Executive Office of the President
- Super Me/Super Yo: A Bilingual Activity Book for Young Children/Un Libro Bilingüe de Actividades para los Pequeños byCall Number: PREX 20.2:SU 7Publication Date: 1975This book, developed by the National Coordinating Council on Drug Education under a grant from the White House Special Action Office for Drug Abuse Prevention, contains stories, games, and other activities to help children ages 4–6 develop the self-esteem and other life skills needed to avoid abusing drugs and engaging in other self-destructive behaviors. Although the book was written to help prevent drug abuse, there is no information about drugs in the book. The printed text appears in both English and Spanish. Includes a wearable paper medal and a guide for parents, teacher, and older siblings.
Federal Communications Commission
- Young Boaters, Welcome to Marine Radio: Activity Book byCall Number: CC 1.2:B 63Publication Date: 1986This activity book uses coloring pages, connect-the-dots puzzles, a word search puzzle, and simple instructions to teach young boaters how to use a marine radio to call for help. "Drawings for this booklet were provided through the efforts of the FCC Detroit Office."
Federal Emergency Management Agency
Sesame Street Fire Safety Station
Sesame Street Fire Safety Station (Third edition) by Call Number: FEM 1.102:F 51/18Publication Date: 1996This activity book with coloring pages is the third edition of the Sesame Street Fire Safety Resource Book, produced for the Sesame Street Fire Safety Project with the resources and guidance of the Federal Emergency Management Agency's U.S. Fire Administration and the Community Education Services division of Children's Television Workshop. This kit contains updated skits, as well as an audiocassette with newly-produced songs and stories. These materials help educators teach preschoolers simple, memorable fire safety messages. They can be effective in one-time teaching situations or on an ongoing basis.- Color and Learn: Sesame Street Fire Safety Station (1997 edition) byCall Number: FEM 1.102:C 71Publication Date: ©1997This free fire safety coloring and activities booklet is designed for parents to teach their pre-school children (ages 3-5) the importance of fire safety in the home. Each page in the book illustrates a particular fire safety message highlighted in the Sesame Street Fire Safety Station program. These messages include "Plan and Practice Fire Drills"; Smoke Detectors Warn about Fires"; "Hot Things Burn"; "Get Out and Stay Out!"; "Stop, Drop, and Roll"; and "Firefighters Rescue People and Put Out Fires."
- Colorea y aprende: Sesame Street: Evitemos fuegos con Sesame Street byCall Number: FEM 1.102:C 71/SPAN.Publication Date: ©1997“Colorea y aprende” es un libro de colorear relacionado con la seguridad contra incendios y Sesame Street. Este recurso educativo se utiliza para enseñar a los niños sobre la prevención de incendios en el hogar. A través de actividades de colorear, los pequeños pueden aprender sobre la importancia de mantenerse seguros y cómo evitar situaciones peligrosas relacionadas con el fuego.
- Color and Learn: Sesame Street Fire Safety Station (2002 reprint) byCall Number: FEM 1.102:C 71/2Publication Date: 2002This free fire safety coloring and activities booklet is designed for parents to teach their pre-school children (ages 3-5) the importance of fire safety in the home. Each page in the book illustrates a particular fire safety message highlighted in the Sesame Street Fire Safety Station program. These messages include "Plan and Practice Fire Drills"; Smoke Detectors Warn about Fires"; "Hot Things Burn"; "Get Out and Stay Out!"; "Stop, Drop, and Roll"; and "Firefighters Rescue People and Put Out Fires."
- Color and Learn: Sesame Street Fire Safety Station (2008 edition) byCall Number: HS 5.102:F 21/3Publication Date: 2008This downloadable fire safety coloring and activities E-book is designed for parents to teach their pre-school children (ages 3-5) the importance of fire safety in the home. Each page in the book illustrates a particular fire safety message highlighted in the Sesame Street Fire Safety Station program. These messages include "Plan and Practice Fire Drills"; Smoke Detectors Warn about Fires"; "Hot Things Burn"; "Get Out and Stay Out!"; "Stop, Drop, and Roll"; and "Firefighters Rescue People and Put Out Fires."
Let's Have Fun with Fire Safety
Let's Have Fun with Fire Safety: Exty and Hydro's Activity Book by Call Number: FEM 1.102:F 95Publication Date: 1999This coloring and activity book provides children with valuable learning tools about fire safety and prevention. Lessons are presented by the anthropomorphic government messengers Exty (a fire extinguisher) and Hydro (a Dalmatian fire dog).
Let's Have Fun with Fire Safety: Marty and Jett's Activity Book by Call Number: HS 5.202:F 95Publication Date: 2005This coloring and activity book provides children ages 5 through 9 with valuable learning tools about fire safety and prevention. It contains quizzes, connect-the-dot games, word scrambles, and coloring pages. Hosts are Marty (a human) and Jett (a turtle with a fire helmet for a shell).
Let's Have Fun with Fire Safety by Call Number: HS 5.202:F 51/9 xPublication Date: 2016This coloring and activity book gives children valuable fire safety and prevention tips through coloring pages, math problems, mapmaking, and other activities. Lessons are presented by an anonymous firefighter and other uniformed members of the fire department whose roles are never explained.
¡Divirtámonos aprendiendo sobre la seguridad contra incendios! by Call Number: HS 5.202:F 51/9/SPAN.Publication Date: 2016Este libro de actividades les brindará a los niños valiosos consejos de prevención y seguridad contra incendios. Las lecciones son presentadas por un bombero anónimo y otros miembros uniformados del departamento de bomberos cuyas funciones nunca se explican.
