Guides: Merchandising and Digital Retailing: Statistics

Indexes of Statistical Sources

IPoll databank
Contains over half a million survey questions and answers from over 150 survey organizations. Contains data from over 70 years of U.S. national public opinion surveys in a variety of topics.
Social Explorer
"Social Explorer provides easy-to-use tools for visual exploration of demographic information, from census and economic data to election and religion data, and more. With these interactive online tools, users can visually explore change over time and understand the patterns behind the raw numbers."
Statista

Statista aggregates statistical data on international industries from thousands of sources including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases. Statista provides access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and other areas of interest.

Market Research Merchandising and Retailing

Retail business market research handbook
provides a comprehensive overview of consumer buying trends in the United States, and the competitive environment surrounding this rapidly changing marketplace.
Apparel retail in the United States
A resource of information on key vertical markets. This industry profile identifies market size, competitive landscape and provides forecast data of market performance.
Global housewares & specialties
A resource of information on key vertical markets. This industry profile identifies market size, competitive landscape and provides forecast data of market performance.

Consumer Expenditure Survey

The Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) program consists of two surveys, the Quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. The survey data are collected for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau.

Consumer Expenditure Home
Consumer Expenditure Annual and Biennal Reports
Includes integrated data from the Diary and Interview portions of the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) including one-page data tables and is usually published a few months after the annual press release. The tables show average expenditures, income, and characteristics for consumer units classified by 13 characteristics--quintiles of income, before-tax income class, age of the reference person, size of the consumer unit, composition of the consumer unit, number of earners, housing tenure, type of area (urban or rural), race, Hispanic origin, region of residence, occupation, and highest education level of any consumer-unit member. The tables in the biennial report include the same characteristics that are shown in the annual report, but with additional expenditure detail. Also included are tables showing average annual data over a 2-year period for the following characteristics: Income before taxes cross-tabulated by either age, consumer unit size, or region; single consumers by gender cross-tabulated by either income or age; and selected Metropolitan Statistical Areas. The biennial report also compares survey data with other data sources.
Quarterly Web Reports Using CE Data
These reports include analyses of expenditure data as they apply to various
topics of interest, as well as methodological and research articles pertaining to a number of survey topics.
Monthly Labor Review Articles by CE Staff and Others Using CE Data
Additional CE analyses

Data Sources for Retail Trade from the U.S. Census Bureau

Guide to All Census Bureau Data Sources for Retail Trade
The Retail Trade sector comprises establishments engaged in retailing merchandise, generally without transformation, and rendering services incidental to the sale of merchandise. The retailing process is the final step in the distribution of merchandise; retailers are, therefore, organized to sell merchandise in small quantities to the general public. This sector comprises two main types of retailers: store and nonstore retailers. Can drill down into more specific NAICS codes.

Other Statistical Sources

Best Customers: Demographics of Consumer Demand
Analyzes household spending on numerous products and services by age, income, household type, race and Hispanic origin, region of residence, and educational attainment of householder. Identifies which households spend the most on a product or service (the best customers) and which control the largest share of spending (the biggest customers). Includes chapters on restaurants/carry-out and travel.
Consumer behavior 2015-2016
Presents dozens of surveys analyzing consumer spending characteristics, behavioral responses, and preferences. The demographics chapters present valuable insight into 25 segments, including the Hispanic, African-American, Asian-American, Baby Boomer, Generation X, Millennial, Gay & Lesbian, Affluent, and other consumer groups. Over 650 website links - directly embedded into the electronic edition - will direct you to additional market research and other resources.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Topic areas include population demographics, vital statistics, education, law enforcement, elections, federal/state/local government finances and employment, national security and veterans affairs, social insurance and human services, labor force, poverty and wealth, business enterprise, science and technology, agriculture and natural resources, energy and utilities, construction and housing, manufactures, wholesale and retail trade, transportation, information and communications, banking and finance, arts and recreation, accommodation and food services, foreign commerce and aid, Puerto Rico and the island areas, and international statistics. Dates of Coverage: 1878 (with some data back to 1789)–2012.

Search Systems

Getting Started

Advanced Research Support

Checking Out Materials

Delivery Services

From Other Libraries

Equipment

Additional Information

Talk to an Expert

Scholarly/Professional Help

Help with Borrowed Items

Topical Help

Additional Needs

Help with Technology & Printing

Outside & Self Help

Course Support for Students

Other Learning Support

Writing, Citing, and More

For Faculty

Locations

Technology

Study & Reservations

Outside the Box

Rules & Policies

People

Get Involved

Administrative

Find Us

Contributing

Documentation & Forms

Merchandising and Digital Retailing

Indexes of Statistical Sources

Market Research Merchandising and Retailing

Consumer Expenditure Survey

Data Sources for Retail Trade from the U.S. Census Bureau

Data Sources for Retail Trade from the U.S. Census Bureau

Other Statistical Sources

Other Statistical Sources