Find Articles - Search All Databases and More
Find Articles is a software known as a "discovery tool." It allows you to simultaneously search 92% of the UNT Libraries' electronic resources. This means that with one search you can look for ebooks and for articles in many databases.
Find Articles also links you to the full text of the ebooks and articles available at UNT, making it a quick way to get a handful of ebooks and articles on a topic. It's great for short papers and a good starting point for more involved papers and projects.
You can go here for more detailed instructions on how to use Find Articles.
Accessing Databases
For remote access your EUID and password are necessary to gain access to the UNT Libraries' electronic resources
Lists all electronic databases for UNT Libraries
Article Databases
-
Academic search completeAcademic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
-
Gale Academic OneFileGale Academic OneFile offers access to a variety of materials on a wide range of academic subjects, including scholarly journals, podcasts, transcripts, and more.
-
JSTORJSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.
-
Nexis UniNexis Uni provides access to news, legal, and business sources including journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, newspapers, and legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes.
-
ProQuest Political ScienceProQuest Political Science Journals includes articles from leading political science journals, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy. Dates of Coverage: 1985 - current
-
Sage Journals onlineSage Journals Online indexes journals from ten different Full-Text Collections including Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Health Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning. Dates of Coverage: varies by title.
-
Social Science DatabaseSocial Science Database provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text for social science journals. Subject coverage includes anthropology, communication science, demography, economics, education, political science, psychology, policy studies, social work, and sociology. Journals from over 50 countries are featured, providing for multidisciplinary research from a variety of perspectives. Resources can include scholarly journals, trade journals. magazines, conference papers and proceedings, government and official publications, newspapers, and other sources.
-
Taylor & Francis online journalsTaylor & Francis Journals is a package offering full-text access to over 200 journals and index access to over 1,600 titles spanning all areas of humanities, social sciences, science, engineering and technology. Dates of Coverage: Varies by journal.
Finding Peer Reviewed Articles
Peer review is a practice in which an article proposed for publication is reviewed by a group of experts in the same field as the article to establish that it meets established standards for scholarly research.
Many databases include a checkbox that allows you to limit search results to peer reviewed items. Sometimes it appears in the area below the basic search box. If it isn't there, look at the search options available with the advanced search.
Another way to determine if an article is Peer Reviewed or Scholarly, is to search for the title of the journal which published the article in: Ulrichsweb
The Referee Shirt icon indicates the journal is refereed or peer reviewed.
Finding the full text of an article
- If you have the DOI, paste it directly into the search box on the Libraries' homepage. Click on the "DOI found" button and attempt access through the three options provided.
- From the Libraries homepage, go to the search box and select "Online Articles" from the dropdown menu. Copy and paste the title of the article into the search box. Putting the title in quotation marks will improve the accuracy of your search. This system finds many of the articles that the UNT Libraries has access to. If the title is short and uses common words, this technique alone might not work, so you should also include the last names of the author(s).
- Next, try searching for the title in Google Scholar—again with just the title or possibly also the names of the author(s). If you are working off campus, be sure to configure "library links" (see instructions). Note that Google Scholar includes not just links to full text of the final published versions but also earlier drafts of articles in cases where the author makes them available. These likely lack the final pagination or other details that you might need in order to find an exact point referenced in a citation.
- If these options do not take you to the full text, look up the title of the journal (not the title of the article!) to see if the UNT Libraries has access. From the Libraries homepage, type the name of the journal in the central search box. Select "Cataloged Books and More" from the dropdown menu before clicking search. If you find the journal, you may be presented with options to access the journal online through one or more platforms and/or to find a print version of the journal in the physical collections of the Libraries. Once you reach the journal, you will need to find your specific article, perhaps by locating the volume and issue in which it's located.
- If you are still unable to find full-text access, you can request the article through InterLibrary Loan or you can contact your subject librarian for additional help.