Federal Energy Administration
Meet Energy Ant by Call Number: FE 1.2:AN 8/3 c.2Publication Date: 1975Cover title: Energy Activities with Energy Ant. This oversize (27 x 40 cm) coloring/activity book uses the FEA's Energy Ant character to teach children about energy and how to use it wisely. Activities include games, puzzles, and cutouts.- A Note from Energy Ant byCall Number: FE 1.2:AN 8/2Publication Date: [1975]This brief pamphlet provides suggestions for how teachers can use Meet Energy Ant (cover title: Energy Activities with Energy Ant) in the classroom. Includes additional projects and a bibliography of supplemental books, teaching guides, and educational films.
U.S. Bureau of Land Management
- Birds of the Basins Activity Book17 birds of Klamath and Land county Oregon are presented in this coloring book. One fancifully illustrated fact for each bird is followed by a full-page, realistic portrait of the bird that can be colored and is suitable for framing. Color images of the birds are also included for reference. A joint project of Bureau of Land Management, Lakeview District; Forest Service, Fremont National Forest; and Fish and Wildlife Service, Klamath Basin Ecosystem Restoration.
U.S. Bureau of Reclamation
Minnie Mermaid Teaches Sam to Lock Out Drowning by Call Number: I 27.2:D 83/4Publication Date: 1992This coloring book encourages young children to learn how to swim and provides guidelines on how to be safe around water. Not all the safety rules pertain specifically to drowning.
U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
- It Hurts when They Cry: "Bumps" Activity Book byCall Number: Y 3.C 76/3:2 B 88Publication Date: 1976This coloring and activity book uses connect-the-dots, word and picture games, a crossword puzzle, and other activities to teach children about how to keep a baby safe from injury.
U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)
- George Washington Carver Coloring and Activity Book byCall Number: A 1.2:C 25Publication Date: [between 1990 and 1999?]This collection of coloring pages and educational activities helps teach primary school students about the life and achievements of George Washington Carver and includes materials keyed to a wide variety of school subjects, including math, science, language arts, and social studies.
- Cook It Safely: Consumer Education Planning Guide 1999 byCall Number: A 1.11/3:F 73/3Publication Date: 1999"Cook It Safely" was the theme for National Food Safety Education Month in 1999. This planning guide features the character "BAC" (bacterium), and provides educational materials to promote food safety. It contains media materials, reproducible leaflets, a Fight BAC! logo, and activities for school children from kindergarten through 6th grade.
Biosecurity for Birds Coloring Book by Call Number: A 1.68:1886Publication Date: 2006This coloring book is a fun way to encourage children to learn the basics of what we call "backyard biosecurity." By coloring and reading this booklet, your child will become more aware of everything they can do to keep their birds healthy and help stop diseases such as "bird flu." For some reason the online version of this coloring book has the title Biosecurity for the Birds.- [Farming in the Classroom] byCall Number: A 1.104:8Publication Date: 1973This Science Study Aid introduces children to farm animals and explains how these animals are useful to them. It is presented in three sections: (1) a teacher's guide, which contains the activities; (2) a workbook; and (3) a coloring book. The workbook and coloring book are attached separately so they can be easily removed and photocopied.
- Smokey Bear byCall Number: A 13.2:SMOK 75/ COLOR.1 and COLOR.2.Publication Date: [between 1975 and 1979]This educational kit includes two reproducible coloring pages: "Please be careful with fire" and "Protect our homes, don't play with matches, prevent forest fires." The kit also contains several activity books that may include pages suitable for coloring.
The Forest Service's Color the Outdoors webpage features several more online coloring pages related to Smokey Bear and Woodsy Owl. - Working Trees: A Coloring Book and Activity Guide to Teach the Importance of Trees, and the Many Jobs They Perform in Our Environment byCall Number: A 13.2:T 71/58Publication Date: 1994A coloring book and activity guide to teach the importance of trees and the many jobs they perform in our environment.
Junior Ranger Activity Book: Umpqua National Forest by Call Number: A 13.2:UM 6/2Publication Date: 2014Fun activities and interesting facts about the Umpqua National Forest prepare young readers for the responsibilities of becoming a Junior Forest Ranger.
Mark Trail: Living on the Wild Side… Responsibly, An Activity Book about Living Near Wildlands by Call Number: A 13.2:W 64/46 xPublication Date: © 2005 North America Syndicate, Inc.This coloring and activity book describes the responsibilities, risks, and rewards of living in the Wildland Urban Interface—i.e., the area where wildlands and urban environments meet. Designed with the input of many teachers and students to be educational, fun, and self-contained (with options for expanding lessons), the activities in this book meet the following National Achievement Standards: The 1996 National Science Education Standards, the 1996 Standards for English and Language Arts, the 1994 National Geography Standards, the 2000 Principles and Standards for School Mathematics, and the 1996 National Standards for History. It is printed on recycled paper. Printed with special permission of King Features Syndicate, this book was partially funded through a National Fire Plan grant.
Available for purchase: Copies of Mark Trail: Living on the Wild Side… Responsibly can be ordered online from the U.S. Forest Service National Symbols Cache.- Everyday [sic] Is Earth Day on the Farm or Ranch: Coloring and Activity Book byCall Number: A 57.2:EA 7/5Publication Date: [2015?]This coloring and activity book is suitable for children grades K through 8. The activities in this booklet will help kids learn about the relationship between agriculture and conservation, as well as some things they can do to conserve water in their homes. More Conservation Coloring Books and Activity Books are available online at the Montana National Resources Conservation website.Service
- Sammy Soil: A Coloring Book Story byCall Number: A 57.2:SO 3/68/2006Publication Date: 2006This coloring book explains to children the importance of conserving our natural resources so that they will grow up with a desire to protect and use these resources wisely. It is also to be hoped that what they learn will be passed on to their parents and other adults. Sammy Soil is a soil conservation icon for NRCS who has his roots in Tennessee, where retired NRCS District Conservationist Ernest Whitaker created him in 1967. Read more about Sammy's history. A slightly revised edition of this coloring book was issued in 2014 under the title The Adventures of Sammy Soil: A Coloring Book Story.
