Skip to Main Content

notice Some items are only available on campus or will require authentication via EUID and Password at the point of use.

Popular Reading

Searching the Catalog

The library website provides different ways to search for books in the catalog. The Advanced Search page allows you to easily find popular reading by setting a few search parameters. Advanced Search is accessed below the search bar within the “Cataloged Books & More” tab on the library homepage.

Search By

The Advanced Search page of the library catalog allows you to specify the format of library resources when conducting searches. From the Advanced Search page, start by selecting how you want to access popular reading materials through the “Access” tab. Two options are provided: 

  •  “At the Library,” which connects you to physical library materials. 
  • “Online,” which connects you to online library materials.  

The next search parameter to set is the kind of resource you want to access, and this is done by selecting the “Resource Type” tab. To find popular reading materials, select “Books” from this list. 

The results will include titles that are only physical copies, only E-Books, or both, depending on your selections. 

The Advanced Search page will also allow you to search for books by genre. First, make sure that you have selected “Books” under the “Resource Type” tab.  

You then can specify the genre(s) you are interested in by entering them as keywords under the “Genre” section. “Fiction” is most likely to pull up popular reading materials. However, other genres to search may include, but are not limited to: 

  • Action and adventure fiction 
  • Detective and mystery fiction 
  • Fantasy fiction 
  • Historical fiction 
  • Horror fiction 
  • Humorous fiction 
  • Romance fiction 
  • Science fiction 
  • Thrillers (Fiction) 
  • Young adult fiction 

To view results of multiple different genres, separate your terms with “OR”, e.g.: 

  • Fiction OR Poetry 

The results will include titles that are only of the genre(s) you specify.

The Advanced Search page will also allow you to search for books by location. First, make sure that you have selected “Books” under the “Resource Type” tab. There are two ways you can specify location: 

  • The “Building Location” tab has a few locations, but the following will house popular reading materials:
    • Chilton Media Library
    • Discovery Park Library
    • Frisco Landing Library
    • Remote Storage
    • Sycamore Library
    • Willis Library
  • The “Shelf Location” tab allows you to pick between many library “shelves”, but the following are likely to house popular reading materials: 
    • Discovery Park Library Featured Books 
    • Frisco Landing Library Graphic Novels 
    • Sycamore Library 1FL Display 
    • Sycamore Library Juvenile Collection 
    • Willis 1FL Best Sellers (McNaughton Collection)
    • Willis 1FL Featured Books  
    • Willis 1FL Monthly Display 
    • Willis 3FL Graphic Novels 
    • Willis Library-3rd Floor 

The results will include titles that are only in the library or shelf that you specify.  

Online Holds

Requesting books from the library collection through Online Holds is a convenient way to pickup materials you need. After finding a book you want in the Discover catalog, click on the "Request for pickup" link to submit a hold request. Requests are processed within 48 hours if the items are available and will be held at the requested service desk for 7 business days from the time of email notification. Some materials will have restrictions on where the items can be picked up. 

Request pickup option for available book.

Pickup Locations:

  • Discovery Park Library Service Desk
  • Faculty - Deliver to Dept Office (Faculty Only)
  • Frisco Landing Library Service Desk
  • Media Library Service Desk
  • Music Library Service Desk
  • Sycamore Library Service Desk
  • Willis Library Services Desk
  • Willis Self-Service Pickup

Databases

E-Books at UNT Libraries appear in both the catalog and in databases. Databases like eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) and ProQuest Ebook Central are also able to connect you to popular reading materials. 

Recommend for Purchase

If you would like to recommend a book or other material for purchase, you can submit a New Purchase Request/Recommendation. Submissions will be evaluated in accordance with our Collection Development policy.