Guides: PSCI 3210: The Supreme Court: More Government Information

UNT Libraries is a Federal Repository. Our Government Documents are housed at Sycamore Library in Sycamore Hall and online. You can find government documents in the catalog by using the "Cataloged Books & More" tab. Follow the steps below, or contact a librarian.

Enter your search terms in the white box and click on the "search" button.
Then using the "Limit Your Search" on the left-hand side of your screen, scroll down to "Collection."
Click on the drop-down carrot symbol to access our collection options.
Click on "Government Documents."

If your item is a print resource, you can request to have the item put on hold for you, and you can request to have it ready at your preferred library location. If you want to browse the stacks at Sycamore, you will need to write down the SuDoc number. SuDoc numbers are the call numbers given to government documents--they are different from LOC call numbers that you see in your general collection. The first few letters are an abbreviation of the publishing agency. They contain many symbols. If you need help reading them to find your resources, please ask a librarian or the Sycamore help desk.

Contact a librarian if you need help finding government documents through the catalog.

Looking for more government document resources? The list below has more resource recommendations.

US Federal Government Resources

FDSys: Federal Digital System
FDSys provides free access to publications from all three branches of government. Publications available at FDSys are official and authentic.
The Lugar Center: Bipartisan Governance & Oversight
The performance of the United States Government and the security and economic well-being of the American people have suffered because of the intensifying partisanship that has afflicted political processes and societal debates in recent years. This partisanship frequently has had the effect of subordinating good governance to political combat and locking leaders into inflexible positions. We have seen innumerable examples of both parties failing the most basic tests of governance, including the 2013 government shutdown, the inability to enact a long-term deficit reduction program, reliance on the fiscal cliff sequester, the near abandonment of a bill-by-bill appropriations process, and repeated failures to pass an annual budget resolution. Faced with reflexive partisan roadblocks, Congress also has frequently retreated from legislating on foreign policy, with negative consequences for national security. Treaty ratification during the Obama Administration has come to a near standstill. For many years, comprehensive Foreign Affairs Authorization bills have received low priority for floor time and leadership attention. Congress is largely failing to pursue systematic and timely reviews of the most strategically important questions in foreign policy. In the process, it is weakening its capacity to function as either a partner or as a constructive critic of the Executive Branch in foreign affairs. Thus, "the Lugar Center is dedicated to incentivizing public officials to put governance first, fostering more meaningful policy debates, encouraging civility in political speech, and promoting structural reforms that can reduce partisanship."

United States Office of Government Ethics
Forms, Publications and Other Ethics Documents Includes public and confidential financial disclosure forms, model trust documents, a review of agency programs, and more. The U.S. Office of Government Ethics provides access to many full-text publications in their Ethics Resource Library. Included are Reference Publications, Booklets, Pamphlets, OGE Ethics Newsgram, Reports and Plans, Surveys and Questionnaires, and Proposed Legislation. Dates of Coverage: 1978 - present
SHAFR Guide Online
The SHAFR Guide is an annotated bibliography of U.S. Foreign Relations since 1600. It provides an annotated bibliography of historical work covering the entire span of U.S. foreign relations. It aims to jump-start the research of both students and advanced scholars.
Race Relations in America
Race Relations in American provides records of speeches, reports, surveys, and analyses produced by Fisk University's Race Relations Department from 1943-1970. This information documents the civil rights fight with concentrations on desegregation, migration of African Americans from the rural South to urban centers, the role of the Church in the Civil Rights Movement, race riots and tensions, and the activists of the Civil Rights movement.
Records of the Children's Bureau, 1912-1969
Records of the Children's Bureau, 1912-1969 consists of reports, speeches, correspondence, and research materials from the Children's Bureau, the first federal agency dedicated entirely to protecting the welfare of children and families. The documents in this collection span the years from its creation in 1912 through 1969 and originate from the administrative files of the bureau staff members.
Budget of the U.S. Government
Budget of the U.S. Government Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. Also included are historical tables, appendices, and analytical perspectives. Dates of Coverage: 1996 – current
Digital National Security Archive
Digital National Security Archive gives access to classified U.S. government documents, providing vital primary source material to advance research in twentieth and twenty-first century history, politics, and international relations. With coverage from 1945 to the present, more than 875,000 pages and approximately 140,000 documents respectively are included, with many gathered through extensive use of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act by The Archive.
American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
This digitized collection of Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) documents chronicles the evolution of the American Indian Movement (AIM) as an organization of social protest. There is additional documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee Stand-off. Informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI provide insight into the motives, actions, and leadership of AIM and the development of Native American radicalism. Documents are full-text searchable and can be downloaded as a PDF.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America offers a comprehensive view into the interactions between Indigenous Peoples and Europeans. It spans from their initial contact to the civil rights movement, featuring material from the renowned Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library.
America, history and life
America: History and Life provides access to abstracts of journal articles and citations to book/media reviews and dissertations gleaned from over 1700 journal titles dealing with the history of the United States and Canada. Writings in over 40 languages are included. All abstracts, are written in English. Dates of Coverage: 1954 - Current

How-tos

Federal Legislative Histories
A basic outline of steps and resources for locating federal legislative histories from the Library of Congress
Understanding Federal Statutes
A guide for understanding and finding federal statutes.
Federal Register and CFR
Information about U.S. regulations and related publications.

University Libraries

PSCI 3210: The Supreme Court

Outreach & Instruction Librarian | Political Science Librarian

Guide Feedback

US Federal Government Resources

How-tos

PSCI 3210: The Supreme Court

US Federal Government Resources

How-tos

Additional Links