- The Adventures of Sammy Soil: A Coloring Book Story byCall Number: A 57.2:SO 3/68/2014Publication Date: 2014This coloring book explains to children the importance of conserving our natural resources so that they will grow up with a desire to protect and use these resources wisely. It is also to be hoped that what they learn will be passed on to their parents and other adults. Sammy Soil is a soil conservation icon for NRCS who has his roots in Tennessee, where retired NRCS District Conservationist Ernest Whitaker created him in 1967. Read more about Sammy's history. This is a slightly revised edition of a coloring book that was issued in 2006 under the title Sammy Soil: A Coloring Book Story.
- Farmers Market Coloring Book byCall Number: A 88.2:F 22/2Publication Date: 2001Introduces children to the concept of farmers markets, which provide a direct connection between the farmers who grow our food and the people who eat it, resulting in a fresher, tastier, and more nutritious product; a more intimate sense of community, and a better understanding of where our food comes from.
- Eat Smart, Live Strong Activity Kit: Nutrition Education for Older Adults byCall Number: A 98.2:EA 8/2/KITPublication Date: 2007This activity kit is designed to encourage adults 60–74 years old to increase their fruit and vegetable consumption to at least 3-1/2 cups and to participate in at least 30 minutes of moderate-intensity physical activity each day. It includes recipe cards, goal-setting activities, and a card game, "Make a Classic Better," that encourages participants come up with creative ways to add a fruit or vegetable to a classic recipes, whether as an ingredient or as a side dish.
- Serving Up MyPlate: A Yummy Curriculum: Standards-Based Nutrition Education byCall Number: A 98.2:M 99/LEV. 1, 2, 3Publication Date: 2012Serving Up MyPlate is a collection of classroom materials to help elementary school teachers integrate nutrition education into Math, Science, English Language Arts, and Health. This curriculum introduces the importance of eating from all five food groups using the MyPlate icon and a variety of hands–on activities. Students also learn the importance of physical activity to staying healthy. Materials include meal-planning guides, instructions for creating and recording recipes, and CDs containing recorded songs ("Alive with 5 Food Groups," "Do/Be," and "Do Your Body Right") and a video game ("Blast Off").
- USDA's Great Nutrition Adventure Action Packet byCall Number: A 98.2:N 95/4/PACK.Publication Date: 1996This nutrition education packet provides resources to help school set up healthy school meal programs and nutrition education programs. The packet contains fact sheets that focusing on the Great Nutrition Adventure, what chefs need to know about school lunch, and Team Nutrition schools information. The packet also offers a description of Team Nutrition events from across the nation. An event planner offers a week-by-week action/media plan, ideas for a nutrition adventure, information on involving local chefs in the classroom and in the cafeteria, and resources for further information. A booklet entitled "The Chef Connection" contains a directory of chefs available for school partnerships. Promotional materials include a videotape; a sample action plan, teaser, and news release; logo and letterhead slicks; a couple of sample chefs' recipes; a certificate of appreciation; and a poster.
- YourSELF: Middle School Nutrition Education Kit for teachers byCall Number: A 98.2:N 95/9/KITPublication Date: 1998This nutrition education kit was especially developed and prepared for middle-school-aged students and is one of the first federal information efforts on nutrition and physical activity that speaks directly to adolescents. It includes a teacher's guide, a magazine, a student activity guide, a videocassette, a set of duplication masters, and a poster. The teacher's guide, magazine, student activity guide, and duplication masters are also available online as PDFs from the Team Nutrition website.
- Grow It, Try It, Like It! Preschool Fun with Fruits and Vegetables byCall Number: A 98.9:406Publication Date: 2009This garden-themed nutrition education kit for child care center staff introduces children to three fruits—peaches, strawberries, and cantaloupe; and three vegetables—spinach, sweet potatoes, and crookneck squash. Each set of lessons contains hands-on activities, planting activities, and nutrition education activities that introduce MyPlate. Enclosed CDs include Cool Puppy Pup's Picnic, Cool Puppy Pup/s Lunch Parties, Power Panther Songs, and other supplemental resources.
- Beagle Brigade: Protecting American Agriculture byCall Number: A 101.2:B 35/2/1998Publication Date: 1998USDA’s Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service uses a team of dogs, known as the Beagle Brigade, to sniff out prohibited plant products being brought in by travelers entering the U.S. from foreign countries. These prohibited agricultural products can carry foreign pests and diseases that threaten U.S. agriculture and forests. Text of this coloring book is in both English and Spanish.
- Food Safe Families Activity Book for Kids! byCall Number: A 110.2:F 21/2/2017Publication Date: 2017This booklet contains games, puzzles, and other and activities to teach children how to avoid food poisoning by following the principles of washing hands and surfaces, separating raw meats from other foods to avoid cross-contamination, cooking food to the right temperature, and refrigerating food promptly.
- USDA Food Safety Mobile: Coloring Book byCall Number: A 110.2:F 73/8Publication Date: 2007The USDA Food Safety Mobile travels the U.S. coast-to-coast to teach children and adults the four principles of keeping food safe: clean, separate, cook, and chill. Features the characters BAC the bacterium and Thermy the thermometer.
U.S. Department of Agriculture: Dan and Sue Meet Friendly Foods series
This whimsical series of coloring books tells the story of Dan and Sue, a brother and sister who become separated from their mother in the grocery story and during their epic quest to find her end up meeting Tony the Talking Tomato, Cruncho the Carrot ("You can eat me cooked or raw!"), Two-Punch Tommy the Turnip, and a variety of other grinning, talking, sometimes singing and dancing groceries from every food group.
Note that although the characters are entertaining and the books are educational, some studies have suggested that anthropomorphizing food products by giving them faces and personalities has a negative effect on consumer behavior because consumers identify and bond with them to the extent that they feel as if they would hurt an anthropomorphized food product by eating it.
(See for example, Roland Schroll. "“Eww, It Has a Face!” Anthropomorphizing Food Products Deteriorates Consumption Experience." In Proceedings of the 49th Annual Conference of the Association for Consumer Research, Dallas, TX, October 11-14, 2018, 779-780.)
- Dan and Sue Meet Friendly Foods byPublication Date: [1971?]
- Dan and Sue Meet the Bread and Cereal Family byCall Number: A 43.2:D 19/2Publication Date: 1971This very short coloring book reproduces art work from USDA Consumer and Marketing Service's Dan and Sue Meet Friendly Foods: A Coloring Book.
- Dan and Sue Meet the Meat Family byPublication Date: 1971This very short coloring book reproduces art work from USDA Consumer and Marketing Service's Dan and Sue Meet Friendly Foods: A Coloring Book.
- Dan and Sue Meet the Milk Family byPublication Date: 1971This very short coloring book reproduces art work from USDA Consumer and Marketing Service's Dan and Sue Meet Friendly Foods: A Coloring Book.
- Dan and Sue Meet the Vegetable and Fruit Family byCall Number: A 43.2:D 19Publication Date: 1971This very short coloring book reproduces art work from USDA Consumer and Marketing Service's Dan and Sue Meet Friendly Foods: A Coloring Book.
U.S. Department of Commerce, NOAA Regional Activity Books Series
These downloadable PDF booklets are recommended for Grades 3-5. Each book includes fun educational activities and coloring pages that provide information about the local coastal ecosystems and their inhabitants.
- Chesapeake Bay Activity Book byCall Number: C 55.2:C 42/4Publication Date: 2002A coloring and activity book designed to introduce elementary school children to the animal and plant life and ecology of Chesapeake Bay.
- Coastal Louisiana Activity Book byPublication Date: 2006An activity book designed to introduce elementary school children to the animals, plant life, and ecology of the Louisiana coast.
- Coastal North Carolina: Activity Book byCall Number: C 55.2:AC 8Publication Date: [2003?]An activity book designed to introduce elementary school children to coral reefs.
- Mobile Bay Activity Book byCall Number: C 55.2:M 71Publication Date: 2005An activity book designed to introduce elementary school children to the animal life, plant life, and ecology of Mobile Bay.
- Pacific Coral Reef Coloring Book byCall Number: C 55.2:P 11/2Publication Date: 19971997 was the International Year of the Reef and the 25th Anniversary of the National Marine Sanctuary Program. This book is a contribution to the celebration of the coral reef, and especially the children of the South Pacific—who will inherit the reef. The theme of this book is how the vast distances between islands in the Pacific are bridged by the cultures of the people and the natural resources of the coral reef. A revised edition of Pacific Coral Reef Coloring Book was issued in 2015.
- Salish Sea Activity Book byCall Number: C 55.2:SA 3/3Publication Date: 2002An activity book designed to introduce elementary school children to the animal and plant life and the ecology of the Salish Sea.
- Sea Turtle Activity and Coloring Book byCall Number: C 55.2:SE 1/18Publication Date: 1999This coloring and activity book teaches children about sea turtle research at the National Marine Fisheries Service in Galveston, Texas, where biologists study sea turtles in many different ways to make sure these threatened or endangered species survive.
- Sea Turtles No Nā Honu Kai: A Coloring Book in English and Hawaiian byCall Number: C 55.2:SE 1/19Publication Date: 1995Sea turtles figure prominently in native Hawaiian life. They are featured in mythology, petroglyphs, and as aumakua (personal family gods and guardians). Children can learn much about Hawaiian sea turtles by reading this book and coloring the pictures. Some later editions are more attractively presented than this 1995 version, including a 2015 edition and a version at the TurtleProtector.org website that has frames drawn around the pictures.
- Shrimply Fun! The Shrimp Fishery in the Gulf of Mexico: Activity and Coloring Book byCall Number: C 55.2:SH 6Publication Date: 2002This coloring and activity book is meant for children of all ages. Some puzzles may be too difficult for younger children, but they can still enjoy coloring the pictures. Older children and adults who thing they have outgrown coloring can still learn a lot about the Gulf of Mexico shrimp fishery by reading the text.
- Tommy Tsunami (Soo-Nah-Mee) and Ernie Earthquake Coloring Book byCall Number: C 55.2:T 78/8Publication Date: 1986This coloring book may be used to help educate children and provide safety tips about how to prepare for an earthquake or tsunami.
- Why is Hawaii's Ocean Important?: A Keiki Activity Book byCall Number: C 55.2:H 31/2Publication Date: 2005An activity book designed to introduce elementary school children to the coral reef ecology and coastal ecology conservation of Hawaii.
U.S. Department of Defense
- Constitution Bicentennial Coloring Book byCall Number: D 101.2:C 76/2Publication Date: [1987]Released on the occasion of the 200th anniversary of the U.S. Constitution, this coloring book focuses on the role of members of the military in creating and defending the Constitution and in benefiting from the rights granted by the Constitution, such as the right to bear arms and the right to vote. These themes are treated more fully in several articles appended to the coloring pages. This is a reprint of a coloring book originally published by the Headquarters of the Second United States Army. The artwork was created by Major Bruce Higdon.
- The Corps Ranger's Handbook for Junior Campers: Doodle and Coloring Book byCall Number: D 103.6/5:C 15/2Publication Date: [1988?]Coloring and activity book with many puzzles and games to teach campers in grades 4–6 facts about nature and principles of safe and responsible camping, summed up in the "Junior Camper Pledge."
Bobber the Water Safety Dog: Visitor's Fun Guide to Waterbowl Lake [translated: Bobber, el perro de seguridad en el agua: Guia del visitante al Lago Waterbowl] by Call Number: D 103.6/5:W 29/2Publication Date: [2006]This 28-page, bilingual coloring and activity book shows people of all ages how to be safe while having fun at the lake. Includes mazes, dot-to-dot puzzles, matching games, and more to introducing concepts such as wearing a life jacket, swimming with a buddy, packing safety items for the trip, and avoiding alcohol.
