Listed below are highlighted titles from the library collection on fashion and fashion merchandising.
Apparel Merchandising by
Apparel Merchandising: The Line Starts Here analyzes the evolution and development of the merchandising function in branded apparel companies and retail private label apparel. It describes today's challenges for both apparel manufacturers and retailers in meeting the consumer's demands for the right products at the right prices - and at the right times. Approached from the perspective of the apparel product manager, Rosenau and Wilson cover men's and women's sportswear and activewear and children's wear in both domestic and international markets. The text follows the evolution of the merchandising function with emphasis on product development and production efficiency, highlighting the philosophies of industry executives and the effective integration of the merchandising, marketing, and manufacturing functions along the way. The third edition emphasizes the increased importance of retailer's private brands, explores how companies apply technology to all facets of product development and supply chain management, and addresses the impact of social media on both retailers and apparel manufacturers.
The Business of Fashion by
This new edition focuses on the organisation & operation of the U.S. textiles & fashion industry - how fashion apparel & accessories are designed, manufactured, marketed & distributed. Although it focuses on the organisation & operation on the fashion industry within the U.S., the role of the industries in the global context is covered.
Fashion Buying by
Fashion Buying: From Trend Forecasting to Shop Floor uniquely looks at what fashion buying entails in terms of the activities, processes and people involved - from the perspective of the fashion buyer. It breaks down the five key areas of buying activity for those wishing to pursue a career in the industry; crucially exploring the role of the fashion buyer, sources of buying inspiration, sourcing and communication, merchandise planning, and trends in fashion buying. The book features insightful interviews with successful fashion creatives alongside business case studies, putting the contents of each chapter into professional context and perspective. Exercises and activities also enable you to apply your knowledge of the subject as you work through the book. Fully illustrated with inspiring imagery, Fashion Buying is an invaluable go-to handbook for fashion design, marketing, buying and merchandising students, written by industry experts.
Fashion Merchandising by
Fashion Merchandising: Principles and Practice provides a detailed overview of the role of the fashion merchandiser and outlines the activities and responsibilities of the merchandiser as part of the fashion value chain. This overview is situated within the broader context of the fashion industry, highlighting the relevance of the merchandiser role and comparing it to the role of the fashion buyer. This book also considers the contemporary challenges facing the wider industry, such as corporate social responsibility, sustainability, globalisation and multi-channel distribution, and the impact these have on the role of the merchandiser.Offering valuable insight into the merchandiser role and emphasising how it can add value to a fashion business, this is an ideal textbook for aspiring merchandisers.Key features: - Detailed strategic and analytical coverage of the subject - Strong application of theory to the realities of the fashion business - A running case study provides a practical example of the activities of the fashion merchandiserJames Clark is a Senior Lecturer at London College of Fashion, University of the Arts, UK'I am delighted to see that for the first time there will be a book that truly understands the role of the merchandiser within the European retail sector and explains clearly how that role varies depending on the business model employed. This book will be hugely useful for individuals considering either courses or a career in this sector, and will help student understanding of the role and of the wider context within which merchandisers operate.' - Helen Armour, University of Westminster, UK'It's the book we have been waiting for! This book will be a great teaching aid to students studying fashion and to anyone who wants to understand the merchandising role.' - Stephanie Liberman, Regent's College London, UK
Fashion Retailing by
For courses in Retailing, Introduction to Retailing, Retailing Principles, Retail Marketing, and Fashion Retailing. The only retailing text that exclusively focuses on the fashion segment of the retailing industry, its complete coverage includes the author, s personal experience, in-depth interviews with industry professionals, and a wealth of pertinent photographs, exposing fashion retailing as a multi-channel industry. Pearson Education is proud to bring world-renowned Dorling Kindersley (DK) products to your classroom. Instantly recognized by their fascinating, full-color photographs and illustrations on every page, DK titles will add meaning to expository text and make learning accessible and, fun. Other DK hallmarks include cross-section views, 3D models, and text to visual call-outs to help readers comprehend and enjoy the wealth of information each book provides. With Pearson, you can see DK in a whole new way For a complete listing of titles, please visit: http: //us.dk.com/pears
Handbook of Research on Global Fashion Management and Merchandising by
Innovation and novel leadership strategies have aided the successful growth of the fashion industry around the globe. However, as the dynamics of the industry are constantly changing, a deficit can emerge in the overall comprehension of industry strategies and practices. The Handbook of Research on Global Fashion Management and Merchandising explores the various facets of effective management procedures within the fashion industry. Featuring research on entrepreneurship, operations management, marketing, business modeling, and fashion technology, this publication is an extensive reference source for practitioners, academics, researchers, and students interested in the dynamics of the fashion industry.
In Fashion by
This 2nd Edition of Elaine Stone's best-selling text, In Fashion, offers a clear introduction to the fashion industry that is as dynamic as the business itself. Through concise language and full-color photographs, author Elaine Stone provides students with an overview of fashion, from its history, cyclical nature, and development to the materials, producers, and retailers who impact the business on a global level. Whether their plans include design, product development, merchandising, buying, manufacturing, or entrepreneurship, students will gain a thorough understanding of how the industry works and what lies ahead for them professionally.
