Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Teaching & Learning Resources

To support online professional development in teaching and learning for faculty at UNT

Databases


UNT Libraries have access to over 600 databases for your research. Check out A-Z list of databases to find one in your subject area and/or use the following list of databases to find scholarly teaching and learning articles.

Selected Databases

EBSCOhost.

EBSCOhost Provides access to various EBSCO databases which can all be searched simultaneously.

Education Source

Designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers, Education Source is the largest and most complete collection of full text journals in education research.

Professional Development Collection

Professional Development Collection Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of high quality education journals, including peer-reviewed titles.

Scopus

Scopus is a curated abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and features tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Teacher Reference Center

A complimentary research database for teachers, Teacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 230 peer-reviewed journals.

Web of science

Web of Science provides users access to integrated, multidisciplinary research with sizable search and navigation options.

Search Terms


UNT Libraries have access to thousands of articles in our databases related to teaching and learning. With the sheer number of options, search terms will be helpful to narrow down your search results. Here are a few general search terms you may want to consider:

  • higher education
  • postsecondary education
  • college or university

Although the search terms are listed in categories, please feel free to combine multiple search terms and phrases. Also, adding your discipline to your search string can help you locate articles related to teaching and learning in your discipline. 

  • scholarship of teaching and learning
  • teaching
  • teaching strategies
  • teaching methods
  • teaching techniques 
  • teaching approaches
  • teaching practices
  • instruction
  • effective teaching
  • instructional improvement
  • pedagogy or andragogy 

Although the search terms are listed in categories, please feel free to combine multiple search terms and phrases. Also, adding your discipline to your search string can help you locate articles related to teaching and learning in your discipline. 

  • scholarship of teaching and learning
  • learning
  • learning theories
  • learning strategies 
  • learning environment

Although the search terms are listed in categories, please feel free to combine multiple search terms and phrases. Also, adding your discipline to your search string can help you locate articles related to teaching and learning in your discipline. 

  • professional development
  • faculty development
  • teacher development 
  • professional training
  • learning & scholarship 

Although the search terms are listed in categories, please feel free to combine multiple search terms and phrases. Also, adding your discipline to your search string can help you locate articles related to teaching and learning in your discipline. 

Search Tips


Finding what you need in the databases can be tricky. The following are some search tips that can help you get more relevant results.

  • Be specific: try science education instead of education.
  • Filter your search: refinements may be available before submission or on the left side of results screens.
  • Use quotes for phrases: "higher education" or "inclusive teaching strategies"
  • Try Qualifiers and Operators: AND / OR / NOT / + / -.
  • Substitute "?" for a letter: wom?n = woman & women.
  • * is a wild-card: instruct* matches instruction, instruct, instructor, etc.  
  • Consider alternates: Try synonyms, technical terms, and follow links to "official" terms: subjects, genres, names, etc.

Additional Links

top