Also available online: Take Along Bobber! is a flat image of Bobber the Water Safety Dog that can be cut out and mounted to a stick that can be held in the hand or to an easel-style, stand-alone support. On your next trip to a lake or river, take a selfie with Bobber (be sure to wear your life jacket!) and post it to your favorite social media site with the hashtag #TakeAlongBobber.
U.S. Department of Energy
The Battle of the Energy Drainers by Call Number: E 1.2:C 17/3 xPublication Date: 1980This public service giveaway comic book teaches children about energy conservation through a story that pairs Captain America with the Campbell Kids soup mascots in a battle against a trio of energy-wasting supervillains: the Thermal Thief, the Wattage Waster, and the Doomsday Man. Also includes energy facts, games, puzzles, and quizzes.
Energy Activities with Energy Ant by Call Number: E 1.2:AN 8/2010Publication Date: 2010This printable E-book is a collaboration between the U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) and the National Energy Education Development (NEED) Project. Through stories, puzzles, games, and other activities, children learn about energy and how to use it wisely.
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
- Color Our World Bright and Beautiful! byCall Number: HE 20.3552:C 71Publication Date: [As viewed on November 14, 2003]Dozens of coloring pages and some coloring books archived from the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences Kids' Pages. The interactive coloring function no longer works because the files use defunct technology, but most of the downloadable coloring pages are still available.
- ¡Colorea nuestro mundo brillante y hermoso! byCall Number: HE 20.3552:C 71/SPAN.Publication Date: [As viewed on November 14, 2003]These pages contain dozens of archived coloring pages from the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences and provide access to individual online coloring pages on a range of environmental health and science topics. Pages with online coloring functions as well as external links, forms, and search boxes may not function within this collection because of outdated technology. Pages listed at Para colorear más adelante can be printed and colored on one's own.
- The ABC's of Good Health Coloring Book byCall Number: HE 20.9002:AB 2Publication Date: 1999This book summarizes fundamental principles of health and safety with a coloring page for each letter of the alphabet. Also available in Spanish as El Abecedario de la buena salud libro para colorear
Partnership for Food Safety Education
The Partnership for Food Safety Education (PFSA) is a public/private partnership brings together government, industry, and consumer organizations to teach children and their families how to reduce the incidence of foodborne illness though good hygiene and safe food handling. They do this by promoting the “core four” food safety messages of Clean, Separate, Cook and Chill and by stewarding the Fight BAC!® Keep Food Safe from Bacteria campaign, a food safety education program that draws on up-to-date, scientifically-based recommendations and an extensive consumer research process.
- Fight BAC!® for KidsThe Kids Games and Activities section from the Partnership for Food Safety Education website includes coloring pages and placemats, activity sheets, recipes, and other fun activities that teach kids about the basics of safe food handling.
U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Print the DHS Coloring Book and learn more about DHS jobs. This resource was created for the children of Department of Homeland Security (DHS) personnel to highlight the work their parents and loved ones perform each day to protect the United States.
- Disaster Preparedness Coloring Book byCall Number: HS 5.102:D 63/16Publication Date: 1993This coloring book is designed for adults and children to work on together. Children can learn about fire, earthquakes, floods, tornados and other disasters, as well as how to protect themselves — all while having fun. To help parents work through each section with their children, each coloring page is accompanied by key points to talk about and action steps to take. The coloring book ends with a “quiz” that can help make sure they learned the information.
- Ready Kids: Activity Book byCall Number: HS 1.2:K 54Publication Date: [2006?]These coloring and activity pages use Rex, the Ready Kids mountain lion mascot and his family (Purrcilla, his wife; Rory, their teenage daughter; and Hector, their pet hummingbird) to teach children how to make an emergency supply kit, formulate a family emergency plan, and be ready for many different kinds of unexpected situations.
U.S. Dept. of Homeland Security, Federal Emergency Management Administration: Sesame Street Fire Safety Program
- Color and Learn: Sesame Street Fire Safety Station (2008 edition) byCall Number: HS 5.102:F 21/3Publication Date: 2008This downloadable fire safety coloring and activities E-book is designed for parents to teach their pre-school children (ages 3-5) the importance of fire safety in the home. Each page in the book illustrates a particular fire safety message highlighted in the Sesame Street Fire Safety Station program. These messages include "Plan and Practice Fire Drills"; Smoke Detectors Warn about Fires"; "Hot Things Burn"; "Get Out and Stay Out!"; "Stop, Drop, and Roll"; and "Firefighters Rescue People and Put Out Fires."
- Sesame Street Fire Safety Program: Color and Learn byCall Number: HS 5.202:SA 1/2Publication Date: 2015Each page in this coloring book focuses on a different fire safety message, making it easy for young children to learn about fire safety. Also available in Spanish as Seguridad contra incendios: colera y aprende
- Sesame Street Fire Safety Program: Educator Guide byCall Number: HS 5.208:SA 1/3Publication Date: 2015This guide and the accompanying Sesame Street Fire Safety Songs and Stories CD provide unique tools for teaching fire safety to preschoolers ages 3–5. Each section includes key fire safety messages for children to learn and remember; easy-to-use lessons, games, and activities; supporting songs and stories to reinforce the fire safety messages; and family newsletters to help parents and caregivers continue practicing fire prevention and safety with children at home. A Spanish-language version is available under the title Sesame Street seguridad contra incendios: guía para educadores.
- Learn about the United States Coast Guard byCall Number: HS 7.2:C 63/2Publication Date: 2015This is the official Coast Guard coloring book. On an average day, the United States Coast Guard saves 12 lives, responds to 64 search and rescue cases, interdicts over 800 lbs of cocaine, and services 116 buoys. This book describes the equipment, people, and missions that make this possible. Kids will have fun learning about the different boats and airplanes that the proud men and women of the United States Guard use to be Semper Paratus, or "Always Ready."
