This LibGuide is designed to help you get started with your research. Here are some tips and tricks to get you started:
1) All UNT Library electronic resources are available all the time and even off campus. If off campus, you'll just need to log-in using your EUID and password and then you're all set!
2) The main library website has several options to you started:
- The "Search It All" tab takes your keywords and searches across all resource platforms to try to identify relevant hits
- The "Online Articles" tab refines your keyword search to just online articles
- The "Books & More" tab refines your keyword search to include books, media, video and music formats
- The "Databases" tab allows you to either search for a keyword of find a database pertinent to your topic (which you can then search for your topic)
- The "e-Journals" tab does the same thing as the Databases tab, except does the search within electronic journals
- The "UNT Digital Collections" and "UNT Special Collections" tabs refine your search to the documents and other collection materials found within UNT-specific collections
3) The majority of the Geography book collection is found at the Sycamore Library, which is located in Sycamore Hall
- Relevant call number ranges are as follows:
- G70: Geographic Information Systems
- GF: Human Geography
- GB: Physical Geography
- GE: Environmental Sciences
- QE: Geology
- The Sycamore Library also holds part of the UNT Libraries' map collection, including CIA country maps
- The UNT Libraries use the Library of Congress cataloging system, which means that like topics are shelved next to each other. It's likely that if you do a search for one book, you might find an even better one nearby!
4) Additional things to consider when evaluating the quality of the resource:
- What is the name recognition of he/she/them/it? Is it a big, reputable name? Or is it someone/thing no one's ever heard of?
- If it's an article, is it peer-reviewed?
- How old is it? Something from 1900 might be relevant... But it might also be irrelevant in light of modern research/knowledge.
- Does the title and/or abstract seem relevant? If not, then you may not want to take the time to read it.
- How many references or citations does the resource have?
- If it's an Open Access resource, is it considered a "predatory publication" - meaning that it uses less than reputable publishing practices?
5) Additional library resources: