Skip to Main Content

notice Some items are only available on campus or will require authentication via EUID and Password at the point of use.

Merchandising and Digital Retailing

Subject Terms for Merchandising

Important keywords for merchandising searches are:

  • clothing and dress
  • food
  • furniture
  • house furnishings
  • interior decoration
  • merchandising
  • textile fabrics
  • retail
  • retail trade
  • visual merchandising
  • product presentation

Article Databases

WWD (Women's Wear Daily)

Finding Newspaper Articles

Newspaper Databases

Tips for Finding Articles

Log in with your EUID and password if you are off-campus.

Limit your search by the following:

  • collection of newspapers, e.g. US newspapers
  • date range
  • geographic area, e.g., Japan, Oklahoma
  • topic

Individual Newspapers

To browse or search within a particular newspaper online, start by searching for the newspaper title in the UNT Libraries e-Journals search.

Step 1: Go to the UNT Libraries homepage at http://www.library.unt.edu/ and locate the central search box. Click on the "Databases & E-Resources" tab.

Databases & E-Resources tab

Step 2: Enter the name of the newspaper you want to explore into the search field, and then click the "Search" button.

"new york times" in search text box

Step 3: Browse through the search results and find the title that closely matches the newspaper you are looking for. Click on the option that provides full-text access for the dates you are interested in.

Finding the full text of an article

  1. If you have the DOI, paste it directly into the search box on the Libraries' homepage. Click on the "DOI found" button and attempt access through the three options provided.
  2. From the Libraries homepage, go to the search box and select "Online Articles" from the dropdown menu. Copy and paste the title of the article into the search box. Putting the title in quotation marks will improve the accuracy of your search. This system finds many of the articles that the UNT Libraries has access to. If the title is short and uses common words, this technique alone might not work, so you should also include the last names of the author(s).
  3. Next, try searching for the title in Google Scholar—again with just the title or possibly also the names of the author(s). If you are working off campus, be sure to configure "library links" (see instructions). Note that Google Scholar includes not just links to full text of the final published versions but also earlier drafts of articles in cases where the author makes them available. These likely lack the final pagination or other details that you might need in order to find an exact point referenced in a citation.
  4. If these options do not take you to the full text, look up the title of the journal (not the title of the article!) to see if the UNT Libraries has access. From the Libraries homepage, type the name of the journal in the central search box. Select "Cataloged Books and More" from the dropdown menu before clicking search.  If you find the journal, you may be presented with options to access the journal online through one or more platforms and/or to find a print version of the journal in the physical collections of the Libraries. Once you reach the journal, you will need to find your specific article, perhaps by locating the volume and issue in which it's located.
  5. If you are still unable to find full-text access, you can request the article through InterLibrary Loan or you can contact your subject librarian for additional help.