U.S. Department of the Interior
Empowerment $aga Coloring Book by Call Number: I 20.2:EM 7/3/COLORPublication Date: [2013?]A simplified presentation of the financial principles discussed in the Empowerment $aga series of comic books, presented here in coloring book format for younger readers.- Mining and Reclamation Coloring Book byCall Number: I 71.2:C 71Publication Date: 2002These nine coloring pages illustrate mining and reclamation. The pages are designed for use by a teacher and each illustration contains identification numbers and a key describing what is happening at various parts of the mine. There are pages that describe area mining (a mining method used throughout the mid-west and west) and contour mining (a mining method used in steep slope eastern conditions).. To use the coloring book online click the red numbers on the illustrations for a description of the specific mining and reclamation activities, or use it as a coloring book for students by clicking on the 8 1/2" x 11" higher resolution version and making copies..
Minnie Mermaid Teaches Sam to Lock Out Drowning by Call Number: I 27.2:D 83/4Publication Date: 1992This coloring book provides children with tips on how to avoid drowning, and concludes with a page of facts, statistics, and tips for parents on how to keep their pools safe.- Otto Otter for Safe Water byCall Number: I 27.2:W 29/21Publication Date: 1976Coloring book teaching water safety through a series of illustrated admonitions, written in rhymed couplets and each beginning with the phrase "You OTTER . . . ": e.g., "You OTTER learn how to swim and float. / You OTTER know how to be safe in a boat." A 1986 reprint of Otto Otter for Safe Water was issued a decade later.
- Willie Takes a Field Trip: Coloring Book byCall Number: I 19.76:90-125Publication Date: 1990This coloring book is an educational tool designed to instruct children on some of the field activities commonly associated with the collection of water resource data. Through the use of line drawings and brief descriptive text, young readers will follow little Willie and his Uncle Bill as they spend a pleasant day in the field measuring streamflow, collecting sediment samples, making groundwater measurements at observation wells, and measuring flow in a pipe. Although this 37-page coloring book is geared to children 5 to 10 years old, people of all ages may find it enjoyable.
Guardabosques júnior de refugios del sur de Nevada by Call Number: I 49.2:N 41//SPAN.xPublication Date: 2015"El complejo de Refugios Nacionales de Vida Silvestre Desert consta de cuatro refugios en el sur de Nevada. En cada refugio, el personal es responsable del cuidado de las plantas, la fauna y los hábitats que allí se encuentran. ¡Es un gran trabajo y necesitamos de tu ayuda! Como guardabosques júnior de refugios, aprenderás por qué tenemos refugios, sobre la fauna increíble que habita los refugios en el sur de Nevada y sobre cómo podemos protegerla junto con sus hábitats para el futuro."
U.S. Dept. of the Interior, Fish and Wildlife Service: Mark Trail Coloring Books by Jack Elrod
Mark Trail tells the story of a fish in trouble by
Call Number: I 49.2:F 52/20Publication Date: ©1990 North American Syndicate, Inc. (1992 reprint)Online version at HathiTrust.
Take Pride in America with Mark Trail: A Coloring Book by Call Number: I 49.2:P 93Publication Date: 1987Take Pride in America was a national public awareness campaign to encourage careful stewardship of the Nation's outstanding natural and cultural resources. This is one of several coloring books that Jack Elrod, artist and author of the Mark Trail comic strip, created for the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. In this coloring book, Mark Trail and his friends explore the great outdoors and help us all learn how to care for America so that our friends and families can enjoy the same exciting adventures for years to come. This book is not available online because of copyright restrictions.
Wetlands Coloring Book by Call Number: I 49.2:W 53/10Publication Date: 1986As part of the 50th Anniversary commemoration of the Duck Stamp, Jack Elrod, artist and writer of the popular Mark Trail comic strip, was commissioned to create this coloring book to emphasize the great value of wetlands and to encourage the sale of Duck Stamps.
Wetlands Coloring Book [E-book] by Call Number: I 49.2:2004014941Publication Date: 1999A coloring book about wetlands and the animals inhabiting wetlands. Art by Jack Elrod, artist and writer of the adventure comic Mark Trail.
U.S. Department of Justice
What's My Job in Court?: A Coloring and Activity Book for Kids Going to Court by Call Number: J 1.2:J 57Publication Date: 1998This book is designed to prepare for children who will be serving as witnesses in court cases. It explains the layout of the courtroom and the roles each person plays in the proceedings. Children are admonished to tell the truth, but also reassured that it is okay to be nervous, they should ask for clarification if they don't understand a question, and if asked about something they don't remember it's okay to say they don't remember.
I'm Going to Federal Court! With Mark and Julie: An Activity Book for Children Going to Federal Court by Call Number: J 34.2:2002021021Publication Date: [1996]This book uses coloring pages, games, puzzles, and simple to help young children understand what to expect and how to behave when called as a witness in a federal court case. A humorous, lighthearted approach is taken in order to put a child at ease in what could be a stressful and scary situation. This book is a companion piece to a 1995 instructional video entitled Inside Federal Court.
Learning All about Court with "B.J."! An Activity Book for Children Going to Federal or Tribal Court by Call Number: J 34.2:2002021156Publication Date: [1996]This activity book contains coloring sheets, games, puzzles, and explanatory text to familiarize Native American children who are victims and witnesses to crimes in Indian Country with the etiquette for testifying in federal and tribal courts and with the tasks performed by tribal and federal court personnel. The activity book uses the same characters as the video B.J. Learns About Federal and Tribal Court, which it is intended to accompany.
U.S. Department of Labor
- Safe Each Day: A Coloring Book Story about Safety Inside and Outside of the Workplace byCall Number: L 35.2:SA 1/13Publication Date: 2013Shows the safety measures a boy's father takes during his workday.
