Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Reference Managers

Multiple free and subscription software applications are available to help you organize your references and create bibliographies for large projects.

For details about reference managers, see Wikipedia's Comparison of Reference Managers.

Features of EndNote Basic

EndNote has been around longer than RefWorks, and many researchers prefer it. EndNote Basic (sometimes called EndNote Online) is the free version of the software. Here are the main features of EndNote Basic:

  • All software is online
  • 2 GB of storage for free
  • Works with Macs or PCs
  • Collects, stores and organizes references
  • Allows you to attach and store full-text articles
  • Produces bibliographies in the citation style of your choice
  • Works with Microsoft Word via Cite While You Write to create in-text citations and a matching bibliography.

Navigate to http://www.myendnoteweb.com to create your account. Visit the Clarivate Analytics website to find more information about EndNote Basic and the for-fee EndNote. A comparison of reference managers is available in Wikipedia.

Drawbacks to EndNote Basic

  • EndNote Basic has limited capability to directly import references from databases. This means in many cases you'll have to export a RIS or other text file from the database, and then upload it to your account. When in a database, look for an export feature for EndNote Basic, EndNote Web or EndNote Online (EndNote refers to the desktop version). Some databases that will export directly are EBSCOhost databases and Web of Science. Databases that will NOT export directly are Google Scholar, JSTOR, and PubMed. You can download the Capture Reference bookmark to your browser, but it only appears to work with EBSCOhost databases. 
  • EndNote Basic cannot capture and import full text files. You will need to attach a file after entering its reference in your account.

Video Tutorials for EndNote Basic (or EndNote Online)

Additional Links

top