrise/set and moonrise/set.
Encyclopedia offer helpful and often broad introductions to concepts, topics, subjects, and ideas.
Below is a selection of geography related encyclopedias from the UNT Libraries.
Encyclopedia of Geography by Call Number: G63 .E554 2010ISBN: 9781412956970Publication Date: 2010-09-16With more than 1,200 entries, the Encyclopedia of Geography reflects how the growth of geography has propelled a demand for intermediaries between the abstract language of academia and the ordinary language of everyday life. The six volumes of this encyclopedia encapsulate a very diverse array of topics to offer a comprehensive and useful summary of the state of the discipline in the early 21st century. This encyclopedia strategically reflects the enormous diversity of the discipline, the multiple meanings of space itself, and the diverse views of geographers. It brings together the diversity of geographical knowledges, making it an invaluable resource for any academic library.
Encyclopedia of Human Geography by Call Number: GF4 .E54 2006ISBN: 9780761988588Publication Date: 2006-05-16Human geography has undergone a conceptual and methodological renaissance that has transformed the field into one of the most dynamic social sciences. This Encyclopedia considers new developments and helps to further establish this field.
Encyclopedia of Geography Terms, Themes, and Concepts by Call Number: G63 .H38 2011ISBN: 9781598842944Publication Date: 2011-10-17This text provides an essential reference handbook for students of geography and related social sciences. This handbook offers a broad coverage of terminology and concepts, serving as both an encyclopedic dictionary of geography terms and an approachable overview to the human and physical aspects of world geography. Approximately 150 geographic terms and concepts are defined and discussed, providing an accessible reference for anyone who requires a deeper knowledge of the language and ideas that are important to geography as a discipline.
Home Ground by Call Number: G108.E5 H66 2006ISBN: 1595340246Publication Date: 2006-09-15Barry Lopez asked 45 poets and writers to define terms that describe America's land and water forms -- phrases like flatiron, bayou, monadnock, kiss tank, meander bar, and everglade. The result is a major enterprise comprising over 850 descriptions, 100 line drawings, and 70 quotations from works by Willa Cather, Truman Capote, John Updike, Cormac McCarthy, and others. Carefully researched and exquisitely written by talents such as Barbara Kingsolver, Lan Samantha Chang, Robert Hass, Terry Tempest Williams, Jon Krakauer, Gretel Ehrlich, Luis Alberto Urrea, Antonya Nelson, Charles Frazier, Linda Hogan, and Bill McKibben, Home Ground is a striking composite portrait of the landscape. At the heart of this expansive work is a community of writers in service to their country, emphasizing a language that suggests the vastness and mystery that lie beyond our everyday words.
Other Selected Reference Sources
Financial Times World Desk ReferenceCall Number: G63 .W665 2011ebISBN: 9781405308779Online book, one user at a time
The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Cultural Geography by ISBN: 9780470655597Publication Date: 2013Online book, unlimited users allowed at the same time
- The World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
1990 - current editions are online - Occupational Outlook HandbookStatistics on earnings, number of employees, and hiring trends for selected occupations.