GEOG 3750 - Geography of Contemporary Sub-Saharan Africa: Suggested Databases
GEOG 3750 deals with the geographical and cultural diversity of Sub-Saharan Africa and the associated problems and prospects for economic development. It examines the opportunities, constraints, and dilemmas of Sub-Saharan Africa's diverse physical and cu
The African e-Journals Project is a project of the Michigan State University African Studies Center, MSU Libraries, and Matrix: The Center for Humane Arts, Letters, and Social Science Online. It is co-sponsored by the Association of African Universities and the African Studies Association in the U.S.
Academic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
The Directory of Open Access Journals was launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden, with 300 open access journals and today contains more than 10000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.
Sage Journals Online indexes journals from ten different Full-Text Collections including Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Health Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning. Dates of Coverage: varies by title.
Africabib.Org composed of three main databases. The Africana Periodical Literature Bibliographic Database indexes over 60,000 articles from over 500 journals with some full text. The African Women Bibliographic Database indexes books and government documents articles in edited books journal articles Masters theses, Ph.D. dissertations and a few B.A. theses and honors papers conference papers and videocassettes and contains over 35,000 citations from 1985 to present. The Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa indexes almost 2000 citations from 1763 onward. Also links to African Journals Online (AJOL), African Studies Abstracts Online (ASA), the catalog of the African Studies Centre of Leiden, and the Digital Innovation South Africa (DISA) project. Dates of Coverage: Includes citations from 1763 - current
The Africana Periodical Literature Bibliographic Database indexes over 60,000 articles from over 500 English-language and multilingual journals and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African continent, with some full text. The African Women Bibliographic Database indexes books and government documents; articles appearing in edited books; periodical and journal articles; Masters theses and Ph.D. dissertations as well as a few B.A. theses and honors papers; conference papers; and videocassettes; and contains over 35,000 citations from 1985 to present. The Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa database indexes almost 2000 citations from 1763 onward. The resource also links to African Journals Online (AJOL), African Studies Abstracts Online (ASA), the catalog of the African Studies Centre of Leiden, and the Digital Innovation South Africa (DISA) project.
CountryWatch is an information provider for corporations, government agencies, universities, schools, libraries and individuals needing up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world.
DISA is a freely accessible online scholarly resource focusing on the socio-political history of South Africa, particularly the struggle for freedom during the period from 1950 to the first democratic elections in 1994, providing a wealth of material on this fascinating period of the country’s history. Much time, creative thought and debate goes into the selection of the content, and participation and input from interested persons, scholars and institutions in South Africa and overseas is encouraged.
A research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional subjects.
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