U.S. Department of the Treasury
Color me!: U.S. Customs by Call Number: T 17.2:C 71/2Publication Date: [1992]This 10-page coloring book shows how customs inspectors and their detector dogs search for marijuana, cocaine, and other illicit substances and depicts the many ways drugs are smuggled into the United States. Instructions are provided on how to report suspicious activity.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
The Adventures of Walter Waterdrop by Call Number: EP 2.2:W 17Publication Date: 1971This educational coloring book describes the journey of a drop of water from a private residence, through the city sewage system, to a water treatment plant, where the water is cleaned and returned to the river to begin it's journey again. The text, written by John Coakley, Jr., chief of manpower development for the regional EPA in Kansas City, Kansas, is rather dense and full of advanced vocabulary that may be over the heads of younger children. Text appears on left hand pages and the coloring pages, drawn by the authors daughter Mary Coakley, are on the right, facing the text. A map at the beginning provides a convenient overview of Walter's journey.
The Earth is Home for Nearly Four Billion People: A Book to Color by Call Number: EP 1.2:EA 7/2Publication Date: 1975This 12-page coloring book depicts examples of noise pollution, air pollution, and water pollution, suggests that things are getting better, and encourages us all to do what we can to restore our lands and neighborhoods to their original, unspoiled condition.
The Happy Earth Day Activities Book by Call Number: EP 1.2:EA 7/6Publication Date: 1998This 11-page coloring and activity book teaches children how to care for the environment by conserving resources, keeping their neighborhood clean, and recycling. The activities include a chart for keeping track of good deeds done for the Earth and a fill-in-the-blanks on how to help protect the environment. Many of the coloring pages can be removed and displayed as posters. Previously issued as The Happy Earth Day Activity Book and The Happy Earth Day Coloring and Activities Book.
The Happy Earth Day Activity Book by Call Number: EP 1.2:EA 7/5/998Publication Date: 1998This 11-page coloring and activity book teaches children how to care for the environment by conserving resources, keeping their neighborhood clean, and recycling. The activities include a chart for keeping track of good deeds done for the Earth and a fill-in-the-blanks on how to help protect the environment. Many of the coloring pages can be removed and displayed as posters. Issued previously as The Happy Earth Day Coloring and Activities Book and later as The Happy Earth Day Activities Book.
The Happy Earth Day Coloring and Activities Book by Call Number: EP 1.2:Ea 7/5Publication Date: 1990This 11-page coloring and activity book teaches children how to care for the environment by conserving resources, keeping their neighborhood clean, and recycling. The activities include a chart for keeping track of good deeds done for the Earth and a fill-in-the-blanks on how to help protect the environment. Many of the coloring pages can be removed and displayed as posters. Reprinted as The Happy Earth Day Activity Book and The Happy Earth Day Activities Book.
Also available online: The Happy Earth Day Coloring and Activities Book (printable copy from EPA, Region 5).- Our New England Environment: A Book to Color for All Ages, but Especially Children byCall Number: EP 1.2:N 42 E/2Publication Date: 1979This online coloring book describes the beautiful environment in New England, but also warns against the dangers of pollution and encourages the conservation of natural resources. Mostly coloring pages, but also includes a quiz on how you are helping the environment and a poster to color and hang on the wall. Also available as Our New England Environment: A Book to Color [hardcopy version].
- Our New England Environment: A Book to Color for All Ages, but Especially Children byCall Number: EP 1.2:N 42 E/2Publication Date: 1979Describes the beautiful environment in New England, but also warns against the dangers of pollution and encourages the conservation of natural resources. Mostly coloring pages, but also includes a quiz on how you are helping the environment and a poster to color and hang on the wall. Also available as Our New England Environment: A Book to Color [online version].
Carl Gets Some Rest: A Coloring and Story Book by Call Number: EP 6.52:C 19Publication Date: 2003This coloring book teaches children in pre-school through 2nd grade about the many transportation alternatives to using a car. Carl the Car is exhausted, but gets some rest with the assistance of his friends Betsy Bike, Bob the Bus, Tina Train, and Skateboard Skippy. An anonymous bird provides commentary along the way.
U.S. National Park Service
- The White House Fall Garden Tour, 2022 byCall Number: I 29.2:W 58/12/ 2022/FALLPublication Date: 2022This pictorial guide to the White House gardens includes coloring pages with drawings of President Biden's pets, Willow and Commander.
- The White House Spring Garden Tour, 2023 byCall Number: I 29.2:W 58/12/ 2023/SPRINGPublication Date: 2023This pictorial guide to the White House gardens includes coloring pages with drawings of President Biden's pets, Willow and Commander.
U.S. Postal Service
- How your Letter Gets There: Family Coloring Book byCall Number: P 1.2:L 56/6Publication Date: [1985?]This coloring book will show the whole family "How your Letter Gets There," from the moment you drop a letter in your neighborhood mail box to its final delivery. Sharing the experience of reading and coloring can create cherished moments that will last a lifetime. Letters also allow everyone to maintain contact with friends, grandparents, and other loved ones.
- A Coloring Book Story about the Letter byCall Number: P 1.2:L 56/7Publication Date: 1986This coloring book describes "how your letter gets there" from the moment you drop it into the delivery box to its final delivery. It was handed out as a memento to children who visited post offices in Alaska to see how their letters were processed.
- A Coloring Book Story about Laura's Letter to Grandmother byCall Number: P 1.2:C 71Publication Date: 1984This coloring book explains "how your letter gets there" from the moment you drop it into the post box to its final delivery. It was handed out to children visiting the U.S. Post Office in Billings, Montana.
