QUESTIONS
- Ask a Documents LibrarianExpert help from UNT's Government Information Connection
- Ask Us!Library information and expert help with your research questions.
ABOUT
Property Records
Property records provide information about a piece of land or a structure such as ownership, mineral rights, value, size, or location. These records are typically maintained at the county level and can often be researched at the website of the county where the property is located.
The Land and Property History Research page at the Texas State Library and Archives Commission (TSLAC) website provides advice on how to research the history of a property or structure using resources available at TSLAC and through federal, state, and local agencies. These resources might include land grants, deeds, surveys, liens, tax records, blueprints, or maps.
Federal and Multistate Property Records
-
How to Find Unclaimed Money from the GovernmentIf a business, financial institution, or government owes you money that you did not collect, you may still be able to find it and claim it. This website includes several databases you can search to find out if there is money being held in your name.
-
The Official Federal Land Records SiteThis site from the Bureau of Land Management's General Land Office contains many (not all) federal land conveyance records for the Public Land States, including image access to federal land title records issued between 1788 and the present. It also includes images of survey plats and field notes, land status records, and control document index records.
-
Real Estate Tax Appraisal DistrictsA directory of local tax appraisal districts all over the United States. Browse by state and area.
Texas Property Records
-
TaxNetUSAThis private company offers free searching for all of Texas and Florida. Free searches include search by property owner’s name, by street address, and by tax roll account number. For more sophisticated search services, the company provides a fee-based service.
-
TexasFile: Texas County Records OnlineSearch Texas County Clerk records, probate records, and mineral ownership records. Searching is free, but there may be a fee charged to download records.
-
Texas General Land Office, Archives and Records DivisionLand grant records and maps dating to the 18th century relating to the passage of Texas public lands to private ownership. Still important to Texans because of their legal value, the materials are also now highly regarded by genealogists, historians, archeologists, and surveyors. Historic Texas maps can be searched and ordered online at the Historic GLO Map Database and Store.
-
Texas Unclaimed PropertyTexas law requires financial institutions, businesses, and government entities to report to the state any personal property they are holding that is considered abandoned or unclaimed. Property is turned over to the Comptroller’s office annually when the owner’s whereabouts are unknown and the property has been inactive on the books of the reporting company after the appropriate abandonment period has run.
Denton Property Records
-
Denton Central Appraisal DistrictAn indexed search allows searching by the owner’s last name, address, property id, or account number. Advanced Search allows searching by several more fields, such as property type or block number.