Guides: Environmental Science: Articles

Top Environmental Science Databases

Environment complete
The focus of this database is articles about a broad range of environmental issues, including biodiversity, climate changes, pollution and reclamation, sustainability, and water quality and reuse. Follow the Find Full Text links if the articles are not available in full text. Covers over 1300 active journals.
Web of science
Although this is a multidisciplinary database, it covers journals that are considered the best in their fields, including environmental science. Subjects covered are biodiversity and conservation, marine and freshwater biology, public health, toxicology, water resources, and more. Select the Links button to find the full text.
If you experience access issues, go to vpn.unt.edu and log in with your EUID and password, then type/paste the Libraries' url http://www.library.unt.edu and proceed as normal.
Science & technology collection
This database provides articles on technology-oriented environmental sciences and is particularly strong on the topic of environmental engineering. Follow the Find Full Text links if the article is not available in full text.
AGRICOLA
The catalog and index to the collection of the National Agricultural library and the primary public sources for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers all areas of agriculture and related disciplines. Included in the database are journal articles, conference proceedings, and technical reports. It does not include full-text but the material may be available through the UNT library system. Agricola is updated daily.
Greenfile
The relationship between human beings and the environment with topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and more. Scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. Contains abstracts and indexes for more than 600 titles.
Contact: Discovery Park Library (discoveryparklibrary@unt.edu)

Other Notes: Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE will serve as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet

Journal Packages

Journal packages are collections of full text journals produced by one or a group of publishers. The collections vary in size, from 12 up to more than 1800. For these reasons, you should start your search in a database, which contains articles from thousands of journals from different publishers. Then you can go to a journal package to find full text articles or to follow a favorite journal. The packages below are popular with scientists.

ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a multidisciplinary resource offered by the publisher Elsevier. It includes many journals in the environmental sciences.
SpringerLINK
A collection of online journals and books from the publisher Springer. Many environmental science journals are included.

Conference Proceedings

Proceedings are the official record of a conference, usually held by an association or organization. The proceedings may include contributed papers, abstracts of papers or presentations, and other types of documents. Articles or papers from conference proceedings can be more difficult to find than journal articles because they are not widely indexed, and often the official title of the conference is difficult to identify.

Web of Knowledge
The database is also known as Web of Science. Use the dropdown menu right of the search box to select Document Type, and then select Proceedings Paper in the search box. Add a field to enter your topic terms and then search. Use the Links button to find the full text.
If you experience access issues, go to vpn.unt.edu and log in with your euid and password, then type/paste the Libraries' url http://www.library.unt.edu and proceed as normal.

Featured Journals

Advances in Environmental Research
Annual Review of Environment and Resources
Aquaculture International
This journal publishes original research papers, short communications, technical notes and review papers on all aspects of aquaculture. The Journal covers topics such as the biology, physiology, pathology and genetics of cultured fish, crustaceans, molluscs and plants, especially new species; water quality of supply systems, fluctuations in water quality within farms and the environmental impacts of aquacultural operations; nutrition, feeding and stocking practices, especially as they affect the health and growth rates of cultured species; sustainable production techniques; bioengineering studies on the design and management of offshore and land-based systems; the improvement of quality and marketing of farmed products; sociological and societal impacts of aquaculture. This is the official Journal of the European Aquaculture Society.
Experimental and Toxicologic Pathology
Journal of Applied Toxicology
Proceedings of the International Academy of Ecology and Environmental Sciences
Sustainability: Science, Practice and Policy
Toxicological Sciences

Ask Us!

Need help? Then use the library's Ask Us service. Get help from real people face-to-face, by phone, by email, or by live chat.

Environmental Science

Top Environmental Science Databases

Journal Packages

Conference Proceedings

Featured Journals

Ask Us!

Additional Links