- A Coloring Book Story about Mary and Johnny's Letters to their Grandparents byCall Number: P 1.2:C 71/2Publication Date: 1986Full-length (32-page) version of a coloring book about the many steps involved in "how your letter gets there" from the moment it is dropped in a collection box to its final delivery. Includes information about a stamp commemorating 1979 as the International Year of the Child; a 1976 stamp commemorating the Colorado Centennial; the fifth Love stamp; a template for designing your own stamp; a coloring page depicting the USPS logo; a list of facts about the USPS; and a description of the Benjamin Franklin stamp clubs program.
- A Coloring Book Story about Mary and Johnny's Letters to their Grandparents byCall Number: P 1.2:C 71/2/SHORTPublication Date: 1986Abridged, 16-page (half-length) version of a coloring book about the many steps involved in "how your letter gets there" from the moment it is dropped in a collection box to its final delivery. Includes information about the fifth Love stamp and about the Benjamin Franklin stamp clubs program.
- A Coloring Book Story about Mary and Johnny's Letters to their Grandparents byCall Number: P 1.2:C 71/2/989Publication Date: 1989Full-length (36-page) version of a coloring book about the many steps involved in "how your letter gets there" from the moment it is dropped in a collection box to its final delivery. Includes information about a stamp commemorating 1979 as the International Year of the Child; a 1976 stamp commemorating the Colorado Centennial; the seventh Love stamp; a template for designing your own stamp; a coloring page depicting the USPS logo; a list of facts about the USPS; and a description of the Benjamin Franklin stamp clubs program. Also includes three magazine-style ads for the USPS and a list of selected postal services being offered in 1986.
- A Coloring Book Story about Mary and Johnny's Letters to their Grandparents byCall Number: P 1.2:C 71/2/SHORT/989Publication Date: 1989Abridged, 16-page version of a coloring book about the many steps involved in "how your letter gets there" from the moment it is dropped in a collection box to its final delivery. Includes information about the fifth Love stamp and about the Benjamin Franklin stamp clubs program.
National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
NASA Coloring Books links to many online coloring books related to space.
NASA Coloring Pages links to individual, downloadable coloring pages as well as a series of videos called "Color with NASA," in which NASA personnel color these sheets on camera while describing what they are coloring.
- [Connect the Dots] byCall Number: NAS 1.2:D 74Publication Date: [1991?]A sheaf of 9 activity pages related to the Space Shuttle, stapled together to make a single document. Includes coloring pages, connect the dots puzzles, and other educational activities suitable for the lower elementary grades. Each game is printed on one side of the page and the opposite side is left blank.
- MTPE Coloring Book byCall Number: NAS 1.2:M 87Publication Date: 2003These coloring pages from NASA's Mission to Planet Earth (MTPE) help children understand the total Earth system and the effects of natural and human-induced changes on the global environment.
- Webb Telescope Fun Pad: Packed with Fun Things to Do! byCall Number: NAS 1.2:T 23/7Publication Date: [2011?]This Fun Pad is designed for ages 5–10-years old and is divided into sections. The front section contains general information
about the Webb Telescope; the middle section contains activities for younger children; and the back section contains more challenging
activities. - Mission to Planet Earth: A Puzzle Coloring Book for Kids and Grown-ups byCall Number: NAS 1.19:277Publication Date: 1991Through a series of puzzles and coloring pages, Jamie the Bear learns key terms and concepts related to NASA's Mission to Planet Earth, which uses technology to explore ways to best take care of life on this planet, correct the damage that has been done, and prevent future mistakes.
- To Space & Back!: How We Can All Use NASA's Tools byCall Number: NAS 1.83:NP-2008-2-006-GSFCPublication Date: 2008Many times the tools NASA creates can also help us do things better here on Earth. When NASA sees a way to put a tool that they use in space to use for something in our world, they “transfer” that technology to a company that can use it. This is called “Technology Transfer.” This coloring and activity book uses Space Pup, Goddard’s technology transfer mascot, to show children how we use some of those space technologies here on Earth.
- Earth Science Fun Pad: Packed with Things to Do! byCall Number: NAS 1.83:NP-2010-2-124-GSFCPublication Date: 2010Coloring sheet, puzzle, and games teach children facts about Earth and about how NASA studies it, and suggest ways we can take care of our planet at any age. A paper copy of Earth Science Fun Pad is also available.
- Discover Aeronautics and Space: A Coloring Book for Elementary Students byCall Number: NAS 1.84:118Publication Date: 1990Through texts and coloring pages, students are taught about the many different types of vehicles used for space travel and how astronauts live and work in space.
National Archives and Records Administration
- 150th Anniversary of the Emancipation Proclamation: Emancipation Proclamation Commemorative Coloring Book byCall Number: AE 1.102:EM 1/2Publication Date: 2013The National Archives and Records Administration issued this commemorative coloring book in 2013. It provides a very brief history of the proclamation itself and biographical sketches of historical figures associated with the fight to end slavery as well as civil rights pioneers who were active in later years. A bibliography of educational resources is provided at the end to help teachers incorporate this coloring book into their curriculum.
- Coloring Book of PatentsWhen the New York Academy of Medicine sponsored a #ColorOurCollections campaign in 2016, several other museums and archives joined in by creating coloring books based on items in their collections. The National Archives and Records Administration created this printable, online coloring book based on Records of the Patent and Trademark Office (Record Group 241). Their simple style of black and white line art is ideal for coloring
Smithsonian Libraries and Archives
When the New York Academy of Medicine sponsored a #ColorOurCollections campaign in 2016, several other museums and archives joined in by creating coloring books based on items in their collections. The Smithsonian Libraries and Archives created a printable, online coloring book and followed it up later with a second volume.
- Color Our Collections 2018Coloring pages based on five items in the Smiithsonian Libraries, with a link to each item in their digital collection.
- Coloring Pages: Volume 2Eleven more coloring pages based on items in the Smithsonian Libraries holdings, with links to the digital collections.
- Color in a New Light: Coloring PagesThese coloring pages are based on an exhibition called Color in a New Light and provide opportunities for students to explore the concept of color.