Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Credo Reference: Your One Stop for Online Reference
Credo Reference is an online collection of over 670 dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks and guides in all subject areas. Sample titles are:
- Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology
- Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change
- Guide to Global Hazards
- Handbook of Environmental Sociology
Do a basic keyword search for your topic, or browse the different types of science reference books available in the collection.
Other Online Reference Sources
The UNT Libraries also subscribe to these smaller online reference resources, which include environmental science information.
Print Reference Sources
Located in the Reference Collection at the Eagle Commons Library in Sycamore Hall, print reference books may be used in the library only. You can come browse the collection or do a search in the UNT Library Catalog. Below is a sample of the environmental resources available:
Internet Reference Sources
A database of data and images about algae and related terrestrial, marine and freshwater organisms.
Animal Diversity Web
An online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan.
Chemistry and Environmental Dictionary
A dictionary of terms, including acronyms, from EnvironmentalChemistry.com.
Encyclopedia of Earth
A free access, expert-reviewed encyclopedia of entries about the Earth, its environments, and human interaction with the planet. Sponsored by Boston University and supported by the National Council for Science and Environment.
Encyclopedia of Life
This joint project aims to record all life forms on Earth. The website is funded by the MacArthur and Sloan Foundations and supported by the Smithsonian Institute and many other partners.
Explanatory Dictionary of Key Terms in Toxicology
A 2010 article from the journal Pure Applied Chemistry defines terms from environmental toxicology.
Glossary of Material Safety Data Sheets
An extensive glossary from Interactive Learning Paradigms Incorporated, a company dedicated to environmental education.