Merchandising of Fashion Products by
Taking an integrative approach, this book provides a fresh and comprehensive look at merchandising across multiple levels within the industry pipeline. With emphasis on merchandising in the FTAR complex, the book looks at the entire process from strategic planning, to product creation, to product preparation, to a buyer's shopping of the market weeks, to product delivery and presentation to the consumer. Using industry pictures and insider information, the book addresses the modern marketplace and links both manufacturing and retailing to the consumer through the merchandising process.
Listed below are highlighted titles from the library collection on furniture styles, furniture making and furniture merchandising.
Chinese Classical Furniture by
The Ming dynasty was China's golden age, producing much of the nation's finest ceramics, textiles, literature, and paintings. In recent years collectors have also recognized the Ming's achievements in furniture design, particularly intricately shaped, ingeniously engineered hardwood pieceswhich display an elegant sophistication in material and craft.Chinese Classical Furniture provides a richly illustrated introduction to this world of the Ming furniture. After summarizing the history of Chinese furnishings, the author explores the materials used and techniques employed in the construction of Ming chairs, stools, tables, cabinets, stands, andbeds. A full catalogue of the existing styles of each type is provided, together with woodblock illustrations from Ming novels to establish how the furniture was arranged in houses of the time.
The Complete Guide to Furniture Styles by
This classic guide to furniture styles discusses the development of domestic furniture in Europe, American, & China detailing the great periods of French & English furniture from the Renaissance through the Empire & Regency periods. Furniture from every age is represented in over 600 photos.
Dictionary of Furniture by
Contains some 2,000 entries on forms and styles in furniture, from ancient times to the present and in every region of the world. Entries detail specifics in furniture styles, designs, and material, such as types and textures of wood, details of construction, architectural style, and cultural signif
Encyclopedia of Furniture Materials, Trades and Techniques by
An essential work of reference for furniture historians and anyone interested in the fine and decorative arts, the Encyclopedia of Furniture Materials, Trades and Techniques is the first comprehensive account of both historical and modern furniture manufacture. In more than 1700 entries, Clive Edwards brings together information on a wide range of topics. In-depth coverage includes developments in Britain and America, from the Renaissance to the present day.
Furniture-Makers and Consumers in England, 1754-1851 by
Covering the period from the publication of Thomas Chippendale's The Gentleman and Cabinet-Makers' Director (1754) to the Great Exhibition (1851), this book analyses the relationships between producer retailers and consumers of furniture and interior design, and explores what effect dialogues surrounding these transactions had on the standardisation of furniture production during this period. This was an era, before mass production, when domestic furniture was made both to order and from standard patterns and negotiations between producers and consumers formed a crucial part of the design and production process. This study narrows in on three main areas of this process: the role of pattern books and their readers; the construction of taste and style through negotiation; and daily interactions through showrooms and other services, to reveal the complexities of English material culture in a period of industrialisation.
Furniture Design and Construction for the Interior Designer by
Furniture Design and Construction for the Interior Designer satisfies the need in the interior design field for a source that teaches the aesthetic as well as the construction of residential furniture. Beginning chapters cover the design process as it relates to furniture design, basic materials, hardware, joinery, and finishes. Because interior designers organize and create livable spaces, later chapters are organized room by room, showing how pieces are constructed for a particular space. Understanding the basic construction of furniture greatly increases the success of the design. Interior designers should be confident in their design work as well as have an understanding of what is involved with the construction of their pieces, and that is what Natale and this book guide them toward.
Furniture Marketing by
Furniture Marketing, 2nd Edition, contains an overview of how furniture products are developed, marketed, and presented to targeted retailers and consumers. Bennington focuses on developing an appreciation for furniture as a functional art form. This new edition covers the entire industry, including types of furniture, design periods, product development, and manufacturing. The text also explains how to sell furniture through pricing, promotion, and distribution. Residential furniture is the main focus of Furniture Marketing, but there is a chapter on contract furniture. This book can serve as a helpful reference for students as well as beginning and experienced employees of manufacturers, retailers, and wholesalers.
The Furniture of Gustav Stickley by 
History of Interior Design and Furniture by
Starting around 3200 BC, at the height of artistic development in Egypt, Blakemore presents a sweeping historical survey of 5 millennia of stylistic periods in interior design, decoration and furniture.
Identifying American Furniture by 
Sourcebook of Modern Furniture by
This is an illustrated guide to influential furniture and lighting designs of the 20th century. It catalogues a selection of the creations of renowned designers and architects. Arranged by type, the pieces have been chosen for the quality of the design, innovative manufacturing technique or use of material, as well as successful synthesis of form and function. Each entry gives the essential details of the design.
Textiles for Residential and Commercial Interiors by
Devoted entirely to textiles for interiors, Textiles for Residential and Commercial Interiors, 4th Edition, focuses on the most current fiber and fabric information including new fiber technology and nanofibers, the role of the interior designer in selecting textiles, and the environmental impact of textiles. The book includes in-depth coverage of household and institutional textiles, in addition to commercial and residential textiles for upholstered furniture, windows, walls, and floor coverings. Full-color line drawings and photographs illustrate fibers, yarns, fabrics, manufacturing equipment, coloring, finishings, and end products. Textiles for Residential and Commercial Interiors provides students with all of the technical information, aesthetic fundamentals, and practical knowledge they need to select textiles for every type of residential and commercial interior.
