Writing & Style Guides:

• Citations and Style Guides (UNT Libraries)--Tools for finding the correct style guide and citation formats for your discipline, and managing your research sources and bibliographies.  
• Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)--provides an excellent review of important academic writing concepts such as logic, conciseness, variety, word-choice, and citation standards.
• Scholarly Voice: Overview (Walden University)-- a clear, well-organized review of academic style.
• Traditional Academic Writing (Bradford University)--a number of short guides, info-sheets, tips, and exercises.
• Academic Writing for Graduate Students: Essential Tasks and Skills--textbook aimed particularly at non-native English speakers. 
• Style: Ten Lessons in Clarity and Grace--a classic guide to clear, concise, and effective prose.

Useful Tools for Scholarly Writers:

• RefWorks: a citation management program that allows you to generate citations & bibliographies in a variety of formats; see our online tutorials for additional help 
• WebCite is a membership-supported organization that allows an author or editor to take a snapshot of a Web resource cited within an article and cite that snapshot.
• perma.cc is similar to WebCite but dedicated just to legal literature
• Internet Archive's Wayback Machine take a snapshot on demand (see instructions)
• CrossRef  lets you check whether a DOI exists for a given article, book, etc., so that you can insert them into citations

• National Center for Faculty Development and Diversity
  Note: UNT has an institutional membership, so faculty can join for free. You can also sign up for individual memberships. Includes free webinars, writing boot camps, and "Monday Motivator" emails with guidance or self-reflective exercises. 

• Author's Alliance--membership organization for authors interested in protecting authors' rights and in the potential digital networks have for the creation and distribution of knowledge and culture. 

• Academic Ladder
  Join a writing group or dissertation group. Membership includes daily check-ins, free webinars, interactive online writing, etc.

• PhD2Published.com--"an academic writing and publishing support community" for writers at various phases of their career, from graduate school through professional life; includes blogs with tips and strategies, article and book recommendations, conference and grant opportunities, and other publishing resources.

• Textbook and Academic Authors Association (TAA): Resources for Writing & Publishing Success--membership organization that provides resources to academic writers, including trainings & tutorials, a blog and online community, and access to grants and other opportunities.

• Directory of freelance copyeditors (Copyediting-L)--search for freelance copyeditors.

• The EFA Job List lets you post a free advertisement seeking a freelance editor or search their member directory.

• Similar organizations abroad:

  • Editors' Association of Canada online directory of editors

  • The Society for Editors and Proofreaders (UK)  lets you search their member directory (free) or post a paid advertisement seeking a freelance professional editor, proofreader or editorial project manager.

  • Editorial Services Directory (Australia)

• “Developmental Editors and Writing Coaches” list (Emory University, Center for Faculty Development & Excellence)

• Freelancer, Elance, and Fivrr match freelancers of all types with those seeking services.

• Editage and Cambridge Proofreading LLC  can also find you an editor.

• The American Society for Indexing --search for an indexer or post an advertisement for a project.

• Australian and New Zealand Society of Indexers--search for indexers down under.

• Academic Writing Librarians
  A blog for academic librarians who wish to write for publication

• Academic Writing Month (November)
  Inspired by the NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), it caters to the specific needs of academic writers at all stages of their career (from undergrads to distinguished of professors). It’s hosted by  PhD2Published.com.

• The Chronicle of Higher Education Advice
  Offers columns on a variety of topics in academia including writing, research, teaching, and professional advice.

• Explorations of Style: A Blog About Academic Writing
  Offers readers an ongoing discussion of the challenges of academic writing. The ability to formulate and clarify our thoughts is central to the academic enterprise; this blog discusses strategies to improve the process of expressing our research in writing.